Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory Gallagher - A dismissed case that was dealt with and brought to attention? Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

He said they were assessed by the authorities and dismissed? Did you read it?

Did they say there was evidence of assault?

You're just gossiping.

I'm sticking to the facts as established by people in positions more qualified than me. If people more qualified than me come up with more evidence, I'll gladly be more informed.

Chilling effect - I wouldn't respond to that nonsense... hahahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,914 ✭✭✭Gusser09

The GAA wagons are circling.

To read the two statements and to come to the conclusion that the man didnt do anything and she is lying says a lot about you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,902 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Maybe I have missed it, but I do not see where there was any investigation by the Garda, or any mention of a file being sent to the DPP here.

He was involved with Donegal GAA from 2011 until around 2019. Far as I know he was manager of a supermarket in Killybegs during those years and up until quite recently. He was, as far as I know, living in Donegal during those years and still is.

He says his marriage broke up in 2019, so I imagine the family was living in Donegal during the years 2011 until 2019, so I do not get why he would have looked for custody in two jurisdictions, or if there was any complaint here against him for child services to consider when it came to custody.

Never said anything to that affect. You're ascribing words I didn't write to me. I repeated news reports based on the ddp and a family court ruling.

Never used the words you've written.

Are you okay?

Yeah looks like he’s playing the mad woman card , she said she was beaten since she was 18 which might not be good for the mental health

• Registered Users Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭celt262

And no mention of Gardai, the two instances she mentioned were not in the jurisdiction of the police.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭cms88

The issue is the real story isn't important in cases like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Strange how you give the "public opinion" of Rory Gallagher and not of Nicola. Plenty of stories about her and her actions especially when drinking.....

This whole scenario is poisonous. But I will play Devils advocate and look at it from the other side.

First sentence. "I tired to remove my name but couldn't" so she claims she is unable to go into Facebook and change her name...... She shouldn't have to change her name but to claim she couldn't is not credible. Also she would be changing her surname from "Gallagher" a name she still keeps belonging to the person who inflicting so much damage on her (allegedly)

Third Sentence. I'm writing this to protect other women. A few days out from a Ulster Final.... To inflict the most amount of damage on the person she is writing about.... Reminds me of the time in Galway a young lad was running in the General election and his ex girlfriend (fair play to her) released a statement of his violence and he had to resign from his party and withdraw form the election. Maximum damage. Maximum revenge. This is not about other women. It's revenge.

And the last part where a lot of people "in the know" struggle with this story. Nicola claims to have attended Hospitals, Doctor surgeries on numerous occasions. The notes of these visits are easily accessible to her and even her GP could testify on her behalf (not on how it happen but on the injuries sustained). How with these records/Testimony/Witnesses could the DDP then decide not to prosecute. I do not see how if this went to a court of law anyone would not believe someone if medical evidence was presented to show the type of injuries sustained and the frequency of the the visits to hospital/GP. But yet two occasions they decide not to proceed.

In my eyes this is the Irish version of Johnny Depp and Amber heard. No one is innocent.

Only the kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

They were not dismissed. He was arrested twice. The PSNI looked to prosecute him but the prosecution service felt there wasn't enough evidence to get a conviction. That is very different to being dismissed, but you already know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,640 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The fact that this thread is in the GAA forum rather than current affairs is probably the reason you're seeing these sort of responses.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,109 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Did anyone see the other whatsapp messages floating around that gave a counter view to the story and essentially painted her in a bad light?

It was a screenshot taken from a whatsapp group that a friend of mine happens to be on (who couldn't live further from the community). Whoever took the screenshot was careful to scribble out the name of the fella who forwarded on the messages regarding her but someone elses name and number within the group was clearly visible when it ended up on twitter.

Said fella was receiving anonymous phone calls and got text messages throughout Wednesday evening presumably from people trying to glean more info thinking he was in the know when he was an innocent by-stander.

Whatever the truth is, and its a sad story no matter the circumstances with three kids involved, that **** shows how dangerous social media can be.

Post edited by castletownman on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Personally I think Derry GAA should ask him to step aside for the Ulster final for the sake of his team.

That gives them 2 weeks before the next match to gather as much details as they can and make a decision to either sack him or back him - if he's unable to convince the county board that he has never touched his wife (which would need to be more than just "Well, I was never prosecuted for it"), then he'd have to go.

On a file being sent to the DPP - my understanding is that every investigation ends with a file being sent to the DPP and it contains whatever evidence was gathered and the DPP makes a decision based on that. A file being sent in itself doesn't imply that there was some evidence but just not enough evidence (e.g. it could just be an uncorroborated statement) AFAIK.

