Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,320 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You keep going on and on about how the end is nigh and end users should quit while they're ahead.

But that's not reality. Not when Gardai themselves are involved. Not in a country where "shenanigans" and the "be grand" approach are standard, and there's still so much admiration for the "cute hoor" getting one over on "the man".

Sky have a lull now before the new football season starts so they're trying to scare people into subscriptions beforehand but as I said previously, they're not actually losing anything. People aren't just going to start paying them instead. They'll just do without if it came to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

That €100 is about 2 weeks of Sky TV service……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

Its crazy money. But its not just the cost of Sky is the issue, their model is so completely broken. Why would anyone pay so much money for so little? Outside of the sports channels, I can't think of any other channel I'd even be remotely interested in.

I know, its such a ridiculous amount of money.

Now having said that, you can watch Nothing To Declare on a 24x7 basis, is that not good enough for you…??? No pleasing you if not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,101 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

But when they get an easy target, the public will pile in big time on their victim, and the politicians will follow suit. Who defended the Garda managers who wiped out the Penalty Points? Nobody. But the main mover in that saga Mick Wallace said he was fine with rank and file Gardai not enforcing Points on the road, they could use their own judgement. And everybody was OK with that.

Sky are able to command the front page of the Independent two days in a row with stories which are bound to have put doubt in the minds of some middle class generally law abiding citizens. If they could get hold of information about a high ranking Garda who has a dodgy box, that would be gold for a newpaper front page. The Commissioner and the Mininster would be brought into the story, and it might even emerge that some TD or Senator is a dodgy box owner.

Sky will have no customers left if things progress the way they are going. They need to defend themselves against the criminal gangs stealing their very expensively produced content. I think the most interesting thing to emerge from the recent stories, is the Data Protection issue. There is going to be a legal battle between Sky and the Human Rights defenders, on how far they can go in pursuing information about the fraudsters.

You are probably right about the Gardai not going to make any effort to enforce the law, because so many of them are lawbreakers themselves. But I don't agree with your analysis about people doing without the Premier League for example, if the pirates are closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭dublin49

folks talking about value for money should acknowledge if they play the game of changing their provider each year or two and link it to Broadband they will get decent deals from any of the suppliers like ,sky virgin etc

I regularly phone sky and ask them to cancel sport and get decent discounts without fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Sky create that game and whinge about losing. Sky have the opportunity to play the game differently but don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,797 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Sky have their finger in the dam trying to scare off new users. I reckon they'd be shocked by how low a percentage of the 400k would sign up if dodge streaming stopped in the morning. Who really wants to be signing up listening to the likes of Keane, Neville and Richards. The best feature of all in IPTV is not having to use the Sky Sports feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,868 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Most users of IPTV can't afford Sky. They are not suddenly going to be able to pay for Sky if the IPTV feeds disappear.

And IPTV is here to stay. You won't find the supier, thru are well hidden through VPN.

You'll never get any discount remotely cheap enough or offering the same level of service that you get on a dodgy box though.

Not that I have one now, some of my best friends are dodgy box owners....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Yeah, I know this isnt related, I just tune in when the match is just kicking off, youtube at ht and turn off at end of match. I have eyes, i can make up my own mind about the match.

Im also a utd supporter so its generally a disaster anyway, dont need Keane and Scholes telling me how shite it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭moycullen14

I'm unclear as to what the offence is as a 'dodgy box' end-user. Just because I have the access to Sky channels, doesn't mean I watch them, so what am I doing wrong? No interest in football, cricket, F1, boxing, fishing(!), etc. I use the box as it's a very easy way to aggregate the mainly FTA channels that I watch (RTE, BBC, ITV, C4, etc). Also use it for streaming TV series - but that's nothing to do with Sky. Netflix, etc may have a case against me .. or Apple or Paramount but not Sky

So assuming Sky can show I have a dodgy box, how can they prove that I'm consuming any of their services? Plausible deniability, maybe?

I have 6000+ channels and I'd say I've only ever watched about 20 of them.

I pay (happy to do so) for Spotify because of its ease-of-use and the aggregation of services - music and podcasts - that I use. Great service that's well worth it. The business model between Spotify and the content providers may be a bit screwed up but that's nothing to do with me.

It's the proliferation of service providers that's wrecked it. No way people are going to fork out for multiple subscriptions. Sky, TNT, Apple, Amazon, Paramount, Disney and so on. I guess it's a land grab and they are all hoping to be the last man standing. Problem is, there might not be much of a business left at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭fish fingers

It is crazy money, then you have ads on top of that. Stremio for tv and movies, iptv for sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

And this is why the end user will never be chased, in the way Sky will try convincing people that they will be. The term “dodgy box” is used purposely throughout the media too. There is nothing dodgy about 99% of these boxes, they’re perfectly legitimate devices, Android plug in’s, Fire sticks, Chrome Casts etc…

The legal red tape of trying to incriminate individuals on what they have and have not streamed on these devices would be so much of nightmare that it would not be worth anyone’s time trying to investigate. If, tomorrow morning, a law came in that made all Fire-sticks and rest completely illegal to own, then there maybe some merits. But that’s not going to happen.

The only way the IPTV gets undone is if Sky themselves can find a technical solution and stop it a source. Chasing the providers is not even going to slow it, as there’ll always be another waiting in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,408 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

They have shown that they can't stop it really. Its like trying to hold back the wind.

