Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWE Raw (on Netflix) Superthread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 54,960 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

An about face turn for The Rock seemingly. Blah. I prefer heel Rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Didn't Rock beat Cody to a bloody pulp the last time they appeared on Raw together 8 months ago??

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 54,960 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

They had a thing after Mania which seemed to set up a match further down the line but I reckon Rock isn't too pushed on getting in the ring again based off that promo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,821 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Maybe those Reports of Rock missing mania are true

Reigns really needs to shorten that entrance, Undertaker did it best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

Chad Paton is like a secret service agent with the giant ear piece. Not sure about the navy refs tops either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭seandotcomm

Jaysus, half an hour before the first match. Draggin the arse out of it if they're trying to attract new fans

Solo is US champ material at best, it's amazing to me that he's been in the main event picture this long

Wtf was that Rock Apperernce at Bad Blood about if he's all buddy buddy with Cody again

Stream very good so far on Sky box

The one where he just stood on the stage and did nothing to close the show? Was that ever followed up on? Very odd

The random fades to black are annoying, production crew must think they're still on USA!

The Rocks promo actually gets worse the more I think about it tbh. There was no need for the Cody Rhodes stuff. Presumably there's a sting in the tail or it'll just look ridiculous.

How many times have we seen these bloodline run ins at this stage? They need to change it up

that entire segment felt like a longer version of the last days of WCW segment, everyone got on camera and most it made zero sense

Hopefully it's over now and we can all move on with our lives. Rock just standing there after presenting the Ula Fala was just weird too.

No Rocky in Vegas

That's my trip ruined before I even get on the plane 😔

Netflix Era seems to be the part timers Era so far.... Solo excluded.

Looking like Penta won't be getting his in ring debut tonight

Cena looks old and needs to dress his age 😄

Of course he's winning number 17

they aired a vignette and named him while ago in it

I'd not be against it but does it really need to be at Mania. I'd love him to win it in his last ever match next December and then immediately relinquish it. Would set up 2026 nicely going into that Rumble with a vacant title. Long term story telling.... One can dream I suppose

It's been good so far but not blown away. Suppose Rhea and Liv are looking well

They really made a bollocks of the Rock/Roman/Cody rivalry. All back friends and 'let's never speak of Rocks apparence at Bad Blood again'

That hurricanrana from Liv on the outside looked dicey, thought Rhea landed on her head for a minute

Rock will be on NXT tomorrow

there to support the eldest

He shoud do the full set and appear on SD

So will our becks come out

Probably the right call. Fairly telegraphed tbh given the lauding of Liv as 2024 superstar of the year, Rhea coming out last and getting the drone treatment etc.… interesting to see what happens with Judgement Day now given they're effectively a bunch of losers with no titles now 🤣

What is this Undertaker/Rhea stuff though, totally unnecessary!

Chad vs a mystery luchador ??

Yess that's acceptable

The fans in attendance clearly agree, he's being booed out of the building

Kind of feel bad for him but then again he tarnished his own legacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Officer999

Can’t believe those Rock segments. They’ve basically decided let’s just use a face Rock for the casual fans on the Netflix debut and forget about everything that went before it

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Jesus that was an awful Raw… trying to bait in casual viewers at the expense of their loyal fanbase. Like this was wCw levels of bad. Skimmed through the 3 hours in about 30 mins. Crowd was poor as well, except for booing Hogan they nailed that.

Terrible Raw, the card next week looks decent and by then the gloss will have worn off. Netflix has a 5 year break clause in the contract I can see that being used can't see how last nights show would do anything to attract new viewers, no hook for next week even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,507 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

lol.

Pronoucing it a failure after one show.

I think it was a disappointing show, for a number of reasons, but would lean towards it being a misstep rather than an indication of what every episode of raw on netflix will be.

imo they went too far in towards it being an event itself, rather than the kick off of a new era as it maybe should have been.

It was a poor PLE, rather than anything else. had a hall of fame event type feel to it as well, with all the ringside people and callouts.

I would hope now that they have the opening night stuff done, they will get back to building on the story aspect from next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Amazing to see this launch last night and without a hitch with all things concerned. Overall exciting to have every show available to us without either a dodgy box or paying extortionate TNT Sport. Some of my observations.

• Definitely a few teething problems. Audio dropped a few times during Michael Cole's diatribes. They also had the mat facing the wrong way starting off and switched it to the hard-cam suitable view after an hour or so.
    • I wish they'd fix the ad-breaks for interational viewers. Looks like for in-match ads, we get "what the fans see" but it still has a fade to black and then resumes to the in-ring stuff; which is mostly just filler anyway.
    • Speaking of his diatribes, it got a bit annoying hearing him literally introduce every superstar like we've never met them. "Dominic is the son of Rey Mysterio…." good god. The introductions for "new" viewers got a bit cringe.
    • The Rock's segments, just bizarre. He went old school 1999-2000 RAW to appeal to older lapsed fans and play off his board of directors position. Why was Cody even out there. Amazing no one can stand up to this shite (like Cody or HHH) and explain that none of this makes any sense. It just **** on all the great work and heat they built for a possible Rock/Cody feud - whether it does or doesn't happen the better business option is always leave the door open.
    • Rock on NXT will just have another lovely little moment with him and his daughter. Blegh.
    • Was this broadcast in 4K?
      I only have HD Netflix subscription; but it definitely looked sharper and clearer on my Phone than Sky GO app. It was crystal clear. Will check it out on my OLED later today. Hoping it's at least 1080P and not 720P like the TV broadcasts the last few years.

