Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Cricket 2024

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭dohboy

Good (and pretty deflating) piece by Nathan Johns here in the aftermath of that Test win

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭VillaMad

No play today. Match abandoned due to rain which is very rare in the UAE.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,505 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭wicorthered

Ireland and Scotland are the only two teams that could be washed out in a desert

• Registered Users Posts: 10,415 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

See we're on again today, more or less the same team doesn't vary much by format. Won toss and chose to chase again. At least we have consistency there I guess.

Still can't help but feel a few of our lads could shed a bit of weight. Hume there now is fairly rotund and working hard in the heat.

Gurbaz now is lean & mean, saved himself being run out by a stretchy dive. No way Stirling would have been near that.

Hume taken to the cleaners now.

Pitch looks pretty dry and cracked - will we be baffled by spin later?

Badly needed breakthrough that

Gurbaz gone now. Afghanistan 85/3. Much better from the Irish bowlers

• Registered Users Posts: 24,839 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

A lot fewer loose deliveries.. Better from the Irish bowlers. A lot fewer erroneous deliveries and they’ve been pretty tight with their fielding too.

only 13 boundaries so far in the 30 overs we’ve bowled.

Hopefully we can limit them to around 260-270.

Tector's run out throw was excellent, quick & accurate. Pity McBrine missed the stumps later, that was a good chance. Suppose you win some and lose some, he took a good catch earlier.

Tector getting a few overs today

Could do with breaking this partnership, both batsmen very well set in the 40’s.

Make or break of us now for the moment - Adair bowling short again a bit too much? Can he vary with a few good tight yorkers?

Nabi gone which is no harm at all.

Wickets tumbling, nice one, can’t see them getting more than 240 now, crucial period of the game and we are coming good.

Nice to see Tector get a wicket too

Afghanistan finish on 236/9. Getting a six with the last ball

What sort of final ball was that! More like a beamer.

4.72 the RRR.

hopefully we are positive in the chase as opposed to careless and too gung-ho. Especially when we don’t need to be….

Purposeful from the off and we grand. Allow the required rate to climb, lose a few wickets we are back to square one.

Balbirnie out for 1

Balbirnie wafts at the ball and is gone.

Balbernie gone….😖 Didn’t look like he hit it. Host broadcaster not able to provide any tech to show either way.

feet anchored, a poor shot either way.

50 up for Ireland. Good controlled stuff from Stirling and Campher

Given the match situation and the fielder at long off, a pretty poor choice of shot. Just don’t open the door for them…

Ffs how did Tector miss that, played all around it…. Door being opened after an excellent start. Coasting as is said on commentary…Wickets 2&3 seriously avoidable.

Tucker gone, just scooping it in the air mid wicket…. Self destructing.

Campher gone, looks like he got nowhere near hitting that either ffs…

umpires are piss useless, adjudicating on the reactions of fielders as opposed to what’s happening out on the field.

Well that looks like another shocker of a decision to give campher out there. Echoes of Stirling in game 1

Coasting to victory and the captain does that......

All they had to do was see off Nabi. How are they still so clueless against spin. They play in the UAE more than they do in Ireland

Ireland have much much bigger problems than umpires when they try to bat