If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Interesting articles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭roadmaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,774 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm Spartacus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭sparky42

That might put pressure on Justice Minister Jim O’Callaghan and Taoiseach Micheál Martin to comment.

5/1 Major General Harris will first say my IMIS have told me.............

Happily for them, with a Garda investigation ungoing, they'll be able to plausibly not say a word.

If the investigation could continue on quietly until after the presidential election, they'd probably be all the happier too.

So the Journal standing by there story. We will see on Sunday what the UK Times have to say.

https://www.thejournal.ie/cobalt-document-reveals-what-happened-inside-meeting-with-gardai-6796893-Aug2025/

I know its an Israel paper so you have to take it with a bag of salt. But if its true the Nearest UN Troops were told to stand down rather than help there colleagues that is beyond disgracefull. I hope its not true and just the israelies stirring ****.

https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/article-865033

Looks like UNFIL might get a renewal but only for a limited period, as things currently stand, but who knows.

The line always was that they wanted it gone within a year or two. We may assume this extension is an allocation of time to formulate a withdrawal plan, and put the logistics in place to repatriate 10,000 troops and their gear.

By winter 2026 they'll be out the gap and the mission will be ended.

it’s alright Catherine is now “seriously concerned” about the US Veto…Not that she sees anything wrong with the Triple Lock…

It will certainly be interesting to see what the government moves to afterwards, sadly though for the Lebanese I predict just more attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Randycove

at least one TD has the cajones to say what most people seem to think

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0824/1529889-michael-collins-anniversary/

She's on the right of the party, she wants to separate Fine Gael's identity more from Fianna Fáil's, and she wants to be Taoiseach.

Thats what all that is.

Not really, she isn't treading new ground with her stance on the Triple Lock, its cabinet position that it's going to be "modified" to remove the UN P5 position, and I have little doubt that at least Harris signed off on the speech's contents. It's not really any different to what we've been hearing from other Cabinet ministers since the GE.

Now that doesn't take from her stance on desire for a promotion, but I just feel its not a huge attempt at a "look at me" moment.

RNZAF adding 2 x A321XLRs and 5 x Sikorsky Seahawks to its recent purchase of 4 x P-8 Poseidon MPAs. Along with ground infrastructure at Okahea airbase to house them.

Thats a lot of ambition for a military comparable with Ireland's, but in a nation with quite a bit less cash.

not sure I’d call it ambition, while it’s upgrades without question they already have the foundations of MPAs, and frigate based Helicopter operations, they aren’t standing up anything new as such, just finally upgrading. Now it will be interesting to see what path they pick for their ANZAC replacements, Arrowhead, or the Japanese option?

Given that Australia has selected the latter, you'd expect them to follow suit, from an interoperability and maintenance point of view.

Maybe, I mean their ANZAC's have already diverged from the RAN versions in their midlife refits, and they have invested in Sea Ceptor rather than ESSM so it might be a more complex question, also of course will they stay with 2 or go up?

Its an interesting time for them. Both themselves and Australia.

That same article mentions a quote from whatever NZ minister, commenting on their limited capability, saying more or less, 'don't mess with us, we're close allies of the US etc', presumably directed at China.

But really, how reliable is that alliance now? How reliable is Five Eyes? How reliable is AUKUS? Plenty of commentators in Oz, ex brass and what have you, all seem convinced that Australia will never see those submarines and that all hulls will be integrated into the US Navy instead.

I don't think there's been a single defence procurement for Australia that hasn't had every side bashing each other and the decision from start to finish, AUKUS is no different. Reality, the US Sub yards can't manage what the USN needs, let alone facing export orders and the SSBN's, so the idea of Virginia class subs is remote, the RN's A class operational rates are a disaster and they are too few, the idea of one of them being permanently based out of Australia is equally questionable.

But the UK is making major investments to increase capacity for the next gen SSN, but that's likely two decades away, leaving the RAN with a question of whether the Collins class can remain operational. Maybe they might look again at the Japanese offer, though it's interesting that its South Korea and Germany that have been picked for the RCN SSK project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

My money is on Jonny Japonieser to win the contract.

given we can’t send more than 12 to such a mission right now, I wonder what answer he will get? Apart from that, given the very high chance that Israel will attack Lebanon once UNFIL is out of the way (not that it stopped them before) I doubt anyone would want to sign on to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Do you include the guys doing security ? The lads doing catering, any medics ? The replacements coming up behind to be the next pilots and technicians and the lads training them , the armourers and logistics guys , the lads in the motor pool for all the other guys above ..

