If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

VW ID.2all concept

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭mailforkev

This is the redesign, they tried a concept that looked a bit quirky, the ID Life, and potential customers no likey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Would you consider the Renault 5 to be in the same category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Mr Q

Just so we know, what super exciting car are you driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Very interesting interview here with Kai Grünitz, a member of VW design board

We've finally got a few numbers worth sharing, I'm guessing a bunch were copied and pasted from the Cupra Raval

Motor 169kW (226hp) FWD, apparently a different motor to the AP550 that's now in the RWD ID cars

Acceleration 0-100km/h in under 7s

Battery sizes 38kWh and 56kWh, no mention of whether that's gross or net, but VW tend to quote the latter

WLTP Range 450km with the bigger battery, giving a consumption of 12.45kWh/100km

Charging 125kW peak DC, 11kW max AC (presumably 7kW max on single phase, same as every other ID car)

Obviously the €25k price tag will be for the smaller battery and probably slower charging and less powerful motor. Overall though it seems like an excellent offering

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Miscreant

I will be shocked if they put a 226hp motor in the ID2, they barely do that for the current ID3 or ID4 unless you pay through the nose. More likely will be a "detuned" one so you can pay an extra few thousand for the full fat version.

The rest of the specs seem reasonable. In my eyes, the 450km mark is about right for an EV as it gives you a decent ability for long distances in Ireland and less need for public charging as a result.

It does look like a good overall package though but I will believe the €25k price tag when I see it. Every manufacturer has been banging on about this price point for years and none of them have managed it. Sure, the current Polo starts at €25650 for the base model and is only 3mm longer than the ID2All (in width and height, the Polo is actually smaller). Time will tell but I always take predicted prices with a pinch of salt until I see them on the forecourt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Yeah I suspect that the full 226hp will be reserved for a GTi variant later

The promised price is of course the price in Germany, we'll see how much it magically grows by once it arrives here

But, if they can get the base spec close to the promised €25k mark then I think it'll sell very well here. VW has a very loyal brand following here and I think the concept is a lot closer to the "typical" VW look than the ID.3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Another look at the ID.2. I doubt the final car will be as flashy as this and unlikely €25k, but in terms of size it seems similar to Golf inside but in a Polo footprint. Possibly better as Thomas could sit behind himself, I can't even attempt that behind my driving position in the Golf.

Nice to keep the practicality for a baby seat or adults in the back without being another fat crossover.

Autocar reporting the design of the "final" ID.2 is complete

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/2025-volkswagen-id-2-will-be-even-better-concept

Apparently it's even better than the concept. I imagine this is actually quite an easy task since the concept wasn't a car for sale on the open market 🤔

Anyway, it seems a lot of the concept ideas made it into the final design so it could be good. They said the same thing about the ID.3 though so we'll wait and see

There seems to be some confusion over sales start. It looks like VW may have pulled in the date to early 2025 after reports they were going to push it out

The €25k price tag hasn't moved, although that'll be for the base 38kWh model. I imagine it'll be classic VW with dozens of options and the price goes up quickly. I expect the 56kWh version will be well north of €30k

I'd say there'll also be a few digital unlocks on top for more power, and some services. I'm fine with those as long as there's a permanent unlock option for a one time fee and you aren't stuck with a subscription model (looking at you Mercedes)

I do think it'll be a winner for fans of the Golf and Polo who weren't convinced about the ID.3

Article about the Cupra Raval (Rebel?) test mule being spotted

It's basically the same as the ID.2 but not much to see under the camo, but a few interesting tidbits

https://www.carscoops.com/2024/09/vw-id-2-based-cupra-raval-is-spains-answer-to-the-mini-cooper-e/

Most interesting things to me are the 226hp, and the charge port at the front drivers side. At least it'll keep the Tesla owners happy when using a supercharger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭The 1922 Committee

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/volkswagen-begins-testing-%C2%A322k-id-2-hatch-ahead-2026-arrival

Production of Cupra Raval and Id.2 starts in March or April of next year. Early mules were running under an Id.3 shell with motor moved forward. Sketches of interior indicate that dashboard layout is similar to Id 3 so apart from being front wheel drive it should be very similar to id.3 in feel which is a good thing. It will be larger inside and out than a Renault 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭PaulRyan97

Car is being renamed the "Polo" or "ID. Polo" it would seem.

Some more info here including pictures of the camouflaged prototypes

https://www.electrive.com/2025/09/03/volkswagen-id-2-becomes-id-polo/

Unfortunately it comes with bad news, final car won't be presented until May 2026 with sales start in Autumn of that year

No more info on specs beyond the maximum 450km range and 166kW power in the gti model

I'm also not happy about this whole ID.2 versus ID.Polo business

VW bosses seem to have a lot of hate for the ID cars, in particular saying that they don't "qualify" to use the Polo or Golf names until they delivered the same experience

To me that means the ID.3 needs to be made significantly worse but perhaps I'm jaded

I suppose I shouldn't be surprised, the ID cars were designed under Herbert Deiss and he isn't spoken of in VW anymore

Also, as I mentioned elsewhere, the ID.3 didn't sit well with the traditional Golf owners and they didn't see as many customers converting over to electric

So maybe going back to their roots is a good move, and I do admit the ID.Polo is quite good looking IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

All things going to plan I reckon we'll replace our Polo with one of these. Would prefer to wait for the GTI, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭sk8board

didn’t VW always say the ID moniker was a halfway house to use before it fades into the background and becomes the Polo, Golf etc.

