Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we in Ireland be concerned about Jihad?

Why would you think that's racist? Surely you know the definition?

as I said, police forces across the world cooperate, in many ways.

There are Irish Muslims you know? Who don't speak Arabic 🙄

True... but they were recruited.So, there was a larger organisation prepared to train and provide them with the equipment needed.

Look back. I did say that an attack by an individual working alone was possible. But.. even with that, look at the countries which have been hit with those kind of attacks. They're all prominent nations with forces committed to the US coalition, and/or were colonial powers in the M.East. They have a prominence that Ireland doesn't have.

I'm not saying it couldn't happen here. A pissed off nutjob deciding to set off a bomb all by his lonesome for some perceived slight. Yeah, sure... it's possible, but the thread is talking about a Jihad.. and that suggests something far more serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

What about Finland?

It is not in Nato, they are not ex colonial power, they had only tiny involvement with Afghanistan war, but yet they have had jihadist attack and have growing problem of jihadism in the country.

And unlike us are seemingly willing to discuss and do research on it.

And what about Bosnia, a muslim country, that has had jihadist attacks?

The first attack here will probably not be bomb, it will be a loon or loons with knives.

And as a long list of countries can atest a knife attacking isalmist can still do a lot of damage before a police force stops them.

And it is usually a police force with armed members unlike our own.

Of course we will have some of our usual suspects along to tell us how the law will deal with them. 🙄

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭quokula

It's a bit of a stretch to say Finland has a major problem with jihadism. There was a single attack by a single guy with a knife once, several years ago.

If that's an indication that Ireland should be worried about jihadism then the incident in Japan at Halloween is a sign that Ireland should be worried about people in Joker costumes.

Finland had one attack in 2017, in Turku, where are you seeing them have a big problem with growing jihadisim? I haven't heard anything like that.

Whilst not actually in NATO, they are aligned and are involved in different groupings. Not that it matters because As you pointed out, these attacks can and do happen anywhere.

AGS, has a very high number of armed gardai, including a highly trained armed support unit, patrolling 24 hours a day. They also have a counter terrorism unit, well experienced and a high level of police cooperation with other forces.

Could an attack happen? Of course. Anything can happen, I can get a big knife in my kitchen and head off stabbing half the street, a poor detective was shot with his own gun last year. Is it anything that the general public need to be overly worried about? Not at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Cordell

In a small country that wasn't a colonial power 2 lads set up an independent IS terrorist cell. So maybe logic and strategy and all that are not too important, but the ideology itself is.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

In the grand scheme of things if preservation of your life was a priority then residents of Ireland would be better focusing on covid containment methods rather than focusing on Jihadism.

Since 2020 Covid deaths are at 5,566 for Ireland where as Jihad related deaths are at 0.

As bubblypop and klaz on this page and others in the thread have pointed out a lone wolf style attack is the most likely type of Muslim based terror attack in Ireland and this type of attack is not even that probable(0 recorded yet).

In fact the likelihood of our own native terrorists be they nationalist or unionists is in fact still the most likely terror attack on the island of Ireland. The risk according to the British intelligence of that type of attack is still at the severe level.

I don't believe any terrorist related deaths, or how they are described or any type of terrorism or how it is described, is better then any other.

seems strange anyone would think that!

Are you correcting my grammar?

No, of course not, your grammar is probably perfect, mine may not be as English is not my first language. I'm just pointing out that you conveniently ignore that the activity in Ireland results in deaths in other places - and you make a deliberate effort in doing so, as you also deliberately chosen to misinterpret my post.

Irish have been murdered abroad by jihad. Also suspect we have had a stab jihad attack but it has been labelled mental health.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Yeah, its not like Ireland ever had anyone stabbed to death and others attacked by a "refugee" screaming Alans Snackbar in the last few years. Definitely wasn't brushed under the carpet.

or maybe we had a mental health related killing that you are labelling as jihad.

See? If it had been a Muslim man that killed D/Garda Colm Harkin would that have been an Islamic terrorist killing?

if I run down the road stabbing people shouting Allah Akbar, does that make it an Islamic terrorist attack?

you're way too worried about putting labels on things

I included in a number of my posts about the possibility of individuals committing such terrorism, but that seems to be ignored. These individual attacks do not constitute any serious risk for Ireland of a Jihad. Some concern over Islamic extremism, yes, definitely... but not the serious targeting of Ireland by any kind of organisation with the expertise and funding to commit to any kind of campaign.

The thing I find interesting is the lack of serious attacks. The info to create, and use explosives is freely available on the internet, as is a huge range of other knowledge that would help to deal serious damage anywhere it was applied... but what kind of attacks have happened in Europe? Yup.

Which is why I wonder at this push by posters to paint some kind of major threat.. when it hasn't manifested in mainland Europe yet. YET. Oh, I do believe it will happen in Europe eventually, but I still suspect that Ireland will escape everything except the individualistic nutjobs.

They have noticed increasing fundamentalist jihadist growth.

Finnish Security and Intelligence Service (Supo) reckon they have hundreds of jihadis.

BTW one is too damn much.

The numbers may still be smaller than in a lot of other Western European countries, but the increase it has been growing.