Hoping things get back to normal now and this was just a once off show to appease to Netflix executives and the lapsed fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SteM

Have this on in the background now. The crowd are really **** on Hogan 🤣

Pretty boring show to be honest. I no interest in seeing Rocky kiss Ted Sarandos' ass and be introduced to a bunch of celebs at ringside. They made it too much about Raw on Netflix rather than it just being a Raw.

The streamer's problem is people have gotten smart. People sign up for a month or 2, binge what they want and then change their sub to another streamer and do the same again. People might only sign up for Netflix for 3 months of the year. Netflix signing WWE gives them weekly episodic live TV with no off season that may well keep people sticking around. It also gives them access to a huge archival library which streamers also love. I can't take someone saying WWE could be dropped after 5 years because of last night seriously. They might be, but to say it after one show 🙄

Also, sick of the constant 'this is the highest grossing x show in the history of the wwe', all they're really saying is 'come to a live show and we'll get every cent we can out of you'. Do many companies constantly advertise to their customers that they're generating record revenue from them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Pentecost

It was poor enough fare. Production quality was good in terms of how everything looked and the arena looked good but far too many cutaways to bored looking celebrities who were clearly only there as Netflix pay them. The in ring stuff was just more of the same, the matches individually were fine it just seemed more dragged out than usual. Surprised a little at the outcome of Rollins v Punk, I hope they don't keep flogging this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I hate how returns have become WWE 101 at this stage.

It's great that they are making a be deal of all their shows but FFS just leave it off now. Seeing Rocky, Taker, Trippers etc etc a couple of times a year now just bores me.

For me, it was always the case. I lost complete interest in Taker at Mania when it became a once a year cameo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

You hate that they have become WWE101 yet for you it was always that case?!

I think perhaps don't watch it if you don't enjoy it?

Bit disappointing that The Rock won't be in Vegas for Mania

Cody vs Cena is fine but not sure about Roman vs Punk been a 'Mania main event level match'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭Ridley

Was hoping Rock would put the ula fala on himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Thanks.

I don't watch. I tune in habitually to see what's going on and whether it is something I'll really enjoy. I tuned in last night to see The Rock come out and do a fluff business promo about Netflix, WWE, nob and a wink Cody promo. The likes of which we've seen a thousand times at this stage. Boring.

My comment related to my view always being the same re: non surprises returns and cameos.. It is the view the all too common "part timers" are seemly every present now year-in-year-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Jay Pentatonic

Production level was great and everything looked really well, but the show itself was fairly uninspiring. Crowd seemed pretty dead by the end. I'm sure it'll pick up over the next few weeks.

It makes me feel old seeing Punk. I'm not sure how much left he really has in the ring, he seemed a bit sloppy and I wince at the sight of him taking anything beyond a moderate bump in case he gets injured again. I don't know if him struggling to lift Seth for that final GTS was intentional or not. :(

Agree that this face Rock stuff is bizarre.

Good for you. It just seems a little odd to care so little and be bored about something to such an extent that it drives you to watch it and also comment about it.

I don't like Gavin and Stacy. I didn't go out of my way to watch the christmas special, but happened to be in a room where people who do enjoy it were watching it so I enevitably saw some of it. I knew what it would be like and wasn't surprised that I didn't enjoy the bits that I saw.

But what is the difference is, I didn't feel the need to also go onto a dedicated thread about Gavin and Stacy to tell people how much I didn't like it.

Methinks the lady doth protest too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

UFC is murder too for that largest gate / PPV buy nonsense. It’s an MO now for TKO

I do find it funny that people are congratulated for spending more money than previous people as if it's an achievement.

I can probably stomach the rest of the show but Rock's nonsense at the beginning completely sapped my interest last night. And then he comes back out to give Roman the Ula Fala and just stands there… the worst thing is he's only recently increased his shares in Endeavor so he's not going anywhere anytime soon.

The matches were strange too. They half booked Tribal Combat like Cody/Roman at Mania 40 and it didn't hit well tbh.

Rhea/Liv was good but what happened to the last woman standing thing they were promoting last week? Also Raquel and Dom just sort of... Stood there while Rhea smashed Liv with two finishers and let her be pinned, they looked like dopes the whole lot of them tbh.

Yer man Travis Scott vaping on camera before Jey Usos entrance, how cool you are man... Not. Jey is already mega over he doesn't need a vaping mumbling rapper to accompany him. The match was ok but again the finish was sort of weird. They did a while Drew and Jey feud a while back do we need to rehash it again? Drew's hardly going to let it slide.

Seth and Punk... Ok match. Surprised they went with a clean finish tbh. Do I want a rematch? Probably not tbh. The promos were fire but now I've seen it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I liked the Roman and Rock moment post match.

I might be the only one!

I thought it was good to see for RR that after almost 10 years they could recreate the Rock acknowledging Roman again like he did at the 2015 Rumble.

But this time Roman had actually earned every bit of the respect the fans have for him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,750 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

One thing that distracted me the whole time were those red lights on the seats. What's that about? To help people find their seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,309 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

That was shít.

I swear if you added all the celebrity/former wrestler in the crowd spots, it would make up an hour of the show.

Some good matches but the returns fell flat, except Hogan's which was hilarious. He couldn't wait to get back down the tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭Cotts72

As a production it looked great, I liked the shorter ramp and backdrop, similar to royal rumble 1999. Triple H has already stated he prefers this setup

Agree with the bits about the Rock being a face again, we all waited for him to drop Roman but hugs and high fives all round?

Taker appearance was pointless, Hulk Hogan getting the negative reaction was my highlight of the night!

What happened rey mysterios match?

Disappointed we got no penta debut or significant returns such as Becky

Thing that stuck out the most was you've the premiere of Raw yet your champion Gunther only gets a pre taped vignette?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I cannot find the replay of Raw on Netflix for the life of me. Where exactly is it?