Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Representative Association's vote of no confidence in Commissioner Harris

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Francis McM

"Shure why are'ny you joinin'", say you. None of your business, says I. I could be too old, for 1.

There would be more Gardai walking the beat if they worked the same hours as before covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭mikethecop

coz policing is just like working in a shop or in IT is it ? but ye knew what ye were signing up for right ? there has been a dramatic change in Irish society and policing in the last 3 years never mind the last 20. so no we didn't, in fact pay and pension agreements with the gov were reneged on in 2009

excessive admin and awful management are some of the main reasons why there is discontent , they are also the reason you see less nd less on the street. if you dot like seeing gardai in cars , i ve good news for you Hyundai's are uncomfortable and unsuited for policework and spend more time in the shop than on the street . but when you have 3 or 4 gardai covering half a county at night ya sort of need mobility,

rosters is just the straw that broke the back

• Registered Users Posts: 14,495 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There won't, this has been explained.

Drew Harris himself said it wasn't possible to go back to the old roster due to numbers a year ago and now, with fewer Gardai, somehow it is possible. There are fewer Gardai now than pre covid. We've one of the lowest ratios of police to population in the EU but you've been conned into thinking fiddling around with rosters will somehow fix that.

There are fewer people applying to be Gardai, fewer people completing training, and of those that do, a significant proportion are just turning around and leaving. But again, you think a bit of roster fiddling will patch that up, despite the fact it will now make that problem even worse.

Oh dear "Hyundai's are uncomfortable" says you. My, my, my.

Oh dear "Hyundai's spend more time in the shop than on the street" says you. Actually if you google it, Hyundai is one of the most reliable brands world wide, with above average reliability.

Anyway, I better let you get back to work.

Deliberately ignoring the part where he stated they are unsuitable for police work. You're not engaging in good faith here.

doesnt your office chair get uncomfortable at the end of your 8 hr day ?

sorry first hand information isn't good enough for you.

having seen 3 Tucson's each having entire engine rebuilds with less that 40 000 miles convinced me . but im sure you know better ......

na thanks but i ve already done my 48 hour work week plus 6 hours court and a 3 body id this week ,

your over the age of 68 you think other people should be doing the job at ? fair play to you ,

there will be less , a lot less given the numbers now planning to exit asap .

but sure ACAB eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭AnMuinteoirOg

There won’t be because there will now be less Gardai working at any one time compared to the current roster

Not the taxpayers fault so few Gardai are working or so many retired aged 50 on full pension plus six figure tax free lump sum.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭standardg60

Can you explain that to me because both i and the commissioner must be a bit slow. The covid rostering was introduced (20% less hours worked) to reduce the number of Gardai working at any one time but restoring the pre-covid rostering will mean even less Gardai working than the less Gardai working under the covid rostering did?

There have been a significant number of resignations over the last 3 years that recruitment failed to overtake as the government intended and the creation and expansion of specialist units for fraud, domestic violence, cyber crime etc. have depleted the number of Gardai working on core units. There are fewer uniformed Gardai working in stations than there has ever been, in modern times at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭Hungry Burger

Why did they change the roster over covid?

If there are fewer uniformed Gardai then restoring their original hours worked before time off would seem like a rational thing to do would it not?

Obviously no one is going to be happy working more than they do now for the same pay but that's exactly what they were doing pre-covid. It's a scummy thing to do to personalise this on the commissioner rather than do the job that they signed up for. Maybe some have been blindly led into this by the GRA but morals amongst Gardai are distinctly lacking here.

