Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Westernview

I don't think deflating it would help much if it's flapping in the wind. I can understand the recommendations that it's stronger and more aero dynamic inflated. Flat structures are very prone to uplift suction. It would need to be weighed down across it's surface in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Is TG4 on the fritz for everyone?

Seems to be stuck on whatever club match was on earlier 😕.…have tried via Sky box and TG4 website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭naughto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,332 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I watched what I could of the match, which was not much, using non official sources.

They had a purple patch late in the first half where they looked very well.

They got caught out badly with about 10 minutes to go, Dublin turned them over deep in their own territory and just went up the field with ease to score, the ensuring kick out was taken "short" (if there is such a thing anymore) and Brickenden lost possess for another Dublin point, and they could not come back from that ultimately.

From what I saw thought they played decent enough.

I'm going to the Galway game on Sunday, I'm looking forward to that, seeing the new rules live.

I saw the full game on TG4. Thought it was going to be a rout in the for 15 mins but they got back onto it. Dublin looked bigger faster and more direct at that stage. Davitt Neary was very good. He has a very languid style but he covers the ground and broke a lot of tackles. ROD was off form. Probably would have won if he brought his shooting boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I thought the new rules led to a bit more space on the field which was good. I think the 2 pointer is negligble for most teams; apart from the one Mayo got, most attempts were horrible rushed ones. Players like Paul Conroy or Rian O'Neill could rack up some good scores though.

Mayo got a 20m free for Dublin not keeping 3 players back, and blatantly werent called for the same thing in the second half. Lack of consistency on this is going to be a minefield in the summer.

Overall, I hated the roles the goalkeepers played, especially for Dublin. If the new rules were aimed at making it less like basketball, they will fail on last nights evidence. We're going to see repeated patterns of rotation around the arc, waiting for the burst upfield of the keeper to see whether defenders leave him or someone else. I dislike the narrative around cute hoor managers finding the best way to seek advantage in the rules, and this is only going to get worse in the summer in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Could they not build a huge wall around the dome when its rebuilt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eastie17

yeah it struck as even more basketball like especially as there is now such an emphasis on kickouts. It’s like you get your chance to score now we have ours.

With 10 to go when Dublin scored 2 from their chances and we missed ours I knew the game was over. Under the old rules wouldn’t have felt that. I know it’s just one game.

I think this whole thing is flawed and it definitely shouldn’t be coming to the club game straight away. I coach manage Junior A and know some of the refs won’t be able to handle it at all, feck some of the players won’t be.

Alot of goalies won’t be able to kick 45, what happens when there’s a gale force wind against them.

The weight of personalities got this across the line, Gavin and Jarlath Burns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

What would be reinforcing the wall?

Maybe a roof? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

No need for a roof if the wall is strong enough. I know what you are saying but better to have something around it protecting it than taking it down every time we have a storm which is a lot of times a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Good man Conor, no words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭HBC08

Wow,

What an emotional day for Cross.

What a finish to the game.

Cross had two unbelievable goal chances that Coggins put over,one deep on injury time.Hes been brilliant for Cross all season so can't give out too much but i thought that was it.

incredible there was a penalty to come after that.Balls of steele from Conor Loftus,what can you say,he's been their player of the season.How he performed today I'll never know,I was nearly in tears watching him jog off to the dressing room after scoring.I hope he can recover from the tragedy of the last few weeks and I hope his heroics all season will be a tiny bit of solace to him.

Heartiest congratulations to Crossmolina team and management, all of Mayo were behind ye today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

per mayogaa’s twitter just now:

Fixture details have been confirmed for Round 2 of the Allianz National Football League game between Mayo and Galway for this Sunday 2nd February at 2:30pm in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park.

Post edited by Blackjack on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Island Voter

The whole concept is flawed from the outset. Amazed the luminaries that have put their name to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 howdo1992

unfortunately Gaelic football is a flawed game to begin with and these flaws got exploited when the game got overly tactical.

The new rules aren’t perfect but something has to change, hopefully they will be further refined after league. Goalie getting the freedom of the pitch has to stop imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I know the question wasn't directed to me, but stop the goalies coming into the opposition half, and don't allow 1 pt frees to be brought back to a 2 pt scoring range, and Id be happy

I'd agree with those 2 points. Especially the goalkeepers up the field. It makes the game look a bit silly in my view.

Id keep most of the other changes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭BandMember

I would completely agree with your match assessment. If how it ended was in a movie, you'd be giving out about the Hollywood storyline, but I think everyone roared when Conor Loftus did what he does and kicked the winning score with pretty much the last kick of the game.

Congratulations to the Crossmolina team, but I would not say the same for management. It should be obvious why. They will have a lot of questions to answer and rightly so.

What do you expect management to do when there hasn't been any court case or conviction yet? Without getting into specifics the alleged incident hasn't anything to do with the rest of the team or management. By dropping a player they would be reacting to an as yet unconfirmed private matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭muddle84

This is the difficult position that the club are in! Its a horrible situation for all involved. I'm sure the club would have gotten legal advice on it all before they went ahead with the starting team.

It's a horrible situation alright especially with the other tragedy is still hanging over the parish. The law will have to take its course either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I can't see why they would need legal advice. He is not found guilty of anything. From a club perspective it brings into question values, respect, beliefs etc which I would say all clubs try to bring in as a culture. It is surely difficult for the managment and I would have expected that they had a chat with the player to discuss the detail and in confidence. They most likely made a call on it, but if its goes legal then this paints the managment team in a different light.

Anyway fair play to them on doing the business and Loftus - they need to mind him.

If the Kyle Hayes case was taken for comparison I would be very critical of the Limerick management who I admired greatly before that situation. Once it was in court they were in giving positive character statements and even since his conviction have backed him. I find that unacceptable.

I would hope that Crossmolina would take a step back publically and not play the player or comment on him if it goes to court. Once the case is decided the club then either cuts its ties with him or if cleared reinstate him. But until them I can't how they can be expected to do anything. I don't like trials by social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

There are loads of examples of people throwing a blind eye. Rory Best did it and then he walks the roads for charity … WTF, Micky Harte, Banty and as you said Limerick manager threw a blind eye to all of this. Terrible really when you see the carry on but they don't give a fiddlers about it. A good player does not make a good person. Its all about winning at all costs for some of these guys. It takes balls to call it out and make a stance.

Does anyone know can I buy juvenile tickets along with my season ticket or how does that work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,071 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

If they're available I suppose you can. I purchased one for my granddaughter along with my own. Dublin ST by the way.

I figured it out, I had to buy them direct from ticketmaster, seperate from the ST. Somebody had told me they weren't letting you buy juvenile tickets without an adult ticket, but that turned out to be incorrect!

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Barlett

Christ almighty this is as bad as Ive seen