Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tubmeister on Virgin Radio (Warning in post #1)

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭backwards_man

I wish him well. 3 hours is a long stretch to fill 5 days a week. He will be grand for the first few months, feeding off on the initial enthusiasm a new opportunity brings but if he doesn't get something "better" soon, I cant see him lasting. He is early 50s. That's a hard slog to do week in, week out for years with nothing better on the horizon, for someone who is used to far less hours for far more pay, and in another country away from his family and life. This is a springboard for him as far as he is concerned. Lets see. I wont be listening but hopefully he finds an audience.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭tom23

yeah as along as it not the irish taxpayer audience. We feathered his nest for to long. But Nowl must have done a hell of a deal with beaker as he has in the front page of the Indo. an oversized qtr page.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,662 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Listening, easy gig for him. Its mainy just playing songs. He would've spoken more in the first 10 minutes of his RTE show than the 3 hours on Virgin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

I wouldn't pay to much heed on the music, it's a general safe playlist of songs typical of Virgin for every show. For example Eddy Temple Morris who previously hosted this slot (probably more well known as a specialised Indie DJ) was playing these cross genre type of songs.

Incidentally, the previous Virgin Radio set up by Richard Branson in 1993 on AM and FM was more of a rock station

• Registered Users Posts: 10,641 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I would have assumed that he would have wanted a longer “stint” on radio after he stepped down from the ‘Late Late Show’.

A 3 hour show will keep him busy enough but also give him time to enjoy himself in his free time.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• I’m just thinking 3 hours is a long time without going to the jax, he would have to play American Pie to make an escape.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Lecter8319

I think a lot of people (myself included) will be keeping an eye on him as we’re still a little irked by how much he & his agent got away with when they were being funded by Irish taxpayers & licence payers. Will be interesting to see how long he lasts in his new role & if it’s any good or not. I won’t hold my breath

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Muller1991

I have some skin in the game. Bathroom breaks can be as long as you want or need. Technology has helped an awful lot over the years lol. The Joys of prerecording links etc

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Just listening now to for the first time where he’s speaking to a social network woman.

He doesn’t really have a lot of charisma does he….

Also, Tubridy is a Gen X’er

• “I’m thin skinned & superficial” “that’s what you get when you’re dealing with narcissism”

He said it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

I notice there are no regular News bulletins on Virgin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I’m not his target audience as I’m working at that time - I guess if someone just wanted a show with mainly AOR music and some light gabbing throughout then it’s harmless stuff- some less successful DJ’s in their 50s would be glad of the gig alright but yeah for him, it’s a big comedown and I don’t really see it going anywhere fast - he’ll certainly never be a Wogan- he’s missed that boat by decades - while I don’t wish ill on him it feels like he’s been cast out into some no man’s land after his “success” in RTÉ - I’d actually admire him if he landed some big radio or tv contract in the years ahead but right now I don’t see that happening

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Just tuned in at 10.30ish to hear the Russell Crowe interview. Smart move to get him on. Gives Tubs a bit of gravitas with his new audience that he can put in a call to Maximus at his dinner party!

Handled it reasonably well although Crowe didn't make life difficult, seemed like he was digging out a mate. The one wobble was when Crowe said something like "My pal Ryan is a huge book reader, loves the books, what have you got on the go now Ryan?"

Queue Tubridy scrambling around to get his brain in gear and try to think of a book....any book .... to mention. He waffles for a second about how he is indeed a huge lover of reading and is very bookish altogether before settling on JK Rowling. Oh dear.

The Partridge vibes are off the charts. Plus he sounds like he's inhaled half of Colombia's yearly white powder export. Can't see this working any better than it previously worked during his BBC stints. But good luck to him. We ain't paying for it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

The issue I (and probably most folk) have is that his ‘Success’ at RTÉ was absolute horse manure…

He was in the golden circle and anyone and everyone associated with RTÉ perpetrated this myth that he was some kind of broadcasting royalty… when in reality he was far from that…. His Virgin gig is probably the level he should have always been at… play a few tunes, and then a bit of meaningless chat/phone in’s to fill the gaps between songs… a gig where earning €100k would have you at the upper end of the pay scale…

I can see him doing this for a few year's (it’s a job very hard to feck up in fairness), and then him and Noel somehow angling to make a great big return to RTÉ in some form or another, as the returning hero that conquered the U.K. but his true place is out in Donnybrook…. And because he loves us so much he’ll settle for €300k a year, and an army of a team to get him through a 1-2 hour radio slot on RTÉ Radio One

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TheBMG

He won’t be selecting the music. That’s a station wide format.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭tom23

The irish sun - excellent material for cleaning up dog shite.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

typical red top approach - They'll build him up - but only as the groundwork for tearing him down again in 6-12 months time!

