Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,448 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

It's amazing how people can convince themselves that extending the use of the vax cert into new areas where it was never previously used, isn't a new or additional restriction. Like the poster who thinks masks on kids is cute, it sounds like a touch of Stockholm syndrome. The damage to the psychologically of the nation will take a long time to work itself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I give you sh1t for saying it now, because you assert it as definite with absolutely zero evidence.

You even properly sandbag your responses so that when the roadmap is announced this afternoon, you'll have a series of pre-prepared responses along the lines of, "Why is this taking so long", "How come I can do X but not Y", "This is pointless, people have been doing activity Z for weeks now", and of course, "A, B & C will still be in place, this is not a lifting of restrictions, they're going to tighten all this back up again before Xmas".

It's perfectly fine to say, "You know, I'm skeptical about this long-term because we know from other countries that this can't work", but you say the opposite - "Other countries have opened up without issue so we know this can work, but Ireland is not going to do it"

The entirety of your argument is that Tony is inexorably in charge, and is hellbent on locking down the country even without covid. "We are definitely going to end up with a continuation of restrictions because <insert unprovable reason here>".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Penfailed

They've already stated that mask wearing in some situations will extend beyond the 22nd of October. Why would anyone wait until then to say it was always going to happen, when it's being said now?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

By that rational, so is mask wearing. So much for it being permanent...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

I'll have to stop you there. Completely disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

Well I'm joking. It's a parody of John Lennon's 'War is Over'. Funnily enough there are still wars..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,262 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

You'd almost think they are dragging it out til the end of October so they can cover there arses incase they have to reintroduce restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

It's bull crap along with his local being raided by the guards. He's a spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Cabinet over, plan to be announced this evening.

Only measures in place after 22nd October are masks on public transport, shops and hospitals.

Social distancing measures gone, Irish times also reporting vaccine pass for domestic use will cease in October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

Max Weber called bureaucracy an 'iron prison'. But before 2020, Western bureaucracy was not Soviet-like.

You are damaging yourself when you accept all these things. Spiritual damage. It's like William Blake said, 'mind-forged manacles'.

If you don't want to die of disease get fit and eat healthily. Take an interest in vitamins. Don't sit in front of screens all of your life.

Dodging airborne germs, separating families and being bound to 2km or 5km is like an evil game that people are playing.

Yes I know someone will say we're no longer bound to 5km. But how many people have repented and admitted it was wrong?

'It was appropriate mitigative action pursuant contingent upon blah blah'

Who is fooled by this dishonest sub-language? If you loved someone, would you talk to them in this malfunctioning-robot gibberish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

At least be accurate when giving ****, thats all I ask, you are clearly attributing some other peoples opinions to me. When do I ever mention other countries?

Not that it matters. I may be a lot of things but at least I am honest and will give my opinion, if others want to offer weasel words and play both sides of the fence then so be it.

I believe that these restrictions are illogical and horribly managed, you don't want to give any firm opinion that you might have to stand over later. Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You'd wonder if they actually intend to remove the vaccine pass in October when they're introducing it for new settings 2/3 weeks before it's down to end anyway. That doesn't really look like an attempt to remove them. Looks more a we'll add stuff and then delay removing them when we get closer.

Only?

Imagine almost the entire population getting vaccinated only to be told that masks will only go outdoors (where they were never mandatory) and in the home (where they were never worn).

Devil's in the details. I'm not 100% sure how masks being required in retail squares with the "personal responsibility" bit they were going on about. Unless they move from a "You must wear" to a "Retailers may require you to wear if they choose".

I would have assumed a pub or a cafe far riskier than doing your shopping in Tesco. Anyway, we'll see what comes out here.

They are introducing similar rules for areas that are open in areas that are not open.

As I said here multiple times in the past few weeks, the vaccine pass serves no purpose come October as only a tiny fraction wont have it. All that's left is the date past which it will no longer be applicable.

Yeah was wondering that myself. Soon see what's published later. Hospitals and transport I've no issue with, the retail aspect is a bit odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

So why obfuscate things with a pass that almost everybody has and that will only apply for a few weeks?

I know communication is not Martins strong point but surely their plan would be a lot simpler to roll out without such a white elephant dumped in the middle of it?

I was thinking, "Retail is essential, so you might need masks to account for the unvaccinated who will also be using that space."

But the vaccine cert for domestic purposes is gone in October, which means unvaccinated people can go anywhere anyway. So...I dunno.

It must be a statutory power that they intend on giving retailers. I know at the start of the pandemic there was a lot of consternation about whether shops could legally stop someone without a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

Does indeed. Does this mean I can wander into my local and sit at the bar?

Few thread regulars on suicide watch for having nothing left to complain about I think.

Yeah you could be right. In that regard then you could leave it up to public transport operators if they intend of having mandatory masks as part of their bye laws because when the primary legislation lapses that's it

Possibly so older people are not in fear of going shopping as things wind down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

They need to rebrand mask wearing so it is fit for purpose. As it stands you see lads taking soiled rags out of their arse pockets where it sits with loose change/phone/wallet or what have you. The benefits of wearing one of these into tesco for a few minutes is probably outweighed by the risk of picking up some kind of bug from the masks!

We need to get back to using them properly in the appropriate places such as Medical, public transport etc. People won't look twice at somebody for wearing a mask during flu season after this so if people have the sniffles or a cough and have no choice but to go into a shop or catch a bus to the doctor wear a mask to contain and reduce spread of their infection. Apart from that it should be personal choice, it has become a comfort blanket for some and will be harder to remove than a dummy from a toddler.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,448 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Extending the use of the vaccine pass now for additional indoor events only to get rid of it again altogether in October is bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,262 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

When will they no longer be afraid if vaccination of almost the entire population isn't enough to cause them to be no longer fearful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭godzilla1989

8 weeks in covid world, sorry clown world is a long time

Could be a variant that evades vaccine's circulating by then for all we know and we are all back in lockdown

Jokes aside it's good news they are getting rid of the vaccine passes, fair play there but October is a long long long time away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

So, speech to the nation at 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Cessna_Pilot

Disgusting second sentence there. Considering the mental health of a lot of people has taken a huge beating this past 18 months and there have been a lot of suicides as a result of job losses, inability to cope with what's been going on etc, that comment stinks.

No matter what side of the fence people stand on with this topic, making a joke about suicide is pathetic.