Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Israel closing their embassy in Dublin *Read OP for Mod Warning added 19/12/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

You are making up conversations in your head now. Makes a change from actively promoting ethnic cleansing. Disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,124 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

There is far worse wrong with Netanyahu and an apartheid state that enshrines collective punishment as basic policy, even though the civilised world regards it as a war crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Miniegg

I agree 100% - though fear it may not be a case of somebody being unwell, this would have been reread and signed off for publication by an editor, and has already been cited by a number of international news organizations.

Separate to this, I have seen numerous online commentary similar to this, particularly in Israeli and USA media attacking Ireland, even dragging up 1800's stereotypes that were employed by the British.

This stinks of wartime propaganda, and I wouldn't be surprised to see it ramp up - it just so happens this article is a particularly stupid attempt at it.

I understand you (and others) may back Israel politically, and I welcome hearing anybody else's take on world events, or even criticism of us, as long as they are genuine and based on fact, but so far I haven't seen one genuine explanation for the slanderous accusations.

Ireland are not backing Israel on a political level with respect to their conduct against the Palestinians. There is a very strong legal and moral basis for this, and has nothing to do with religion or ethnicity. I see zero evidence to refute that. We have consistently done this in other cases of suspected genocide - links are available all over this thread.

It is the Israelis who are taking exception to us, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭3d4life

Expect Netanyahu & Co to invade The Free State before 25th December

Am I reading this correct ?

( Hope he understands that he is not to lay a finger on the The Six Counties )

I'd say he heard about Intel's plans ….

• Site Banned Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Luna84
    Mentally Insane User

Mod Edit: Poster warned for uncivil posting

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,387 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Our 'little President ' has more balls than the entire Israeli war cabinet. Fair play to him and the Government for calling out War Crimes and genocidal behaviour.

The Irony of trying to run down our President while trying to espouse a War Criminal himself. Laughable.

I thought it was normal to object to the slaughter of any civilians. But it's vIrTuE sIgNaLLiNg if you like those doing the slaughtering seemingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Worth noting as well that even the Israeli ambassador to Ireland herself prevaricated and danced around the press conference questions as to whether she agreed with the accusation that Simon Harris is antisemitic. I think it speaks volumes that she, who has lived here and obviously experienced the empathy felt in Ireland towards the Palestinians, could not bring herself to actually clearly state that Harris is antisemitic — because obviously it's total bo**ocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,329 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It wouldn't be published if it wasn't supported.

Did you ever consider the possibility that some of your acquaintances do think like that, but just don't say it to your face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭nachouser

Me: "It's a bit sh*t that so many civilians are being killed in Gaza."

This thread: "Why do you hate Jews?"

It's a joke thread at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

And even if you don't hate Jews, you secretly do, you just don't know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The strange thing is that the anti-Palestinian folks have learned this 'argument' behaviour from the Israeli propaganda machine. Only recently. It's like they were hypnotised somehow because there is no logic to it. Boggles the mind.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,469 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

That comes straight from the Israeli propaganda machine - a tactic they have thought long and hard about. It's a great way of shutting down criticism of Netanyahu and the IDF i.e. you're only criticising them because you are a racist bigot who hates Jewish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭myfreespirit

A newspaper reminiscent of Der Stürmer or Völkischer Beobachter in 1930's Germany.

Shameless lies, stirring hatred.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As I posted yesterday, you've spent countless hours on here criticising murders committed by the IRA and yet you can't do the same now when it comes to the murder of innocent civilians in Gaza. You even said that the killing of civilians deemed by Israel to be human shields could be justified. Honestly, you've completely discredited yourself with this. Now you're deeming any positive sentiment towards Palestine as anti-Israel and antisemitic which is a completely bullsh1t take!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭jaffusmax

If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably 

is…………………………………….a duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Haaretz just published a report - testimonies of IDF soldiers operating north of the Netzarim corridor (in the heart of Gaza):

A Division 99 reservist describes watching a drone feed showing "an adult with two children crossing the forbidden line." They were walking unarmed, seemingly searching for something. "We had them under complete surveillance with the drone and weapons aimed at them – they couldn't do anything," he says. "Suddenly we heard a massive explosion. A combat helicopter had fired a missile at them. Who thinks it's legitimate to fire a missile at children? And with a helicopter? This is pure evil."

These were not human shields, they were not combatants, they were unarmed. Calling this out as utterly abhorrent is not anti-semitic - just moral. Anyone justifying this is inhuman.

The rush to say it's not genocide and not to misuse the word - from the same folk who insist that something which they know isn't anti-Semitism... is anti-Semitism.

There's an obsession with the above by some - as a way to demonise the Irish though, rather than out of concern for Jewish folk here. It's a real favourite of loyalist/hardline unionist types.

It's absurd to try and depict Ireland as some sort of basketcase of anti-Semitism in the last century, when you look at Russia, into Eastern Europe... oh yeah and certain events in central Europe in the 1940s. Even further west, Britain and Oswald Mosley, later Nick Griffin and David Irving. And this is just Europe.

Also "Ireland didn't do much in the fight against nazism" - oh well that must mean that that small, poor, powerless, neutral country could only be ragingly anti-Semitic.

Jewish people have actually done well here - in politics, the public service and business. There's Shalom Park in Cork, in honour of Mayor Goldberg. Pretending Ireland was like early 20th century Russia is just preposterous.

Are there anti-Semitic Irish people? Yes, unfortunately. Like there are anti-Semitic people all over the world - it's a baffling prejudice which has led to some of the worst atrocities imaginable. But to weaponise that against people simply for criticising mass slaughter of children, and to demonise a nation for being vocal in its objections to this slaughter... is appalling.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I heard the interview on Pat Kenny from the (former?) zionist ambassador to these shores the other day. In the space of about 4 minutes she claimed with exasperation how Ireland could not be involved in changing the definition of genocide as it was something that was fixed in law already and therefore could never be changed ….. followed by nonsense about Ireland not adoption some new definition of antisemitism - which of course is always evolving and changing.

You almost couldn't make it up.

I am really delighted that she is gone for good. A pure demon with the lust for blood and the hatred and venom in her statements was blood curdling sick. Pat Kenny gave her a very easy interview too. Should have taken her apart.

I was very surprised he didn't really ask her any remotely tricky obvious questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,251 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think if one wants to justifiably criticise Israel one shouldn't lie in the process. Nethanyahu whether people like it or not is democratically elected and not a "dictator".

When false statements are given it undermines the credibility of any due criticism and makes us all look ridiculous when it's a public representative doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭mountain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭nachouser

You kinda buried the lede there with "murderous."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,846 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,315 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Bin Laden was a CIA agent, originally.

That claim has been widely debunked at this stage. It might play well in the Kremlin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Ardent

That Ceann Comhairle quote above is just preposterous.

Netanyahu is not a dictator. And you can't equate casualties as a result of the IDF's war with Iran-sponsored terrorists with the unprovoked invasion of Ukraine by Russia.

What a moronic thing to say. It's no wonder the rest of the world views us as a bunch of dim-witted anti-semites.