Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long until we see €2 a litre and will it push more to EV's faster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

I was in Limerick city this morning and half the petrol stations weren't displaying prices..what's going on there??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭Miscreant

They would argue that the price is on the pump so technically they are complying with regulations. Could also be that they are afraid to display the prices seeing as there is an awful lot of monitoring and complaining going on from the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭crisco10

He must have got a whopper of a deal on the petrol Kona so, according to https://www.hyundai.ie/hyundai-price-list/ even if you compare the lowest spec ICE Kona to the highest spec (passenger) EV Kona, the difference is only €14.5k. Comparing the lowest spec EV to lowest spec ICE drops the difference to €6k. 5 years servicing on an EV would probably cost about €500 if even.

Fair enough that petrol isn't for you, which I assume based on your username is due to bigger mileage. In which case you should probably be exceeding the 16k annual break even point regularly. ;-) For us, diesel didn't work due to driving patterns.

Re residuals on EVs, bit of a dark art alright. But the better more modern leafs/ionics etc have held value well (even before the recent insanity on 2nd hand market!). Most EVs have separate battery warranty. E.g. on that Kona mentioned above it's 8 year (160k km). Motors are simple machines so shouldn't be an issue based on experience in other industries. So if you were trading in a 5 year old Kona, it would be out of warranty for car, but still have 3 years left on battery warranty. I would expect that to help maintain the price to an extent.

I've said it elsewhere and I'll say it again, I think the primary perception that EVs are expensive actually comes from there being no significantly sized 2nd hand market. And what there is (as you mention) has mad prices for 2nd hand at the moment - but that's across the industry not EV's specifically.

Another negative use case against EV's; if you are the type to change (new to new) car every 3 years, you will keep getting hit with Capex and limited time to make the Opex savings so in that case it mightn't work. But that's always an expensive way to fund motoring so not sure that market segment is particularly price sensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Our Leaf has about 130000km on it. Range now is about 120km. Used to get 160km. Fair few rattles and creaks coming out of it too which are all the more noticeable with no engine noise. Still a great runaround though. But we do have a diesel too as the EV just cant do everything. If I only had one car i would have a diesel. With 2 cars one EV makes sense.

To be fair the lowest spec ev is a bit crap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Indeed there are umpteen clueless people moaning about something they don't understand. Even Michael Martin moaning about a subject he knows nothing about.

I am involved in a totally different business where items purchased take about 6 months to get to the shelf. Sometimes when the prices rise we happen to have a full warehouse to keep us going for a year or so but the competitor has nothing or very little in stock.

So, to simplify it, the guy with the full warehouse can sell at a higher price, or leave the price low forcing the other guy to sell at cost for months.

But these things work swings and roundabouts so its best increase the price incrementally, and use the extra cash to build up liquidity reserves so when the shoe is on the other foot you have cash in the bank to respond.

Its similar with petrol, hedge your cash in these volatile markets.

Its about lots of things, and cash flow is about the most important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭appledrop

Right so government brings in decent cut yet two garages I passed still charging 199.9 which is just insulting.

Do they think people are stupid!

Please dont insulting my intelligence by saying ah don't know what price they bought it at blah, blah, blah.

When the prices increase the prices change at the pumps overnight or even that day, but when prices go down how come we are not seeing the change straight away?

Simple they are ripping people off.

Government needs to come up with better system to make sure savings are been passed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Coddle4dinner

Are you telling porkies about your mate saving 20k ?

Not at all. Thats what he told me. To quote him as closly as i can remember, "We were going for the 64kw kona electric as the smaller battery wouldnt suit our needs, so we looked around again at other electric and petrol cars and we went for the Kona petrol for nearly €20k less".

The only people telling porkies are the ones saying they got a brand new Nissan leaf for €17k and that it only costs €60 to €90 a year in servicing. But as we all know, people who buy into a concept will just make stuff up to convince them they made the right decision and everyone else is wrong. The EV community is exactly like that.