Again first hand eyeball evidence directly contradicts your google search's i,m sure they are fine for the school run or whatever your up to your self

that Hyundai's are unsuitable for policing, its just one of the many many issues the fact this was raised before they were brought in and many times since then but is ignored by management is another issue

So there would be less Gardai in direct contact with each other in the event of an outbreak

Nope it would be the governments and upper garda managements fault , 6 figure gratuity ? really ? Chief or assistant commis ? coz mine would be less that 60 000 if i make 30 years , and if you were joining today significantly less .

hardly extortionate for 30 years of being asked to put your life and safely on the line

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭KilOit

It's amazing to hear that a young family could spend more time with their family and reduce outgoings on childcare. a net gain to society

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭KilOit

Being overworked and under-resourced for years would do that to you. the population has grown massively and they have less garda if you are comparing 10+ years ago

pop of Ireland is 1m more than 10 years ago with the same number of garda, they also have a ton more paperwork to go through, same for teachers and most public servants, expected to do more with the same level of resources. So if you deal with Garda a lot since 1998 you don't know jack **** about what they have to deal with

Absolutely, and you could be enjoying those same benefits if you wander into work tomorrow and tell the head of your organisation that you've no confidence in them too

• Registered Users Posts: 9,540 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

So you're saying after 30 years your salary plus pensionable allowances would be less than €40k? What a load of bull! I remember ~10 years ago figures being published (on another occasion they were looking for more dosh) showing that average actual Garda rank (i.e. rank and file) was ~€60k when you took all the guaranteed allowances (including the infamous 'allowance for not getting an allowance') into account.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

The amount of unfit even obese gardai is shocking. Are there no fitness tests once you get in. Same with prison officers.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I don't understand. Pre Covid, they were doing 6 days x 10 hours and 3 days off? That's equivalent of 120 hours (3 x 40hr weeks) in 18 days (12 working and 6 off).

Now they work 4 days x 12 hours and get what off? 3 days as well?

For the same money? No wonder they want to keep what they have.

Maybe they should take a proportional pay cut and have extra Gardaí to make up numbers?

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭AnMuinteoirOg

before covid there was 5 units. During covid 5 units were split into 4. Meaning members from Unit E were spread across Units A, B, C and D. These 4 units increased in numbers. So during Covid there was never as much members working at the one time.

When Covid finished there was a lot of members moved from these units back into brand new office jobs created by Drew. Despite him saying on multiple occasions he was trying to get Gardai out off office. That along with resignations and retirements, numbers are very low on Regualar Units.

and now drew wishes to re create Unit E which means units that are very small now, will be made even smaller to create this unit.

research the figures for a new recruit yourself , some up to date data might inform you on the matter

whats a guaranteed allowance , you get compensated if your working nights or weeekends the same as almost every other job , if you upskill and qualified you get rewarded for it same as any other job

what is this infamous allowance bs ? id love to know more about what your suggesting or insinuating

proposed multiple times for a yearly fitness test ,keep every one fit with the shift work promote competitiveness' could have been linked to health insurance and make it a more attractive job all around ,

rejected for the price of running a project that would have benefited everyone .

although many of the specialist groups Public order Asu etc would have yearly assessments and cut ruthlessly if your not up to it.

End result of more computer time , much of which is replicating work that is already done

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Huge respect for the job the guards do, its a tough gig and not one a lot of people could deal with. However the current deal ( >I believe from talking to a guard is 4 days on then 4 days off.. < but this a temporary COVID roster. Covid is effectively over lads and they need to go back to the old system. Maybe their focus should be a tweek to the old system, but wanting to keep the Covid roster isn't acceptable.

Drew and Helens 10million extra in overtime to deal with the rising attacks In Dublin city centre would go a lot further and have more public appreciation on the old roster to be fair.

I honestly hope you're not a maths teacher. Everyone worked 20% less, resulting in 5 units being reduced to 4, yet you believe this actually led to an increase in numbers working at the one time?

Which begs the next question which we don't know the answer to. Does the extra 12 hour shift which they would have been doing under the old roster now qualify as overtime? Is that where the 10 million is going? Paying extra to do the job that they were normally doing prior to covid?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,139 ✭✭✭plodder

Very few people care that he is ex RUC in my opinion. He is independent and that's what matters.