Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barbarity of drug pushers

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

When contraception was illegal Irish people still smuggled it from N.Ireland and England. When homosexuality was against the law, people still practised it, they didn't wait 'til it was legalised. I know they both didn't involve enriching criminals. The war on drugs was declared 50 years ago by Richard Nixon and they were illegal before then, drug-users have shown they're not going to wait 'til politicians end this insanity.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭johannmall

So bringing a pack of rubbers into the country is the equivalent of bringing a kilo of smack into the country, Jesus wept , the weed they sell today is now being treated with fentanal , what chance will kids have !

I didn't say that, a poster suggested people shouldn't use drugs 'til they're LEGAL but people still used contraceptives before the law was changed. Drug-users are doing the same. Your point about fentanyl in weed is another good reason why grass should be legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,731 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Legalising wont happen, so the champions of that particular warpath are wasting their time.

to have it manufactured properly in labs, packaged in proper packaging , tested, audited for quality , shipped / transported, machinery , training, outfitting, maintenance, … cost would be astronomical to the consumer … Whatever lab are going to be paying to cover serious overheads, manufacturing, staff, light, heat, security, pensions, health and safety, cleaners….too…

drug dealers have none of those issues… an out of the way barn…, false floor in the back of a transit and packed in shrink wrap and tinfoil.

Fair enough! But if you start with weed then it's a slippery slope to the greater gateway , I guarantee a crack or heroin addict started out on weed and progressed , there's an argument for legalisation in terms of the victims of crime used to fund habits or degrading your humanity to get a fix !

How will we all perish if drugs are legalised. They won't be compulsory, nobody will trick or force you to take them. That kid died because they're illegal.

Education only goes so far but when something that's illicit for a damn good reason is suddenly green lighted then how do you try to educate a kid on the horror of addiction, so yeah it's the rock well perish on !

"won't happen" I can remember Unionist politicians saying they wouldn't debate with terrorists (Sinn Fein) in TV studios, some time later Ian Paisley shared power with Martin McGuinness. If that can happen, then the legalisation of drugs should be very doable. Marijuana is already being legally produced in America and Canada, I can't see a reason why the same can't happen with other drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

They all started on booze and nicotine though.

Fair point ! But as like your namesake who enjoyed a pint of plain , it doesn't require shoplifting or other criminality to finance a couple of pints ! On nicotine, they should just stop growing tobacco and well just get through it !

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

What on earth are you on about. OTC medication, such as paracetamol, is cheap to buy, and goes through all of the stringent QA requirements.

Most of the drugs sold on the black market can be made far safer, cheaper and more controllable than what is happening now.

The first step is to #decrim the drug user. The next, gradually introduce a safe and regulated market, starting with cannabis. And then move on to other substances in a sensible way, that is informed by real data.

The biggest obstacle we face in trying to reduce harm is stigma, bigotry, and in this case Srumms, ignorance.

The vast vast majority of drug-users do not end up in prison, rehab or robbing OAPs. Think of the top rock bands, Hollywood actors, supermodels and senior business people who have used illegal drugs, Prince Harry admitted he took coke, there's evidence William Shakespeare took it too, I'll repeat, Robin Williams said "cocaine is God's way of saying you're earning too much money"

And who'll regulate these markets, really , a minister for scag , yokes & crack etc , are you fir real 😳

That's why when a muso/ artist does drugs its rocknroll but the ordinary man is a junkie , that cohort you mentioned had the luxury of very expensive rehab clinics and endless wealth to finance their addiction! I work close to a certain Eden Quay Lane way and watching a young girl go down on a total miscreant so as to score is utterly shocking and God forbid my own ever ended up in that way ! She's somebody's daughter !

I've used a few drugs and I don't have endless wealth, never been to rehab, nor am I an addict (the "J "word is a very insulting word to them and me). The girl you mentioned probably had issues in her life and took heroin to mask her problems. I read Rachel Keogh's book (a reformed heroin addict), she discovered through counselling the reason she took heroin was because her mother didn't bring her up, her grandmother did, felt unloved. Of course, hedonists like Keith Richards and Mick Jagger also took it.