Ive lost count of the amount of times ive been waiting to get a charge and the other people also waiting would be saying oh, usually i never have to wait. And then youd meet them waiting again the following week and they would be saying the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Seems like horrible timing for that government intervention

Just be swallowed up

Ah so he saved himself 20k by buying the lowest level Kona over the highest level kona.

Fair enough

Its like saving yourself 30k by buying a 1L golf instead of the golf R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Pass At lease 7 petrol stations to day not one price reduction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭crisco10

Even then 20k off the 64kW Kona is still €18/19k which is more than €5k less than the lowest spec ICE Kona (€24k). Still a fair bit of a gap in the numbers, or else they got a great deal of some sort on the ICE (which is possible).

I'd say jimmy's buddy looked at the prices and he realized he doesn't have 43K to spend on a car so he bought the the cheapest one to get a new reg.

Then he told jimmy and the lads down in the pub that he saved himself 20k (20k he never had).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Like no surprise seemed stupid government just looking like there doing something

Now maybe when prices stabilized they could step in

But they did step in, and reduced excise.

Prices are stabilising partly because of the excise cut and part due to prices on global markets falling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Tesco clarehall diesel €1.80 a liter ,all others near by seem to be €1.99

A good opportunity for Tesco to start offering money off petrol / diesel vouchers when you spend x amount on food .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭mikeecho

TD claims petrol prices could reach €3.50 a litre in Ireland within weeks

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/td-claims-petrol-diesel-prices-26435324#ICID=Android_IrishMirrorNewsApp_AppShare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

That's mental. And if you bought from a place and mentioned to others. It could be different price later that day.

Total scaremongering. If that happened people across the globe would slash consumption and oil would fall again.

Remember the start of covid, we all got on fine with less driving for a while and oil prices collapsed.

Went for a spin there, cheapest place has gone up since yesterday. The two I regularly pass (both owned by the same guy) who were taking the piss have both dropped their prices since yesterday. They must be getting through some amount of fuel, that's 4 deliveries (Petrol and diesel and their "premium" versions) on Tuesday when they jacked the price up but then they got ANOTHER 4 deliveries since 6pm yesterday. Amazing really.

Just to be clear, I barely have any skin in the game, I'm still filling up for under a quid a litre but I can see when people are taking the piss and I don't need to come up with a scenario where petrol station managers are day-traders to try to excuse it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Sam the Sham

Are you all taking your cars out solely to inspect the local petrol prices?😄

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

I saved 5,000,000 on my house by buying a Semi in D15 instead of mansion in Dalkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭flexcon

if that garage already had the fuel bought and invoiced and delivered yesterday then the governments reduction in tax did not impact that tank.

This is the fallacy of "at midnight" all sales of fuel will reduce by 20c a litre. It's only on purchases after midnight.

The taxes are paid upfront and not at the pump.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,925 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'd pay no heed to the likes of Verona Murphy!

And not every owner is sitting around at midnight fingers at the button.

They would often need to wait to see the fine print or approval from head office to implement change.

These things take time to work through but rip off, profiteering, gouging is all the moaners want to see.

There is no comparison between 5 million and 20 thousand. A gombeen argument.

I could afford a 60k electric car tomorrow but I'd rather buy the petrol equivalent for 40k.

Hardly the same thing now is it.

The EV brainwashing is strong.

Go EV with a battery that you might only occasionally have to queue up when charging, 39k approx. Anything smaller and you will need another car for long trips, unless you want to be spending a lot of time at chargers and waiting at chargers. Get the same car in petrol 22k approx.

I think common sense prevailed. Dont get me wrong. EVs are great. We have one. But they are far more of a hassle than petrol or deisel, and far more expensive too.

He could have gone for yer mans 2015 that he got new for €17k that he could buy off him now for €13k I suppose.

I find it amusing how a lot of peoples knowledge on EV's is stuck in 2011 as regards to battery life, charging times etc, funny stuff