Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Is this to suit Sky? Cause it sure isn't to suit Mayo, Roscommon or Clare fans. Dublin will be chock a block as it is with the soccer and music gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

I'd say its to suit Croke Park more than Sky. If you're going to sell premium tickets and boxes you have to have events. Sky have gone to plenty of provincial grounds and done double headers from different grounds on same day to be fair to them.

Croke Park website has a list of provisional fixtures which was published last December. There are two football qualifiers on it for this weekend. Once Cork v Limerick came out of the draw it was always going to be two of the other three games put in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

It's bonkers....surely the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick would have been a better option (??)

I know it's not everyone's cup of tea but ffs.

I'm also biased as the Gaelic Grounds is about a 10 minute drive from my house but the point stands 😅

Post edited by Cartman78 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

Why would Limerick be suitable for Mayo and Kildare? its not near either county or between the counties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I think the admission of bias due to proximity is a bit of a giveaway there.

I think hosting this in Croke park is a poor call. The only positive for it is that the players themselves would prefer Croke Park but given the cost of fuel, dragging 3 counties from the west to play in Dublin smacks of small minded decision making made only to suit a limited number of beneficiaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Whatever about it being in Croker the 6pm throw is just ignorance !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,336 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The only positive for it is that the players themselves would prefer Croke Park

Very true, Mayo players would have no qualms about playing in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

I was half joking to be honest but it would be refreshing it the GAA got a small bit more creative when it comes to these kinds of games.

Using Croke Park as the default option is lazy at best. I assume the players don't mind but seems to be no consideration whatsoever given to fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Absolutely! Don't think I will be able to make it as it'll be just too long a day for my young ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

4pm and 6pm are the times for Sky im sure, not fair but there you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Some decent looking forwards on this U17 team, the two Hurleys and Clarke look very good

Good win for the minors there, some very handy forwards but the ball into them was very good too. We had something like 10 wides in the game which will need to be worked on but all other aspects of the play were impressive. Very strong defensively too. That’s a very well coached team, credit to Seán Deane and his management team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Only got the 2nd half but impressive performance from them. Seem to have a bit of brains in their play as well (ie not just good athletes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

You'd have to put that down to good management, stark contrast to the U20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Very good win by the U17s last night, things were fairly even in the second half but we were just able to get scores that bit easier - Niall Hurley (15) looked excellent. MacMonagle (3) and Silke (4) were both very good too IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Was working late last night but just watched it there, a great team performance and fair play to the management team. I'm less than a kickout away from him so I'll have to put the flag out now 😫😬

Niall Hurley looks an exceptional talent. Harsh to single one individual out in a fine team performance but he really did stand out.

Thought the ref was a bit quick to blow for what seemed good tackles at times. Thought we were excellent defensively, very good in the tackle and sniffing out danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Where's Deane from or what's his background? Is this his first management gig?

Following on from the discussion last week about future managers - Colm Collins might not be a bad shout, doesn't his brother live in Ballyhaunis? He's done a very good job with Clare over the past few years

Kiltane originally but living in Breaffy a long time at this stage. He would have been involved with some of the younger still county age groups before this.

Sure we all love going to Croker... According to our Chairman, talk about being out of touch with the supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Good performance from the minors despite the sometimes poor shooting and a limited enough Galway outfit.

Did I detect a hint of Horanball from their playing style?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Seemed to be very well drilled defensively. Forwards and midfielders tracking back putting in tackles, yet always kept a couple of forwards in position. Credit to the management for having a group of young lads working together so effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

This is the exact reason. Complete lack of consistency. It is laughable going back to 2019 for the last impressive display for Carr. Darren Coen is hit and miss as well. Horan will never had faith in guys like this because they are completely inconsistent. That is why they are all interchangeable and he is most likely going on how they are performing in training, but it is a lottery if they will perform on a regular basis when it comes to serious games and against proper hard teams.

ROD/TC are the only players from that crop that have actually started to deliver consistently. ROD in particular has been so impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭HBC08

You expect fringe players and players in and out of the team to be at the same level as ROD and Tommy? There will always be workhorses aswell as superstars, Kerry don't have 8 or 9 David Clifford's.All the players you name checked have contributed in the past and continue to do so,none of them will be of the level of Cillian,Tommy or Ryan.

Perhaps you dont have a great understanding of team sports (GAA or otherwise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I think he does have an understanding that as long as we have Aidan Orme, James Carr and Brian Walsh all starting on the team at the same time (as we had on saturday), we will not win an All-Ireland final. They're all grand players. But they do not demand the ball, and generally do not make a telling contribution. Jack Carney is showing promise alright. And he is tall. Could be a great baller with a bit of gym work. You went back 3 years to find a decent contribution for one of those players. That's no good. Need to be doing it consistently. Kerry have one absolute star player in Clifford. But he is surrounded by semi-star players in Paudi clifford, Geaney, O'Brien, Dara Moynihan, Couple of Spillanes, Diarmuid O'Connor, Tom O'Sullivan. Tigerish players who demand the ball and are not afraid to shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Well Orme demanded the ball from Hennelly and kicked in a magical ball to Cillian, which could have been the goal of the season. He also took on the chance v Galway in injury time so to say he doesn't demand the ball is in-accurate. James Carr had a good game against Galway, 2 points form play which is a telling contribution and he is an option inside if fully fit. Walsh I will agree with you on, I cannot figure what he brings besides a big engine up and down the pitch.

I think how defensive both Galway and Monaghan set-up has been over looked when discussing the limitations of our forward play. If there was space to be kicking into a full-forward line I couldn't see it. Banty said as much afterwards, they set up to curtail Mayo scoring - and they done a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

These are not fringe players Coen, Carr, Walsh, Boland, COS have been around a good few years and have all got chances at different time. Some of these have been in the panel for a good few years. Granted not all get to play but you must be totally inept in what is required. We need quality forwards not fringe guys who sit on the panel for years and deliver somedays. I don't expect top guys like Clifford but we need guys who are showing real progression year on year with the potential to replace older players. ROD has done this, TC is getting there. Who else because I don't see anyone else standing up and that is the crux of it especially when you lose players like TC, ROD.

Maybe the quality is not there and this is the state of things to come but at least wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭HBC08

James Carr could be a star yet,he was brilliant his debut season in 2019 but has been plagued by injury since (that's why I went back to 2019,the last and only time to judge him on a run of games. Hes has been good if a little inconsistent so far (he was quiet the last day) There's a massive game in him and I have a feeling it might be in Croke Park.

That poster also was running down Darren Coen, I think most Mayo supporters would have Coen on the panel and recognise his contribution over the last few years (I think he's injured at the moment though)

The jury is out a bit on the other two but my point stands than you'll have your superstars and then other lads backing them up,that's the same in any team sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭westsidestory

Carr in fairness was very good in league final when few others raised a gallop, he did well v Galway next day out in championship also.