Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs and Clubs to get longer opening hours

1171819202123»

• Registered Users Posts: 25,714 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

You've obviously not had to recruit and retain hospitality staff recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭TokTik

What deal? Why would there be a deal? You do your job, as normal, for the hours you’re rostered in for.

Why would hospitality staff be working for An Garda Siochana??

• Registered Users Posts: 17,665 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I love the irony of a full public health impact report being needed for late opening hours while for minimum unit pricing it was just a case of "yeah this will cost everyone more but we think it will be grand cus think of the children" meanwhile scotland is showing a marked increase in hard drug problems across all ages including children since its introduction.

Scrapping this bill is just typical reactionary and regressive conservative nonsense from the 50+ age group who despise young people being able to enjoy themselves.

Meanwhile in Germany they already have staggered late opening hours with no issues and have just legalised weed while we think going the other direction is a good idea. Cant wait for my next stag in Berlin, dont imagine many will be coming or even staying here in the future and whether people like it or not they are a boon to the economy among other various forms of tourism which scrapping this will absolutely have a negative impact on.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Well they wouldn't be would they.

The overnight hospitality provided by AGS is nobody's first choice 🙂

Yes, MUP currently costing modest drinkers a few hundred per year was another FG pro pub wheeze that morphed into a health measure based on a wing and a prayer.

Now FG needing an easy win are at it again and this time it's the late night drinkers in the firing line.

I think there’s some confusion here. Someone asked how would we get the Gardai to police the new opening hours, I said they should be told to go out and do what you’re paid for, on the shift you’re scheduled for?

Yes I noticed that.

The members of AGS may possibly find their job easier with the staggered (no pun intended) closing times.

You would imagine so. Instead of every person in Dublin flung out at the same time, I reckon with a staggered closing time it would be a lot easier to manage. A few quick response cars dealing with various incidents at different times rather than having to control everything all at once.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,714 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

It's not only the guards who will have to staff extended hours. It's hospitality, chippers, taxis / public transport, hospital as well. They are ALL still having staffing problems. Guards are the least problematic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭CorkRed93

Oh no the chipper won't be able to stay open for the 4 nightclubs that'll be availing of 6am closing times for their ticketed events. Let's not bother doing it at all

• Registered Users Posts: 24,515 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The very very simple solution then is to not stay open for the extended hours if you don't have the staff.

Allowed opening hours are not mandatory opening hours and it's time the Irish copped on to this.

As for transport the public transport already finishes before nightclubs so that won't need to change and taxies are already 24 hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,665 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

All problems other european citites with real night life culture have figured out solutions to, either we want cities with a vibrant culture spanning all hours of the day or we don't. Seems like you don't why is that exactly?

Also if the money is there businesses will figure out the staffing. And he idea of staggered closing times is to stop the need of A&Es as people all wont be turfed out onto the streets at the same time causing issues, likewise with public transport and taxis.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The reason people drink at home is because of cost of drink iñ pubs, restaurants and clubs..Ya the odd late house party may not happen but in general longer opening hours means dearer pints so it encourages more home drinking.

The other reason drinking moved from ordinary pubs to houses is atmosphere, because of drink driving laws ( and I am not complaining about them) people who drove to work had either to stop drinking later in the night nearer closing time and as pubs were quite between 7-9pm they tend to have a few cans at home.

30+ years ago the difference between a can bought in and off licence and a pint was miniscule now its a minimum of half the price and can be as low as a quarter or a third.

A bottle of wine in a restaurant is 2-4 times the price in an off licience

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii