Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Site is a graveyard - How can boards save itself?) Any update?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Where are you getting that? The orc thing has always referred to the invading Russian army, a name well earned from their monstrous behaviour.

Ridiculous carry on trying to retrofit some meaning to do with the Russian people.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

If you're going to use a feedback thread to get digs into other posters, you could at least try not to lie about those posters.

Calling asylum seekers illegal immigrants, is absolutely from right wing propaganda. It is criminalising people who are exercising their legal tight to claim asylum.

They are simply, in LAW, not illegal immigrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I got that from users of the term. In the Boards post I quoted, it’s also all over the internet.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Im really failing to understand what point you are trying to make.

If a poster makes a post saying a thread is full of racism and does not respond when asked for proof or just says read the thread, then what is the point of their post.

They are calling out nobody and are just looking to cause an argument.

I believe anyone gaslighting a thread by doing this should be dealt with, the only thing it's going to do is cause bickering.

If they see racism then point it out and report it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's an attempt at censorship, I think. They don't want Russia criticised so they try and get the word banned. As per the Streisand effect, all they've done is amplify it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

It’s Gregor this week comrade :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Nor are you the arbiter. Something you forgot in your declaration there was hate speech, contradicting that claim in the process - self discrediting. If you can make such declarations then another poster can challenge them.

And thats not what you claimed at all. You said hundreds if not thousands of posts, you referenced calls for annihilation. The calls for annihilation are against Russian invaders, military and officials.

And the orcs in the post you cite were thugs who beat up an 87 year old and in your posts the only concern expressed is they were called orcs! It was not directed at all Russian nationals. It was based on their vile conduct.

You can only make your case with massive goalpost shifting and misrepresentation.

In the context of this thread...

The case of hate speech on the thread is highly dubious.

More dubious still that it has any connection to the supposed decline in boards engagement.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

They were talking about people vaguely stating that there is racism, anti-semitism, islamophobia or whatever, without specifically mentioning a post or posters. When asked which post or poster is posting such content they immediately turn around and act the victim, and how dare you accuse me of saying that about you, show me where I said you did that, when they had clearly been insinuating that you were all the things they were alluding to.

I had it the other day on a thread. I posted something. A response to my post included a link to a page discussing 'Eugenics and Scientific racism'. A later reply from the same poster mentioned anti-semitic conspiracy theories and the Limerick Boycott. Not one of my posts mentioned race, religion or belief systems. There was some craic about low IQ people as well I think, which was likely to deliberately rile me up as I had mentioned my mentally disabled brother. When I outright called them out I was accused of playing to the gallery and how dare they, they were just stating the inevitable consequences of views. Even though they couldn't point to anything in my posts which was bad, other bad people would take what I said and run with it. That poster is still merrily posting away on that forum, and one of the people posting here about reports not being followed (not you!) liked every one of those nasty **** posts. I guarantee if i had lost my cool I would have been banned and they would remain unscathed.

It doesnt refef to all Russians, well not unless all Russians are thugs like the below:

In the example post cited on this thread the Orcs were thugs who beat up an 87 year old survivor of WW2 who described Wagner mercenary scum as 'murderers'.

God forbid posters feelings are hurt by such thugs being called orcs. As if.

As if thats a factor in the concerns expressed on this thread about decline in engagement with the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Boards please consider the following.

1. Review and consider the content of both this feedback thread and the original
    2. Renew and update forum charters where appropriate.
    3. Review, clarify and publish the dispute resolution process.
    4. Develop and implement a plan for recruiting new moderators.
    5. Consider community funding drives (subscription/donation/merchandise)

Or

Tell us what the plan is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I'm using the feedback thread to give feedback. My post was clearly related to the mentioning of censoring of certain views and I was arguing that for hot button topics what is considered beyond the pale or not can differ between posters. I specifically used immigration and trans issues as people have polarised views. The tag line of current affairs is

A place for frank exchanges of views on serious and at-times controversial topics.

You believe calling asylum seekers illegal immigrants is right wing rhetoric. I believe there are people abusing the IPO system and that will reduce resources available for genuine refugees. You are entitled to your opinion and I am entitled to mine. The Boards moderators and site managers are the people who will decide whether either, both or neither views can be aired.

It is not my opinion. It is the law.

Of course there are people abusing the system, as they do every system. The point remains that they are not illegal immigrants. By LAW.

