Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
What would be reinforcing the wall?
Maybe a roof? 😀
yeah it struck as even more basketball like especially as there is now such an emphasis on kickouts. It’s like you get your chance to score now we have ours.
With 10 to go when Dublin scored 2 from their chances and we missed ours I knew the game was over. Under the old rules wouldn’t have felt that. I know it’s just one game.
I think this whole thing is flawed and it definitely shouldn’t be coming to the club game straight away. I coach manage Junior A and know some of the refs won’t be able to handle it at all, feck some of the players won’t be.
Alot of goalies won’t be able to kick 45, what happens when there’s a gale force wind against them.
The weight of personalities got this across the line, Gavin and Jarlath Burns.
Could they not build a huge wall around the dome when its rebuilt?
I thought the new rules led to a bit more space on the field which was good. I think the 2 pointer is negligble for most teams; apart from the one Mayo got, most attempts were horrible rushed ones. Players like Paul Conroy or Rian O'Neill could rack up some good scores though.
Mayo got a 20m free for Dublin not keeping 3 players back, and blatantly werent called for the same thing in the second half. Lack of consistency on this is going to be a minefield in the summer.
Overall, I hated the roles the goalkeepers played, especially for Dublin. If the new rules were aimed at making it less like basketball, they will fail on last nights evidence. We're going to see repeated patterns of rotation around the arc, waiting for the burst upfield of the keeper to see whether defenders leave him or someone else. I dislike the narrative around cute hoor managers finding the best way to seek advantage in the rules, and this is only going to get worse in the summer in my opinion.
I saw the full game on TG4. Thought it was going to be a rout in the for 15 mins but they got back onto it. Dublin looked bigger faster and more direct at that stage. Davitt Neary was very good. He has a very languid style but he covers the ground and broke a lot of tackles. ROD was off form. Probably would have won if he brought his shooting boots.
I watched what I could of the match, which was not much, using non official sources.
They had a purple patch late in the first half where they looked very well.
They got caught out badly with about 10 minutes to go, Dublin turned them over deep in their own territory and just went up the field with ease to score, the ensuring kick out was taken "short" (if there is such a thing anymore) and Brickenden lost possess for another Dublin point, and they could not come back from that ultimately.
From what I saw thought they played decent enough.
I'm going to the Galway game on Sunday, I'm looking forward to that, seeing the new rules live.
Ya it's the same for every 1
Is TG4 on the fritz for everyone?
Seems to be stuck on whatever club match was on earlier 😕.…have tried via Sky box and TG4 website
I don't think deflating it would help much if it's flapping in the wind. I can understand the recommendations that it's stronger and more aero dynamic inflated. Flat structures are very prone to uplift suction. It would need to be weighed down across it's surface in some way.
I'd say they'll have to build a mechanism for deflating the new one, assuming it gets rebuilt. even from an insurance point of view, they may demand that.
Prenty said something about lights hanging off it as the reason they couldn't deflate it.
what I’ve heard is that deflating it would require it to start 7 days in advance
easy be hurler on the ditch but could/should they not have deflated it before the storm?
I drove past McHale park earlier. One of the floodlights at the town end has a lean on it and I thought I spotted some minor damage to the stand roof.
While the floodlight does not look like falling it's obviously going to have to be fixed before the next league game under lights.
The Dome is gone to the land of Oz. Where will they hold the rose of kiltamagh now??
I read somewhere that the Vodafone network is down in Mayo and Galway.
They're in the Balla area
I think it will depend on where in Mayo they are. Ballina was back online around 11am. I know that at least parts of Erris are still without power.
ESB Networks site will let you check by Eircode here
ESB Networks | Power Check | Service Interruptions Map
Off topic post....is Mayo still off the grid in terms of power and mobile coverage?
Trying to get through to the parents for the last few hours but everything seems down
There are some people laughing about it online but those type tend to be ones who would struggle to tie their shoes. Most people know it's a huge loss for kids and adults.
What a shame about the dome.
Hopefully it can be rebuilt, but as said it may fall victim to another similar wind event.
I wonder what wind speed it was speced to be able to deal with and what was the speed last night.
You may find people delighted and basking in schadenfreude because of the individual who was behind the whole thing, but that's the modern world for you.
Totally destroyed. Not sure if it will be replaced as this could happen again.
The dome looks like it has been destroyed
Even though we are missing players it will be refreshing to see a new look team. As long as we put in a performance I'll be happy with that. Having some of the experienced players missing may bring out leadership skills in other players. Playing the Dubs in croke park is a great way to find out. And maybe younger players are more adaptable to the new rules as well. I'm looking forward to it.
Will be interesting to see what sort of team we put out for the league opener against Dublin. From listening to the Ah Ref pod, it sounded like Monaghan were able to put us under a lot of pressure from kickouts and I suspect it could be the same again on Saturday. I'm not overly hopeful about this one tbh although at least Dublin will be missing a few also
As an aside, it's easy to foresee some games in Salthill being a complete sh*tshow with the goalie kicking into the wind struggling to get it out past the arc
Fair enough. But I will say, these types of incidents don't begin and end with a report to the guards. In fact many incidents go completely unreported or kept behind closed doors or victims receive little support from family or community to take things further.
That's my understanding of it too. The club should not have to deal with this at all. The recent tragedy was enough to navigate through.
Those rumours have been around for 3 weeks now.
If a player was dropped every time a nasty rumour did the rounds we'd be in trouble.
Trial by twitter and WhatsApp is not on.
Significantly in this saga no complaint was made to the Guards.
Some nasty rumours swirling around about a player on the Crossmolina team. Be interesting to see what team gets picked for the final.
InI think the problem there is that the McHale road residents would oppose any extra exits onto their road. It suits them that the crowd is forced out at the corner away from them.
I agree they should open them every time to get people in the habit of coming from that side. I
If they opened the stiles at the station Rd end of MacHale Park it would allow easier access to Albany end and reduce pressure at the Sportlann gates.
They opened them for a few games last year, they should do that for all games and try to direct people in those gates.
The big problem with McHale Park is getting the crowd in to the right areas to maximise utilisation. At 25k McHale Road side-line is generally packed to beyond safe capacity with a significant pinch point at the corner with the bacon factory end, and the Albany end in particular with significant empty space. Personally I think we should install seating over the entire McHale sideline also. Combined with better access on the McHale road and Albany end. It would reduce notional capacity, but would spread the crowd more and possibly allow more in as a whole, safely.