I can understand them not wanting to touch the Golf until the ID3 is ready to replace it - the golf had always been sacrosanct.

The problem now is that petrol isn’t going way for a while longer than expected, so ICE Golfs will still be popular for years to come.

even though the golf and ID3 are around a few years each now, the golf is outselling the ID3 exactly 4:1 here in Ireland (2250 v 560)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

Irish sales figures mean jack **** in the grand scheme of things. It's what happens in their big markets that counts.

The ICE golf will continue to be sold for another few years however the 2030s decade will be when new ICE cars including the golf are put out to pasture.

I think you’re missing the point - VW will always sell a ‘Golf’ model, it just won’t be full EV until it needs to be, and the ID3 fills the gap until they get it right.

as for the Irish market, I’m just pointing out that the Golf sells more volume in Ireland than any EV of any kind, and they don’t even advertise it. I’m sure it does the same in its other markets.

The EU 2030/35 ICE ban is 100% certain sure to be pushed out, simply because of the geopolitical situation with China and the US

They seem to have been on and off about that

As I mentioned Herbert Deiss seemed to be pushing for the whole range to be modermised and the old Golf and Polo names to be retired

This didn't really seem to sit well with the typical VW customer base and management

I agree that calling the ID.3 the ID.Golf would probably have not helped at all. As I mentioned, Golf owners tend to just want a newer Golf and nothing different. Even the latest generation of Golf has faced a lot of criticism

I don't particularly like this attitude from VW that the ID range was a bit of a mistake. They're good cars and it was refreshing to see VW try some different styles

Anyway, we now have an ID.Polo and ID.Cross so presumably we'll see the ID.3, 4 and 7 turned into the ID.Golf, ID.Tiguan and ID.Passat in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

My only issue with the idea of an EV Golf or Polo is the shared platform shite, the ID.3/Born is significantly more practical than a Golf in the same size footprint. That's important to me as I like driving and I want a hatchback. I'd be very disappointed to see a new generation ID.3/Born get bigger. The EV Kona wasn't as practical as it could have been by being on a shared platform.

If the ICE is phased out and turned into an ID.Golf then I don't care but I'm pretty sure there's a big market for VW in parts of Asia/India, Brazil etc so I'm not sure how they'd get around that without doing an ICE Golf and ID.Golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

I'm not missing the point. What I meant was the golf ice will be put out to pasture with the EV version taking over.

They're still using the MEB platform for the EVs, just a shrunk down version with FWD

So it'll still be an EV specific platform with a Polo skin covering it

The MEB platform is actually more like a shared architecture than a physical platform. That's how they can have a bunch of different car models with different dimensions sitting on the same set of parts.

As far as I know the ICE platform (MQB?) is the same idea so it's kind of plausible you could have the same shell sitting on 2 different platforms. VW have factories all over the world so they should be able to manage parallel EV and ICE vehicles of the same model

I think the next platform (SSP) is what the ID.Golf will be based on. The major difference is a thinner battery so the resulting car sits lower

fair enough, but with the 2035 ICE ban clearly not going to happen, you’re describing 10-15 years into the future at the very minimum, which would potentially be Golf mk10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 GasolineAlley

ID.2 Polo, Raval and Skoda Epiq have similar width to ID.3(around 1810mm) which means three fit in the back unlike the Renault 5 or Corsa.

Even the ID.1 Up will be similarly wide too.

That'd be good for the ID.Polo, but I'd actually call it a drawback for the ID.1

Part of the attraction of small cars like the Up is they can fit into gaps that other cars struggle to

Such as multi-story car parks with pillars in the spaces. Or creative lane keeping in Dublin City 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭joe1303l

I think a lot of e-Golf drivers would consider that the ID.3 was a bit of a disappointment other than it gave bigger battery options. A MK 8 Golf EV with decent range may have been far more successful in hindsight. At the time the ID.3 was being developed, cost cutting was a significant influence.

True, although its worth remembering the Mk 8 Golf wasn't well received by drivers either at first. VW was very much in cost saving mode at the time

The main issue as I underunderstand it is that the MEB platform needs the underfoor battery to get the desired range, and this pushes the height of the car beyond what would be typical for a Golf

Do I think the average buyer would particularly know or care? Probably not, but Golf fans can be a pretty puritanical bunch in my experience

the market was ID3 was probably never really going to be Golf drivers - speaking as a 5-time golf owner. It was just too much of a departure from what a Golf ‘is’.

Just thinking back through our last 2 mk8 Golfs, we never even considered an ID3 for a single second. The garage never even discussed one either.