And I probably missed out stacks of specialist roles ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

There is 2 interviews with the CoS about his plans for the defence forces.They are paywalled but if anyone wants to copy amd post them.

Forgive the formatting:

Lieutenant General Rossa Mulcahy, who took over as the most senior officer in the Defence Forces in June, confirms he is no relation to General Richard Mulcahy, the man who helped establish the organisation over a century ago.

“Not that I know of anyway. He may be some distant cousin. But it’s nice to have the name,” said Lt Gen Mulcahy.

But there are reminders of Richard Mulcahy everywhere you look in the chief of staff’s office in the Department of Defence in Newbridge, Co Kildare. This includes a plaque by the door bearing Mulcahy’s instructions to his troops after the death of Michael Collins in August 1922: “Stand by your posts. Bend bravely and undaunted to your work. Let no cruel act of reprisal blemish your bright honour.”

Though they are probably unrelated, Rossa Mulcahy faces similar challenges to his predecessor, including internal and external State threats and a lack of resources to handle them. The biggest challenge, by far, is transformation.

Richard Mulcahy had to rapidly shape an insurgent IRA force which relied on guerrilla warfare into a standing army capable of fighting and winning a civil war.

Rossa Mulcahy must transform a Defence Forces which has been found unable to fulfil some of its most basic functions. It must become a modern fighting force, capable of both overseas service and national defence in an increasingly dangerous world.

At the same time, he must rapidly grow the size of the force by about 70 per cent (about 4,000 personnel). This must be achieved while addressing fundamental cultural issues around bullying and abuse highlighted by the Women of Honour controversy. Allegations of sexual harassment, abuse, bullying and discrimination in the Defence Forces were raised by female veterans.

The decision last Thursday by the UN Security Council to wind down the Unifil peacekeeping mission in Lebanon – the Defence Forces’ largest overseas posting – only adds to Mulcahy’s workload.

If the general is under pressure, he wears it lightly.

“We have always done transformation,” he said. “So it’s not new to us, but it is a step change.”

In 2022, the Commission on the Defence Forces made 130 recommendations for the expansion and rejuvenation of the military.

“We’ve 43 recommendations completed. We’ve another 16 that are due to complete this year. That’s well towards 50 per cent in the first couple of years.”

Meeting the goal of getting the Defence Forces to 11,500 personnel by 2028 will be a “challenge”, he concedes. Military strength has just started to stabilise at around 7,500 following years of decline

“I have to be frank and honest, but we’re working on a workforce plan to present to the Tánaiste. Retention is a key part of that. And recruitment is strong. But to bridge the gap will take a while.”

The current target for the Defence Forces is what the Commission called Level of Ambition (LOA) 2. This involves an expansion of military capacities and a 50 per cent increase in defence spending.

Tánaiste and Minister for Defence Simon Harris said he wants to then move to LOA 3, which would transform the Defence Forces into a conventional military power, equipped with combat jets, a 12-ship navy and a defence budget comparable with other small EU countries.

Moving to LOA 3 is a decision for Government, Mulcahy said, but planning has already started.

“The goal is to get to LOA 2 and then, as quickly as possible, to LOA 3,” he said. “We’re looking at everything through an LOA 3 lens. We’ll present options to Government and the Government will decide what they want.”

The general frequently returns to the topic of national defence. In other words, the ability of the Defence Forces to repel an attack from a hostile actor, be that an invasion, a cyberattack or a hijacked aircraft.

The Army previously gave a dire assessment of its abilities in this area. It told the Commission “it is not equipped, postured or realistically prepared to conduct a meaningful defence of the State against a full-spectrum force for any sustained period of time”.

At the same time, the Commission warned there is a growing risk of Ireland’s land, sea and air being used by belligerent powers to launch attacks.

“We have to be able to deliver on national defence operations,” said Mulcahy. “That’s the fundamental role of the Defence Forces, to defend the State. That’s something we have to develop over the next couple years.”