When there is a real big match, or a big fight on, they have managed to target certain servers and taken them down just before it starts. This means that some users ( and by some i mean a tiny minority) will be affected for a short while, until the servers can be sorted or switched over. I have heard of a few cases of this happening, and the most that was missed was 3/4 of a first half of a football match.

The fact that it caused inconvenience and users to miss part of the game MIGHT be enough to make certain users think "bugger that, this iptv is ****, I'm going back to Sky" , but id say overall that will be a small number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭dublin49

do supporters of dodgy boxes acknowledge the current reality is someone else is paying for their viewing and if everyone decided to do the same as them there would be nothing to watch.We can call sky etc names and slag off their business model but

ultimately you cant really expect to take something for nothing and expect others to pay for it and think that will go on indefinitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Butson

I would think the last tv rights where Sky paid £6.7billion pounds is the last we will see of the huge money.

Either somebody else will come in, or Premier League will set up their own streaming platform.

I know somebody working in this business - they told me the two biggest countries for streaming in Europe (per head of population) were the Irish and Italians. Serie A has been hit hard by iptv, value of the rights is in trouble. The UK is actually not that bad for it, but increasing rapidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭jj880

Id say if "everyone decided to do the same" or even half decided to do the same Sky etc (or someone else taking their place) wouldn't be long coming up with cheaper / more targeted legit offerings and everyone whos been getting well overpaid would have to cut their cloth accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

I've never understood when anyone would really be against "dodgy boxes". Why does it matter to you if Sky make €200m profit or €100m profit?

As plenty have pointed out if IPTV went down tomorrow, most wouldn't be signing up to Sky so their target market aren't really the majority of "dodgy box" holders.

All I'd want Sky for is sports and not even all of them mainly football, some golf and F1, nothing else, so why should I have to pay for Sky Atlantic, Sky Arts, RTÉ, Dave, UKTV Gold and all that other shíte?

To be fair, that is the whole point of Now TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Banzai600

i dont watch football as an example, the money they are on is off the charts, its sickening really. thats another debate, but its madness.

we dont even watch anything of the irish sh1te on tv, nothing. And we dont watch tv not too much , but still pay a tv license ? for the rubbish they broadcast. rte and the thrash station that is tv-flee are pure muck. its like looking at someone who has gorged themselves on food, covered themselves with it, regurgitate the food, eat it again - sickening. Yeah, not for us.

we do have a couple of streams we pay for like netflix, but managed to get a deal. so dont mind that so much.

CH4 are great, news is informative and real, and you can get loads on their player from here.

Now TV which streams are often a couple of minutes behind real time? Find out about a goal from a text before it actually happens on their streams most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,408 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Simple solution to that, turn off your text notifications whilst watching the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

That’s not the issue however, 95% of people on dodgy boxes will not be paying for Sky regardless. If their IPTV was to go in the morning, they’ll not be rushing in to sign up.

I don’t have a “dodgy box”. Absolutely hate that term!! But not in a million years would I hand over my money to a terrible service such as Sky. And Sky’s model is inheritable broken, there’s not 1 young person I know that would even dream of signing up to such a model. It’s so outdated to them.

My sons for example all have app’s, legally mind you, and with the means of playing around with VPN’s they’ll watch any match they want from most leagues around the world.

People use the treat of “if Sky went in the morning” everyone would lose out. If Sky went in the morning, the streaming services would be all over it. EPL might not like price on offer, but that’s tough sh**e on them.

The have been inflating the market for the vastly overrated PL for far too long now, that I’m amazed this bubble has not burst yet! But Sky's will eventually, and I don’t think they have it within them to step into the streaming marked and dominate when it comes to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭Terrontress

It would be interesting to know what additional revenue sports broadcasting gets by additional viewers through iptv being shown their ads during pre-show and half time, and on pitch/track/ringside advertising boards.

So pay over the odds to watch something and have to limit my communication with friends who are also watching it and want to talk about it?

If we could meet up in person we would but this is the next best thing and is ruined by even legitimate sources ie. Now Tv being behind the actual event often by up to 2 minutes.

It hasn't burst yet because live sport is the last thing driving subscriptions. Everything else is watched on demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,385 ✭✭✭Allinall

if Sky went in the morning, who would provide the cameras and crews at matches to allow you to stream?

The law being broken is copyright infringement I'm pretty sure and just like I can't say "I didn't know I couldn't murder somebody" after I've done it, ignorance of the law is no defence!

There is no way the EPL will set up their own streaming service. Within about 5 minutes it would be on every such TV service! They will definitely adopt a "bird in the hand" approach albeit the direction of travel is a significantly reduced tender for the next football package from Sky, etc.

It'll be up to the clubs how to manage a vastly reduced income stream from TV rights but I'd say the parts of the world where a VPN or illegal streaming could land you in jail (e.g. China) must account for a huge chunk of the TV rights deal as well. Maybe they can afford to take a hit on the UK/Irish market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,389 ✭✭✭Esse85

When average players are on up to £350k a week, it's hard to justify paying extortionate prices for sky towards paying these players.

The greed of clubs and footballers drives up the cost of sky, which in turn then pushes ordinary people to look at alternative ways to watch their team play.