Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croi Conaithe (Towns) - Vacant Property Refurbishment Grant

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭MikeSoys

I've never done anything like this before no no clue about costing. I've an old farmhouse not lived in since 1970s but it has water going to back door tap and electricity. No toilet and windows just about staying in.ive been patching up roof slates myself(slates falling off).

The whole roof needs to be redone, chimney repair, windows, doors, floors, plastered, rewired, install septic some form of heating etc

How much does the grant cover for a basic refurbishment.

I'm literally thinking of doing a basic refurbishment.. on a old 2 story stone farm house? 20%, 50%... 70%?? Trying to get an idea of money involved. I would not be too handy but likely do painting myself.

Approx size of farm house(house is showing on griffith's valuation maps so it's old) 20ft x 46ft, 2story house(2nd story added I believe in 1940s)

Would say €1500 per square meter give an good idea of costing?

Post edited by MikeSoys on

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭Dozz

@MikeSoys If you have been vacant for 2 or more years you can get €50k, if it has been deemed derelict for 2 or more years you can get €70k

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭MikeSoys

Thanks yes defo should get €50k .. I believe it should cost around €1,600-€2000 a sq meter to do a proper refurbishment. So will do costing research to see cost vs affordability

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Joebobs