During the first decade of the 2000s, Supo officials talked about “dozens” of individuals who had connections to terrorist organisations.

In 2012 it was put at 200.

2014 it was 300.

At end of 2017 it was put at 370 and as of now 2019 it was 390.

They have found links between people in Finland and al-Shabaab with finish based Somalis going to fight and train with them.

They have found links to Rawti Shax and Ansar al-Islam Kurdish jihadist groups and ISIS.

They have had at least 80 fighters travel to conflict zones in Syria and Iraq.

They had to have increased security presence around a major Lutheran church in Helsinki because of terror threats.

Imagine if this is Finland what the real numbers for Ireland are.

We HAD a good counter terrorism unit that specialised in Irish terrorist organisations not those of predominantly non Irish people.

But of course you know that.

Yeah our armed AGS.

Ever listen to how long it takes Gardai to respond to attacks (just the normal skanger ones) in the likes of Dublin or any other city or town in Ireland?

Ah but sure we are alright.

The police and legal system will deal with any attackers after the fact.

Besides they will all just be a bit mentally ill.

Which is why I wonder at this push by posters to paint some kind of major threat.. when it hasn't manifested in mainland Europe yet. YET. Oh, I do believe it will happen in Europe eventually, but I still suspect that Ireland will escape everything except the individualistic nutjobs.

Its most likely in part due to islamophobia.

Phobia is an irrational fear of something that's unlikely to cause harm - this is clearly not the case with islam which it did cause harm and it continues to cause harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

There'll be an attack in Ireland within the next 5 years I'd say. Paddy's Day, a game in the Aviva or Croker, or a Saturday night in Temple Bar are all simple targets with minimum security and potential to cause huge casualties. Paddy's Day would make the most headlines though.

Any source for that definition Cordell. Because that looks very much like a partial or incomplete definition and you wouldn't be providing incomplete information to support your false assertions would you?

Because oxford provides this for Islamophobia

1. dislike of or prejudice against Islam or Muslims, especially as a political force.

Merriam Webster provides this

Definition of Islamophobia

irrational fear of, aversion to, or discrimination against Islam or people who practice Islam

Wiki says this

Islamophobia is the fear of, hatred of, or prejudice against the religion of Islam or Muslims in general,[1][2][3] especially when seen as a geopolitical force or a source of terrorism.

On the word phobia itself oxfords complete definition is

phobia

1. an extreme or irrational fear of or aversion to something.

mirriam webster states

Definition of phobia (Entry 1 of 2)

an exaggerated usually inexplicable and illogical fear of a particular object, class of objects, or situation

Definition of -phobia (Entry 2 of 2)

exaggerated fear of

acrophobia

intolerance or aversion for

photophobia

And Wiki says

phobia is a type of anxiety disorder defined by a persistent and excessive fear of an object or situation.[1] Phobias typically result in a rapid onset of fear and are present for more than six months.[1] Those affected will go to great lengths to avoid the situation or object, to a degree greater than the actual danger posed.[1] If the object or situation cannot be avoided, they experience significant distress.[1] Other symptoms can include fainting, which may occur in blood or injury phobia,[1] and panic attacks, which are often found in agoraphobia.[6] Around 75% of those with phobias have multiple phobias.[1]

So as I said already your definition looks incomplete.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

They'll be back on here in 2026 confidently predicting an attack in the next five years.

You actually sound like you would welcome this 🙄

I suppose it really needs to happen so the people to wake up, but then again, I'm sure they will find it in themselves to make new excuses and minimize it, like there were only a handful of people killed in the attack while thousands are being killed by the pandemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,637 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

While Ireland per capita had a very high rate of people going to fight Jihad the view is that we are a base rather than a prime target.

Clonskeagh mosque is hardly a tolerant place, part of the Dublin based European center for fatwa and research, a very important body in European Islam and like much of Europe the pinnacle of Islamic jurisprudence in Europe.

Headed up by Yusuf Al Qaradawi, probably the most prominent Islamic scholar in the world.

You'll here talk about the Protocols of Zion. Read judgements on how to beat your wife, how all Jews are targets, how to deal with gays, and a whole host of other issues that the solution is beating or murder.

Many turn a blind eye to mainstream Islamic principles and practice because they view them as "solid on the question of Jews". It's that simple.

Just look a few posts back and you will find someone saying exactly that.

Will still have the same counter terrorism unit. And they have always dealt with other concerns, as well as our domestic terrorism.

They are quite capable. Also, international police cooperation is excellent and AGS are very involved.

I'm well aware of response times, pretty sure these are available on request, if you're interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Many turn a blind eye to mainstream Islamic principles and practice because they view them as "solid on the question of Jews". It's that simple.😲

What? Who are this 'many'?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭jmreire

You can say with equal degrees of certainty that (A) there wont be any jihadi attack in Ireland within the next 5 years (B) there will be a Jihadi attack in Ireland within the next 5 year. Only time will tell. But what is 100% certain is that there has been many jihadi attacks in Europe, and there will be more. Radical Islam is alive and well.

We can say with equal certainty that islamophobia is alive and well.