Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

1113114115116117119»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,320 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You keep going on and on about how the end is nigh and end users should quit while they're ahead.

But that's not reality. Not when Gardai themselves are involved. Not in a country where "shenanigans" and the "be grand" approach are standard, and there's still so much admiration for the "cute hoor" getting one over on "the man".

Sky have a lull now before the new football season starts so they're trying to scare people into subscriptions beforehand but as I said previously, they're not actually losing anything. People aren't just going to start paying them instead. They'll just do without if it came to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

That €100 is about 2 weeks of Sky TV service……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

Its crazy money. But its not just the cost of Sky is the issue, their model is so completely broken. Why would anyone pay so much money for so little? Outside of the sports channels, I can't think of any other channel I'd even be remotely interested in.

I know, its such a ridiculous amount of money.

Now having said that, you can watch Nothing To Declare on a 24x7 basis, is that not good enough for you…??? No pleasing you if not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,099 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

But when they get an easy target, the public will pile in big time on their victim, and the politicians will follow suit. Who defended the Garda managers who wiped out the Penalty Points? Nobody. But the main mover in that saga Mick Wallace said he was fine with rank and file Gardai not enforcing Points on the road, they could use their own judgement. And everybody was OK with that.

Sky are able to command the front page of the Independent two days in a row with stories which are bound to have put doubt in the minds of some middle class generally law abiding citizens. If they could get hold of information about a high ranking Garda who has a dodgy box, that would be gold for a newpaper front page. The Commissioner and the Mininster would be brought into the story, and it might even emerge that some TD or Senator is a dodgy box owner.

Sky will have no customers left if things progress the way they are going. They need to defend themselves against the criminal gangs stealing their very expensively produced content. I think the most interesting thing to emerge from the recent stories, is the Data Protection issue. There is going to be a legal battle between Sky and the Human Rights defenders, on how far they can go in pursuing information about the fraudsters.

You are probably right about the Gardai not going to make any effort to enforce the law, because so many of them are lawbreakers themselves. But I don't agree with your analysis about people doing without the Premier League for example, if the pirates are closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭dublin49

folks talking about value for money should acknowledge if they play the game of changing their provider each year or two and link it to Broadband they will get decent deals from any of the suppliers like ,sky virgin etc

I regularly phone sky and ask them to cancel sport and get decent discounts without fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Sky create that game and whinge about losing. Sky have the opportunity to play the game differently but don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,797 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Sky have their finger in the dam trying to scare off new users. I reckon they'd be shocked by how low a percentage of the 400k would sign up if dodge streaming stopped in the morning. Who really wants to be signing up listening to the likes of Keane, Neville and Richards. The best feature of all in IPTV is not having to use the Sky Sports feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,863 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Most users of IPTV can't afford Sky. They are not suddenly going to be able to pay for Sky if the IPTV feeds disappear.

And IPTV is here to stay. You won't find the supier, thru are well hidden through VPN.

You'll never get any discount remotely cheap enough or offering the same level of service that you get on a dodgy box though.

Not that I have one now, some of my best friends are dodgy box owners....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Yeah, I know this isnt related, I just tune in when the match is just kicking off, youtube at ht and turn off at end of match. I have eyes, i can make up my own mind about the match.

Im also a utd supporter so its generally a disaster anyway, dont need Keane and Scholes telling me how shite it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭moycullen14

I'm unclear as to what the offence is as a 'dodgy box' end-user. Just because I have the access to Sky channels, doesn't mean I watch them, so what am I doing wrong? No interest in football, cricket, F1, boxing, fishing(!), etc. I use the box as it's a very easy way to aggregate the mainly FTA channels that I watch (RTE, BBC, ITV, C4, etc). Also use it for streaming TV series - but that's nothing to do with Sky. Netflix, etc may have a case against me .. or Apple or Paramount but not Sky

So assuming Sky can show I have a dodgy box, how can they prove that I'm consuming any of their services? Plausible deniability, maybe?

I have 6000+ channels and I'd say I've only ever watched about 20 of them.

I pay (happy to do so) for Spotify because of its ease-of-use and the aggregation of services - music and podcasts - that I use. Great service that's well worth it. The business model between Spotify and the content providers may be a bit screwed up but that's nothing to do with me.

It's the proliferation of service providers that's wrecked it. No way people are going to fork out for multiple subscriptions. Sky, TNT, Apple, Amazon, Paramount, Disney and so on. I guess it's a land grab and they are all hoping to be the last man standing. Problem is, there might not be much of a business left at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭fish fingers

It is crazy money, then you have ads on top of that. Stremio for tv and movies, iptv for sport.