Victim blaming is still a strong defence for some people.

"Probably outraged feminists too"

Do you have to be a feminist to be outraged by this story?

Just to clarify. Im a GAA man. Have been all my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I don't think Derry GAA should ask him to stand aside.

While it doesn't look good at all, I don't think the GAA should be taking actions based on Facebook posts. It is indeed the job and specialism of the police to investigate these things.

Also it is not new information...maybe it is new in the public domain, but the relevant people will have been interviewed during their investigation.

Me too.

But I coach my daughter's GAA team and we have more female players than male. This issue is now way bigger than whether Rory Gallagher did or did not beat his wife.

The GAA need to get on top of this, and by that I mean Croke Park, the Ulster lads cannot be trusted with this.

Otherwise we'll have a Paddy Jackson scenario on our hands.

I think the guy needs to deny and reject the individual accusations leveled at him. And my opinion is that there is a reason why he isn't or won't do that. Especially if there were witnesses to them that can then hang him essentially. It's not good for anyone and the children will suffer the most. Unfortunately this lady felt she had to go down this route. Probably felt as if she was the one being victimised and if she was abused for years that would have caused her to snap.

I'm not sure what Derry GAA do to be honest. If it were me and I was a Derry GAA supporter I wouldn't sit right with him on the line to be honest. They will have no contractual arrangements with him so legally they will be fine there. The guy was arrested twice for domestic abuse. Twice.

As dangerous as social media can be it's good that potential low life characters who get away with a conviction because of a lack of evidence can be outed.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jackal

Strange to see anybody think that an unproven accusation put on a social media platform, especially by someone that by their own admission has problems with alcohol should be a resigning matter for the party accused.

The accusations could be true, partially true or entirely untrue, I have no idea, it’s just some social media post.

It does not ‘demand’ a certain reaction from the accused party or else they are guilty.

Probably the first thing they did was talk to solicitors and playing out a game of ‘he said she said’ on social media is likely not a route any solicitor would advise.

This has played out before in other cases and more often than not ends up in a fawning apology by the accuser, who has put in writing things that assassinate somebodies character without having the proof to back it up.

I know nothing beyond what has been printed. Given some of the absolutely deranged stuff people post as ‘fact’ on social media I would not be inclined to believe everything I read there.

He was arrested twice. It is common knowledge in the local area.

But look. Leave him off. He's a top bloke.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭whats_my_name

On a night out many moons ago around 2013/14 & Rory Gallagher was in the vicinity...a bit of an altercation broke out with himself and another man...the man squared up to him & said "you can bate the wife but you can't bate me"...was always perplexed by the statement but makes sense now!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,075 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I don't think it's just the GAA wagons.

It's also some other kind of wagon that I find hard to put a word on but it's something that seems to support a certain type of person in these cases.

Remember the case where a number of Ulster rugby players were acquitted of rape?

The general theme of posts here was that they were acquitted, nothing possibly could have happened and in some cases people suggested that their accusor should be charged with flase rape claims

Then remember the case of TV and radio host Al Porter.

Porter, happens to be gay and had a very camp persona.

He was accused of molesting someone. And as soon as the news broke he stepped down from his media roles and the pile on started.

And unlike the rugby case the attitude here was very different, Porter was a guilty as can be and that was that.

In the end no one ever made a formal complaint against Porter, but people still regard him as guilty.

So what are the differces between the rugby players, Gallagher and Porter?

The rugby players and Gallagher are sportsmen, strong both physically and in personality, " macho" for the use of a better word, a "mans man", role models that can be looked up to by boys and men.

Porter on the other hand is a camp f****t. He's another annoying media head, he's not in the same league as the others.

As I said I don't know what to call it but it's a trend I've noticed on these threads over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭cms88

This is absolutely fair, and as long as Gallagher said nothing, he could use this angle.

However, he then issued a public statement of his own in which he completely failed to deny a single one of the allegations. That was absolutely bananas, it's just pouring petrol on the fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

The village where she lives, Belleek, has come out in support of her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

This is outrageous.

Like many other people, I took the allegations at face value and assumed they were true. But then it emerges that despite all these incidents she says took place, there wasn't even enough evidence for it to go to court.

I'm sorry, but Gallagher is entitled to be presumed innocent and treated as such.

Society is going into a dark place, if a person claims to be a victim the person they make accusations against can have their life destroyed, even if there is no wrongdoing or no evidence of wrongdoing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Charlie69