And you absolutely did use the thread to get digs in, I didn't quote the other post were you made remarks about me, but I assume it's still there

Noun

edit

орк  (ork) m anim (genitive о́ркаnominative plural о́ркиgenitive plural о́рковrelational adjective о́ркский or о́рочий)

1. (fantasyorc (humanoid monster warrior)
    2. (derogatoryInternet slang) a Russian person with little to no desirable qualities (unattractive, low intelligence, uncultured, etc.)

When being used in internet slang the meaning is clear

But go ahead. Use whatever terms you are happy to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,841 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Oh I see what you are saying now .

So what are you reporting them for ...gaslighting ? Is that actionable now ?

I would imagine if someone was repeatedly doing it and it wasn't backed up by posts from them or others on thread they probably would be sanctioned. For soapboxing maybe ?

But generally I would say a statement like you are describing would not come out of the blue for others , and neither the mods who would/ should have had the racist or offensive posts already reported.

This now is where context is important as we have been talking about here .

Can IDF soldiers be referred to as rats or pigs now also? They fit the criteria for vile acts?

No of course not, nor should they be.
    Hate speech, dehumanising language should not be tolerated never mind be defended.

I think that is something you should take up with a mod .

Very specific for feedback .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

And have you noticed the same argument being proposed by some here on this thread, that likewise topics concerning gender or racism etc should not be discussed on this site. That these should be off limits. An attempt at censorship as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Haha, yeah. Do you remember when lads were trying to claim “gammon” and “gammon faced” were racist terms?

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

You cited a post. In that post ORC was used to describe the attackers of an 87 year old man for the heinous act of calling Wagner mercenaries "murderers". These are the scum you are offended on behalf of. Both the attackers and Wagner mercenaries are orcs.

The victim was Russian. The victim was not call an orc. Theres another hole below the waterline in your line of argument.

Orc carries no implications of racial discrimination... Russia and Ukraine very similar ethnically.

This is what wikipedia says.

Orc

(Russian and Ukrainian: орки), is a pejorative commonly used by many Ukrainians to refer to a Russian soldier participating in the Russian-Ukrainian War and Russian citizens who support the aggression of Russia against Ukraine. The pejorative serves to symbolize inhuman wickedness and brutality of the invaders.

Think of it as a form of decimation :)

It is still a 'dick' move when posters thank abusive posts, but it doesn't seem to to be a runner to enforce given the Vanilla setup if Soccer looked at it but decided against.

I haven't seen any poster suggesting that those topics should not be discussed.

Yes it is a dick move as is thanking threadbans . But just probably impossible to implement in current sutuation .

It would be interesting to know if Boards.ie dropped Vanilla and went back woukd a lit of the issues with modding and seeing thanks be cleared up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

I'd like to say I think a separate US Politics forum could be fun. I was watching the latest round of Colbert/Seth/Daily Show, and I'd love a thread on their shows.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Vividly. Not really sure why people committing atrocities should be beyond criticism.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

There's definitely room for it in my view. It would also, at least initially provide posters with a clean slate in terms of the dreaded threadbans. Perhaps provide a needed reset from the entrenched positions on the long running current threads and foster more discussion, as opposed to bickering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,552 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Lots of types of people commit atrocities though. Can we say what we like about them and people who look like them?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

i mean, 'gammon' and 'ork' are kinda racist tbh, at least as racist as knacker id say….

tbh I don't participate in or read those threads, couldn't be bothered and don't have strong views either way, and I wouldn't read american politics threads but id nearly have the same opinion about people using 'weird' to describe anything conservative, when 'sleepy' was banned outright… (I know I'm probably falling into the trap of 'its pissing off all the right people' with that, but I only come across that attitude when it seeps into the feedback forum, so…)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I find it a bit sinister reading the last couple of pages to see people going to bat for Russian invaders of Ukraine just so they can justify being able to say whatever they want about people from other communities.

There's quite a difference between saying that those people in ISIS are evil and suggesting or implying that people who have the same religion as them are evil and the religion is an influencing factor.

I remember the late (and great) journalist Robert Fisk who was asked about having bias in his reporting. He said "I am biased, I am biased on the side of the oppressed". He went on to say that as humans, we have a responsibility to help those in our society who are in need and to be an argument against those who are doing the oppressing.

The depths to which you're prepared to go to to defend murderers is a perfect example of what puts people off this place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Nobody is arguing to have abuse of other communities permitted. On the contrary, people have argued that abusive language should be banned for all groups, and not permitted for individual groups that some people deem “deserving” of such. The posts about poisoning rats and “dumb fuks” are still visible on thread despite at least one mod being aware of them. You can’t possibly think that this sort of language should be permitted on a public discussion board?