Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy to step down from Late Late role when season ends

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Juran

Amazing that RTE couldn't find anyone from Ireland for the job. Is lack of talent or is it that the talent we have, have more sense, as the show is so outdated ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Tubs could be excellent on This Morning. Best of luck to Kielty.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,425 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Will be great to see the back of Tubridy on the LLS.

Such a false, cynical, lazy and weak broadcaster, he has been stealing a living for years.

Off with him - his era cannot end quick enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,898 ✭✭✭squonk

Haven’t heard his north show but presumably RTE would let him have a studio to work from for the show and he could head home later on in the day. If I was him I wouldn’t sideline a BBC gig no matter what RTE gave me. He’s right to keep doing it.

He's the first presenter not from Dublin! Kielty will probably bring a new focus and a Northern edge to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭techman1

and the fact he lives in London will give it that edge again , he will bring an international flair to it because he is living in London he will have a much wider angle. The LLS show had become very parochial and inward looking, too focussed on the minutae of Dublin

So true but that could have been the background team. Might need a change there too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Can someone please send Ryan 2 free voodoo dolls - 1 Patrick Kielty doll and 1 Tommy Tiernan doll

Oh, and a free packet of pins too

Ta

Yea, in fairness to Ryan I think that was the main problem he was captured by all the background people. It would have been way worse under Claire Byrne , the fact she lives in laois and everything it would have descended into parochialism and misery porn

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭forumdedum

Yes. I remember Kielty in running to replace Pat Kenny. Then was very surprised when Tubs was announced

Just thinking this is a geveral

good news day. It’s really tge first time any of the RTE crew have been called on their BS tgst they’re being so highly paid because if they weeebt somebody else would pay them what they’re worth and they’d walk. Well now! If you can’t step up to host the biggest TV Talk Show in a small market what does that say for you? Halves tge salaries of D’Arcy, CB, Duffer and Miriam. It’s obvious nobody ride really wants them. Good luck to PK.

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

I don't really think changing the host will make a blind bit of difference .... they may change the host .... shorten its duration ... maybe its number of weeks .... they could have the first guests spending the night on the couch rather than leaving .... but the problem is the guests will remain the same .... Vogue ... Imelda ... ex boybanders ... Operation Transformers ... Dancers with the Stars ... Luv Islanders ... etc ... etc ...

I think the only reason Patrick Kielty got it is because no one from Republic of Ireland broadcasting wants it .... like the Eurovision it is now considered toxic to your career prospects !!! Kielty is good at what he does for other channels .... but I don't think he or anyone can save this turkey as long as the same old guests are continued ... Pat Kenny and Ryan Tubridy are proof of that .... 2 total opposite personalities who more or less continued the same show with the same guests/type of guests .... this turkey has been dead a long time and both Kenny and Tubridy found that out ....

It’s only perceived as toxic because of tubs PR, in reality it will be a massive improvement

• Registered Users Posts: 33,355 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Not a bad result really. Kielty is Irish but being from the North and having made his career in England is removed enough to have what I hope will be a more objective / cynical / wry take on the kind of stuff he will have to oversee on the Late Late Show. In that way he's the closest to Gay Byrne yet. Gay knew how to play up to the uniquely Irish weirdness but always with a knowing wink. Unlike Tubridy, who revelled in it unironically, like an over enthusiastic curate at a parish bingo night.

Kielty is a stand up comic who made a tv career for himself in the UK and married Cat Deely. Not bad at all. The guy has something about him. I'll give him a chance!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭RoTelly

That question is written into all Irish interviewer contracts when talking to anyone from outside Ireland. They can also start it by saying "So, you've been in Dublin a few weeks, what you think?" or "Is this your first time in Ireland" or "You were up around _My Home County_ lovely people up there" or "So will I see you _in some random pub_"

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Yeah we need to get over ourselves. You never heard the UK heavyweights carrying on with that. I mean you’d even be justified in asking as a UK host as London is a proper cosmopolitan city with genuine celebs knocking around and some fantastic spots to be in.

It’s like we want to be validated and have our tummies rubbed which is all you’re really angling for with that old rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,429 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Jamie Lee

I think the bitching about Kielty has already started in RTE. Their main angle of attack is that Kielty will need to fly in every week and that will push up RTEs carbon total. Suddenly Dee forbes is going on big time about RTE needing to reduce its CO2 emissions, why is she so concerned all of a sudden, isn't she out the door herself shortly?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,754 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It'll be the boat train to Holyhead for poor old PK at this rate 🙂

• Registered Users Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Yeah but earned a mint out of it in the meantime and left their paymasters to figure out the fraud on the public in their own good time 😛

• I remember that too, at the time my mother asked “who on earth is Patrick Kielty?” He was an unknown, that’s why they didn’t use him.

Get rid oh Joe Duffy, between his jag not being on site and less on air farting, burping and talking shîte, it’d count as a massive reduction in the organisations CO2 levels by itself!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭sporina

jaysus what a depressing show..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭sporina

i don't think he likes the Vesper

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭forumdedum

Was possibly better known than Tubridy at the time? Was likely better, wouldn't be hard

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

It is hard to know how much of the problems with the LLS was Tubridy ... and how much of it was the poor entertainment era we are currently locked into for the past 15-20 years and counting ... the current era sucks when it comes to entertainment and as much as one may be tempted to blame all on Ryan Tubridy the reality is so much bad stuff goes on whether Tubridy is there or not .... we have the blandest modern country music and boybands scaling heights of fame they do not deserve ... we have had Luv Island and Big Brudder force fed down our throats whether we like it or not ... we have even had that reality TV US president and he was the worst of all time thus far .... a guy by the name of Trump .... we have had every mediocre podcaster and influencer scaling the heights of fame too ... and we have had the RTE canteen and their latest TV shows promo-ed all the time ... Tubridy was in the thick of it all but would it not have happened without him? I doubt if things would have been different if there never had been a Ryan Tubridy .... the same old same old modern disposable 'entertainment' culture would remain ... reality TV has truly destroyed all entertainment and is a deadly TV pandemic .... changing the host of the LLS will NOT stop any of this poor culture .... if anything, this culture will only get worse and the guests just are not there anymore ... mostly because of the obsession with reality 'stars' .....

The problem is London is no better than Dublin or anywhere else ... the pandemic that is reality TV has infected everywhere ... since Big Brudder launched in 1999 it is one worse reality show after another .... the fact that Patrick Kielty presented Luv Island hardly gives out hope regarding change to this dominance of the worst TV genre of all time ... ironically the internet has made the entire world more parochial ...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,374 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ireland Dumbest finished in Sunday. RTE must be delighted as it saved them shooting themselves in the foot for the next 10-15 years.

TBH the contestants were great. It was just the stupid format and the wooden presenter

Slava Ukrainii