Expanding on what he means by “national defence”, he added: “It means, ‘can we defend our maritime domain or air domain?’. And then all of the major conflicts in any war always happen on the land. That’s where the battles are won or lost . . . so we have to be able to defend in that way as well.”

The military is an “ultimate guarantor” in the event of an attack, he said. “The Defence Forces will be the ones who will be in the front line.”

Mulcahy recites a long list of ways in which the Defence Forces is improving its on-island capabilities. There is the new radar and sonar system which will allow it to detect what is happening below the sea and above the clouds.

This will include a ground-based air-defence missile system, capable of dealing with short- to medium-range threats. “We’re in active discussions on that, so I can’t go into any specifics, but that’s the conceptual goal.”

A Defence Forces “armour board” is also identifying a replacement for the army’s ageing fleet of armoured personnel carriers. These new vehicles will feature thicker armour and heavier weapons, including artillery.

The new vehicles will come in various shapes and sizes, Mulcahy said. “We may have an indirect fire platform, a direct fire platform and also engineer variants.”

He confirmed that the Defence Forces is also developing its drone capabilities and its ability to take down hostile drones, which are a growing threat to international peacekeeping operations.

The Air Corps (soon to be renamed the Air Force) will shortly obtain a military transport aircraft. This will be a “huge” asset in moving troops around the country for national defence, as well as resupplying overseas missions, he said.

In charge of all of this will be an entirely new command structure, which will see the Naval Service and Air Force given parity with the army.

Such is the rate of change that, in a few years, Mulcahy’s current position will no longer exist. The chief of staff will become the chief of defence, a post which will come with far more military authority and far more accountability before the Oireachtas.

Mulcahy, who will have to apply for the role just like anyone else, confirms he is interested in the job. “I imagine there may be competition.”

It is unusual to hear Defence Forces chiefs talk about “invasion” and “battles”. Over the decades, many have questioned if Ireland even needs a military. Last week, Independent TD and presidential candidate Catherine Connolly, said the Defence Forces “are not, and should never become, an army. Armies fight wars”.

Asked if Ireland needs a military, Mulcahy quotes Leon Trotsky: “You may not be interested in war, but war is interested in you.”

No small state can defend itself alone, he said, adding: “But we have to be able to provide a defence to repel any initial invasion and then look for support from partners under the EU or under the UN banner.

“That’s the same for any small country. Every sovereign country has to be able to defend itself.”

The possibility of a conventional military attack is unlikely, Mulcahy believes. Yet there are many other threats facing Ireland. These include cyber attacks, election interference and organised crime. “We know espionage is a threat. The guards look at that, as do we.”

Ireland’s maritime area is also at risk, he confirms, including from the increasing presence of the Russian “shadow fleet” off the coast. These are ageing ships used to smuggle Russian oil in breach of sanctions.

Western security agencies have also accused the vessels of intelligence gathering and sabotaging undersea infrastructure.

There has been a marked increase in the presence of shadow fleet vessels off the west coast in recent months.

“We monitor the shadow fleet. It is a concern for us, of course,” said the general. He said the Defence Forces monitors the behaviour of these ships to determine their intentions.

“Every vessel is supposed to have its automatic identification system (AIS) turned on. So if ships are turning on and off their AIS, that will trigger an alert for us.”

Even as the Defence Forces focuses more on national defence, it will always seek to have troops stationed overseas on peacekeeping missions, Mulcahy said.

The winding down of the Lebanon mission is a “big loss”, he says, calling the mission the “bedrock of Irish overseas service for the last 50-odd years”.

However, new missions will emerge, some of which may be more unstable. The chief of staff believes the Defence Forces can participate in these “more dangerous, more kinetic missions”, but that they will have to operate alongside partner countries.

As things stand, it may not have to wait long. “The world isn’t getting any more stable or secure,” said Mulcahy.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2025/08/30/new-defence-forces-chief-prioritises-becoming-equipped-to-repel-hostile-forces/

Ireland must focus more on national defence against external threats including espionage, covert Russian vessels and conventional military forces, the newly appointed head of the Defence Forces has said.

Lieut Gen Rossa Mulcahy, who became chief of staff in June, said one of his priorities is improving the Defence Forces’ ability to defend the State and its people, as well as with overseeing a broad-ranging programme of military reform and expansion.