We already have a minister of state for the National Drugs Strategy, Hildegarde Naughton, who has admitted trying cannabis

I heard the Kenny interview with that girl an appalling childhood, the majority of addicts I've met came from stable loving homes ! And I'm not criticising casual drug users , some people can like those you mentioned including two married MIT professors who experimented with pure mdma lived long fruitful lives but there's too many who don't & end up in a living hell & that's the outcome for the many , while you might like an occasional spliff I bet you've never mainlined horse !

Lol ! At least she inhaled ! Today's weed compared to when hilda tried it is way more potent , legalizing it says to kids that it's acceptable but the latter end of their formative years are going to lead to all sorts of psychosis!

No, 'cos I hate needles, that's why I have no tattoos but I did ice (crystal meth) in Thailand many years ago. The girl who introduced me to it took too much of it, neglected her kids, spent nearly all her money on it. I enjoyed the buzz/feeling but the after effects for me were horrible, no sleep, sex, couldn't eat or go to toilet properly and that's what put me off doing it too often or getting addicted, never did it in Ireland.

How is that going to be regulated ? You said yourself moving from weed to other substances , well meth sounds like a blast ! I apologise for the pontificating and what people do behind closed doors is their own business but kids have it hard enough already without having to battle what you're advocating !

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭BagofWeed

Shouldn't be getting drugs on tick, the fool.

It's a high risk but quick earning business with no end of willing customers so it attract lads who want fast or easy money and in an illegal market filled with shady characters who need to watch their backs for authorities those who get involved need to be tough and need to be willing to use violence so there we go an ideal industry for any violent hyperactive traveller who knows nothing else but dysfunction.

In my experience most regional town area dealers/suppliers will be informers for at least one of their area drug unit detectives, its a win win, dealer gets to do his thing and detective gets to bust lower rung dealers and users so he gets his promotions. Happy days ! Except for the community plagued with burglaries and robberies as the heroin addict needs money for his fix.

Tick is the pushers modus operande , so you'll never get out from under them , a miserable life of servitude, parasites, we need sentences that deter even for the teens they use !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,731 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And who pays for the extra lab infrastructure ? the staffing of it :)

Who pays for all of the extra infrastructure and staffing of new departments in the HPRA ?

where do we get all the extra services, from GPs, A&E coverage, inpatient coverage to deal with an upsurge in addiction ?

waiting lists right now are chronic and won’t be eased by many issues be faced by the country, population surging and this on top ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The whole treated with fentanal/LSD/skunk myth has propagated since the 80s. Weed is a cheap drug. At which point in the supply chain do you think somebody is going to fork money in order to have it laced with [insert hard drug]. That would essential wipe out any profit somebody had on the weed, plus remove their supply of fentanal to sell.

Slippery slope, gateways. LMFAO.

That sort of logic is pretty flakey. I guarantee if weed was removed there would be no fewer people on harder drugs. Tobacco is a much a gateway drug.

Or make it's the tea and coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,713 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Key lesson is don't owe money to drug dealers - especially if you've just made mammy and daddy pay off a 4 grand debt that had already been ran up. The person concerned should take responsibility - particularly since they seem to have had a bit of a history of not paying.

Well the amount of kids presenting with mental health issues from potent new strains of weed is fact , weed from the 80's and 90's wouldn't have anywhere near the thc levels of today's stuff , you can dismiss my point about it being a gateway but I guarantee you if you took a poll here on boards those who've tried class A will tell you they tried weed first !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,713 ✭✭✭✭maccored

and probably had a drink of wine as well before their 18th. .... does that make wine a gateway drug too? how about coffee? kids could be drinking that way before either wine or taking drugs - could coffee be a gateway drug?

Well I can tell I've upset the stoners, I'm waiting for the "nobody ended up in A&E from smoking a joint" , when the facts show that long term cannibas use has seriously detrimental effects on brain development, and flippant remarks about coffee are just that ! Would you advocate smoking weed to your kids ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,045 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The same people who pay for the kinahins lavish lifestyle in Dubai. You're saying it as if there's no profit being made in the illegal drug industry which couldn't be diverted to making it illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Can you provide some evidence that weed is causing mental health issues in kids. Seeing as its a fact. There's also more people identifying mental health issues that don't take drugs. In general mental heath identification and treatment has improved.

People having tried weed first doesn't mean weed led to class A drugs. People probably tried a cigarette before either. Are cigarette a gateway to class A? The cigarette industry has done far more harm to people than potent new strains of weed - and being more potent just means a lower dose to get high. It doesn't create some new extra plane of highness.