Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Can't score 2 pters and don't seem to able to defend against them either.
I think the 3 up rule penalty is too harsh with a free up the other end.
The mayo lad in the 2nd half was naive going over the half line. The Galway lad was straight on to the linesman.
You can tell what was going to happen in the 2nd half. Shane Walsh was going to swing over every 2pt opportunity he got. We gave him plenty.
Mayo barely have the forwards to kick 1pt scores.. We are totally exposed for the 2pt scores.
I'd normally be optimistic even in defeats and back the management.
However today was different.
It was very obvious to me that the game was over at HT (even though Mayo were a point up) The conditions into the bacon factory end were as perfect as there will ever be for 2 pointers.2 pointers were going to decide this game and Mayo kicked 1 into that end whilst Galway kicked 7,sin è.
McStays comments a few weeks ago about the new rules being no big deal worried me and it turns out I was right to be worried.We were playing the old rules (and not very well at that)
We are way too small physically and tactically so naive that it's almost shocking.
The only consolation out of this game today is Galway gave us such a hiding with 2 pointers that the penny might drop with management .
Just to add a bit of balance and be fair we are missing a lot of players.The likes of Aido and Jordan Flynn would not be pushed around like that.Throw in a fit DOC,Paddy Durcan,Loftus (all of whom can kick long range points) and we'd be a lot more competitive.
Also Galway are very good with a huge squad.
Unfortunately ive lost all faith in management,I always felt we'd be relegated this year and that looks a certainty now.
Well the tactic playing against mayo will be ring your 12 men inside the large arc because no one will shoot. Eventually someone will run into contact and get turned over. And on kick outs let us win our own on the arc and push up. We will just turn back.
Sad to say McStay should do the decent thing and resign now. Get someone younger in with the knowledge that this year is going to be write off but at least start to build a foundation for Division 2 next year
We are a division 2 side, and that's the truth. Shooting is nowhere near the level required, and neither is midfield. Our lack of physicality and strength around the middle is stark.
Yeah while I like the two pointer from play as its a serious score…two pointers from frees…I think that's far too harsh.
Who's the little gurrier pushing the ref at the end there? He's caught on camera anyway. Can't see what complaint he'd have, well beaten.
We are certainly the biggest losers of the new format. We have the worst forwards in D1 and if truth be told,D2 would be more our level. Hard to see an improvement this year.
Re the rules, frees have to revert to 1 point only . With a breeze behind you any decent free kick take will kick them for fun.
What an absolutely terrible performance
Christ almighty this is as bad as Ive seen
I figured it out, I had to buy them direct from ticketmaster, seperate from the ST. Somebody had told me they weren't letting you buy juvenile tickets without an adult ticket, but that turned out to be incorrect!
Thanks!
If they're available I suppose you can. I purchased one for my granddaughter along with my own. Dublin ST by the way.
Does anyone know can I buy juvenile tickets along with my season ticket or how does that work?
There are loads of examples of people throwing a blind eye. Rory Best did it and then he walks the roads for charity … WTF, Micky Harte, Banty and as you said Limerick manager threw a blind eye to all of this. Terrible really when you see the carry on but they don't give a fiddlers about it. A good player does not make a good person. Its all about winning at all costs for some of these guys. It takes balls to call it out and make a stance.
If the Kyle Hayes case was taken for comparison I would be very critical of the Limerick management who I admired greatly before that situation. Once it was in court they were in giving positive character statements and even since his conviction have backed him. I find that unacceptable.
I would hope that Crossmolina would take a step back publically and not play the player or comment on him if it goes to court. Once the case is decided the club then either cuts its ties with him or if cleared reinstate him. But until them I can't how they can be expected to do anything. I don't like trials by social media.
I can't see why they would need legal advice. He is not found guilty of anything. From a club perspective it brings into question values, respect, beliefs etc which I would say all clubs try to bring in as a culture. It is surely difficult for the managment and I would have expected that they had a chat with the player to discuss the detail and in confidence. They most likely made a call on it, but if its goes legal then this paints the managment team in a different light.
Anyway fair play to them on doing the business and Loftus - they need to mind him.
It's a horrible situation alright especially with the other tragedy is still hanging over the parish. The law will have to take its course either way.
This is the difficult position that the club are in! Its a horrible situation for all involved. I'm sure the club would have gotten legal advice on it all before they went ahead with the starting team.
What do you expect management to do when there hasn't been any court case or conviction yet? Without getting into specifics the alleged incident hasn't anything to do with the rest of the team or management. By dropping a player they would be reacting to an as yet unconfirmed private matter.
I would completely agree with your match assessment. If how it ended was in a movie, you'd be giving out about the Hollywood storyline, but I think everyone roared when Conor Loftus did what he does and kicked the winning score with pretty much the last kick of the game.
Congratulations to the Crossmolina team, but I would not say the same for management. It should be obvious why. They will have a lot of questions to answer and rightly so.
I'd agree with those 2 points. Especially the goalkeepers up the field. It makes the game look a bit silly in my view.
Id keep most of the other changes though.
I know the question wasn't directed to me, but stop the goalies coming into the opposition half, and don't allow 1 pt frees to be brought back to a 2 pt scoring range, and Id be happy
What changes did you want instead?
unfortunately Gaelic football is a flawed game to begin with and these flaws got exploited when the game got overly tactical.
The new rules aren’t perfect but something has to change, hopefully they will be further refined after league. Goalie getting the freedom of the pitch has to stop imo.
The whole concept is flawed from the outset. Amazed the luminaries that have put their name to this.
per mayogaa’s twitter just now:
Fixture details have been confirmed for Round 2 of the Allianz National Football League game between Mayo and Galway for this Sunday 2nd February at 2:30pm in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park.
Mayo board have requested that Sundays match with Galway be brought forward due to floodlights damage.
https://www.westernpeople.ie/sport/gaa/repairs-required-at-machale-park-following-storm-damage_arid-45694.html?fbclid=IwY2xjawIEWDlleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHQNKGXkk-nAm-L835N8LShok3E_hbBtOxJYlo6DBEDBBApLGJgyFYf_y0w_aem_Q5QaE4RpDxrU5hmpuA_QGw
Wow,
What an emotional day for Cross.
What a finish to the game.
Cross had two unbelievable goal chances that Coggins put over,one deep on injury time.Hes been brilliant for Cross all season so can't give out too much but i thought that was it.
incredible there was a penalty to come after that.Balls of steele from Conor Loftus,what can you say,he's been their player of the season.How he performed today I'll never know,I was nearly in tears watching him jog off to the dressing room after scoring.I hope he can recover from the tragedy of the last few weeks and I hope his heroics all season will be a tiny bit of solace to him.
Heartiest congratulations to Crossmolina team and management, all of Mayo were behind ye today.
Good man Conor, no words
No need for a roof if the wall is strong enough. I know what you are saying but better to have something around it protecting it than taking it down every time we have a storm which is a lot of times a year.