“We have to be able to deliver on national defence operations,” said Lieu Gen Mulcahy. “That’s the fundamental role of the Defence Forces, to defend the State. That’s something we have to develop over the next couple years.”

The most pressing threats to the State are in the form of “hybrid” activity, he said, referring to hostile acts falling below the threshold of conventional military aggression.

These include espionage, misinformation, cyberattacks and suspicious maritime activity, he said in an interview with The Irish Times.

“In the hybrid area, absolutely there are actors operating in our maritime domain. In our land domain, we know espionage is a threat.”

The increasing presence of Russian “shadow fleet” vessels off the Irish coast is also a worry, the general said.

A shadow fleet vessel is generally defined as a ship engaged in deceptive practices to transport sanctioned oil or other cargos. Western security agencies have accused shadow fleet vessels of covert intelligence gathering and sabotaging undersea infrastructure.

“We monitor the shadow fleet. It is a concern for us, of course,” said Lieut Gen Mulcahy. He said the Defence Forces monitors the behaviour of these ships to determine their intentions.

Speaking at a meeting of EU Defence Ministers in Copenhagen on Friday, Tánaiste Simon Harris said the use of Irish waters by shadow fleet ships “is of deep concern”.

“Let me be clear, Ireland will not allow our waters to be used for the illicit activities of Russia.

“We are particularly concerned about stateless vessels and falsely-flagged vessels and we will continue to protect our sovereignty rights and contribute to the collective security of the EU.”

Lieut Gen Mulcahy said the Defence Forces must also be prepared to respond to conventional military aggression, although he conceded such an attack is “unlikely”.

This includes being able to defend at sea, in the air and on land.

No small state can fight off an invasion alone, he said.

“But we have to be able to provide a defence to repel any initial invasion and then look for support from partners under the EU or under the UN banner.

“That’s the same for any small country. Every sovereign country has to be able to defend itself.”

He echoed remarks contained in the 2022 Commission on the Defence Forces report, which stated the military “is not equipped, postured or realistically prepared to conduct a meaningful defence of the State against a full-spectrum force for any sustained period of time”.

The chief of staff outlined a range of measures being taken to improve military capability in this area, including the acquisition of radar, sonar and a ground-based missile air-defence system.

The Army is to get a new fleet of armoured personnel carriers while a new “strategic reach” aircraft will be invaluable in transporting troops around the country, he said.

Regarding overseas service, the general said the vote by the UN Security Council to wind down the Unifil mission in Lebanon is a “big loss”, for the Defence Forces. The mission was the “bedrock” of Irish overseas service for more than 50 years.

On Friday, Mr Harris announced Ireland will seek to establish a new mission in the country to train the Lebanese Armed Forces to take over Unifil’s duties.

Lieut Gen Mulcahy said new peacekeeping missions will emerge for Ireland to partake in, although it is possible they will not take place under a UN banner. “The world is becoming less secure, more volatile. So new missions will emerge,” he said.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2025/08/30/ireland-must-focus-more-on-fending-off-external-threats-defence-forces-chief-says/

Mulcahy's recent interviews with the DF Podcast and Pat Kenny are worth a listen also.

Speaking of interesting bits from his interview, his comments on a Short to Medium Range Air defence system again makes me wonder, I mean that's well beyond MANPAD capabilities and I doubt the General would make a mistake like that?

In other news, I see the entire funds allotment for the SAFE mechanism has been fully subscribed by EU nations.

Yeah i seen that, That Medium Range is considered 100km up to 180km. That would be some step up.

The SAFE allocations will mostly be used to fund systems and ammunition to be passed on to Ukraine, and counted against domestic %GDP defence spending.

There is a further €650 Billion to be leveraged in domestic increases and international loans, which can be raised outside of the guardrail limitations on any particular country under the Growth and Stability Pact.

I daresay much more will yet be needed to keep Ukraine in the fight, while also beefing up territorial defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2025/09/01/irish-troops-could-be-part-of-peacekeeping-force-in-ukraine-after-the-end-of-war/

Versions of this have been floating about since the beginning of the year. Looks as if we are some way off any ceasefire … but it would be an interesting possibility for the DF if it ever arises.