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭kazoo106

the Sun is also News UK is it not?

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭DaithiMa

I remember a former poster here that spoke about his nephew (age unknown) who was clearing 150k easy in his job. I think he said the most trusted man in Ireland deserved to earn at least that amount for all the work and good that he did at RTE.

Max 92k a year for massively increased hours, that's a huge step backwards for the self anointed Toyman surely.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,242 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I can see him doing this for a few year's (it’s a job very hard to feck up in fairness), and then him and Noel somehow angling to make a great big return to RTÉ in some form or another, as the returning hero that conquered the U.K. but his true place is out in Donnybrook

That's probably the plan but if He got a serious and lucrative offer from the BBC I'd say he'd take that first. Trouble is it's hard for Tubridy to prove himself as the 'heir to Terry Wogan' he's clearly trying to package himself as in his current DJ slot

• Registered Users Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

I think he’s going to struggle. He has next to no sense of humour yet he’s trying hard to be funny. Reminds me of the toy show. His nervous energy translates into a kind of ADD, desperate, scattergun delivery. Awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭argentum

I don't think I ever listened to him on RTE but I know I paid for him. Glad he's gone somewhere else but I'm sure he would prefer to be in Ireland no matter what he says

The music is fine to listen to while I'm working in the office and some of the stuff he spoke worked well especially Russell Crowe but don't understand why he keeps playing highlights of an interview he did less than 2 hours ago

Some of the talking was cringe worthy ..he was caught between a UK audience that doesn't know him and an Irish audience that mostly didn't care about him any more

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Lots of presenters can make that work. Dave Fanning talks at a million miles an hour. Gerry Ryan was a famous motor mouth. Chris Evans too. It's actually well-suited to a music DJ role..

Tubs problem is he talks a lot but says nothing. He's clearly someone who has never formulated an opinion of any depth or nuance on a subject of any kind. His observations are puddle deep, his knowledge paper thin. His level of curiosity of the world, non existent. You need at least one strong suit. Fanning has his encyclopedic music knowledge. Gerry Ryan and Evans were always about laddish charisma and shock factor. What is Tubs strength? As it stands, about all he's got are an Irish accent and Terry Wogan references.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,291 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Maybe Brexit Tory Britain is not that bad after all. Tubridy happy there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,307 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

This isn't a springboard, it's a broadcasting job that is intended to give him enough profile so that his reputation can be rehabilitated enough to enable a return to RTE in a few years.

I'd say two years max before he tries to come back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

I’m sure the good folks at Virgin Radio know more than you do. They are looking for someone to do a light entertainment show, not Melvyn Bragg discussing inter war history.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,662 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Absolutely fine for morning radio. Loads of broad music, a guest or two, few texts read out and a little bit of chat.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,242 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Max 92k a year for massively increased hours, that's a huge step backwards for the self anointed Toyman surely.

What Dermot McNamara, co-founder of the Candid celebrity management and PR agency in the UK, says is to be taken as gospel so? No chance he'd be throwing out an implausibly low estimate of Tubridy's salary to grab hi,self a few headlines is there?

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TheBMG

was never a massive Tubs fan personally but delighted for him with this move. Not sure the simulcast is a great idea but it’s sure got a whole bunch of posters here totally wound up.

It’s really simple - he’s proved there’s life outside RTE and outside the quite insular world of Irish media. Good for him.

A gig on Virgin Radio is like moving from the League of Ireland to the Premiership. In no way can this be seen as a step down or a bad move for Tubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

Are the hours massively increased? 17 a week - 3 on each of the weekdays plus 2 on a Saturday. At RTE he had one hour in the mornings weekday and another 2 on Friday nights on the late late but the amount of research he would need to put in to those shows would be huge by comparison I'd think