If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I actually mentioned Clifford and Liam Moore as players who played well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

IMG_8101.jpeg

O Loughlins v Shamrocks final I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 kinghenry1

Very impressed with the shamrocks today with tj pulling the strings but Thomastown gave up their title without a fight in second half. Didnt stay for second game as i had a prior engagement was amazed at the crowd that left after the first match.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 terracedgarden

Only saw the second half but thought John Donnelly was quiet. Was Jonjo Farrell injured? The sight of TJ dispossessing an athletic Zach Bay Hammond was class, pity he didn't get a point from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Watching on TV John Donnelly hardly featured at all. Was he man marked by corcoran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Evan Shefflin. But Corcoran was excellent today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,738 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

good to see buff egan in kilkenny today , he was shouting for o'loughlins in the first half , clara in the second half and after about 10 wides , a makasey point that took 2 umpires and a referee to decide made him man of the match 🤣

both o loughlins and ballyhale look quality whoever comes out of kilkenny will have a serious say in january or February for the all ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭The_Ghost

He may be old but he’s an absolute genius of a player TJ, made the pass for the goal today look easy even though it had to be a goal. Only free taker we have I hope he gives it one more year it’s not his fault we’ve nobody coming through. Going on form and not age he’s still on the team sheet. Great weekend of club hurling, we’ve a great club championship! It’s worth staying up for over here. Looking forward to the semis and the finals, plenty of good hurlers out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭droppingball

Jonjo Farrell was suspended from Castletown leinster game last year. No complaints yesterday Ballyhale were exceptional. I thought Eoin Cody, TJ and Adrian Mullen didn't do much damage but Brian Cody, Darragh Corcoran, Niall Shortall and Eoin Kenneally were exceptional. They closed the space at the back well moved it to space and picked us off.

From our point of view the loss of Jay Burke, meant changes at full back corner back and wing back, whilst we made two changes to replace Jonjo. It was too drastic a change and we were never back at last years level. We seemed to worry about Ballyhale more than getting our own game going. Stephen Donnelly was the only real threat and not many hurled well but they owe us absolutely nothing after an incredible few years. U21a, Intermediate and Senior champions is beyond our oldest dreams.

TJ still pulling of outrageous pieces of skill and his workrate and turnovers are still there. It's incredible at his age and a joy to behold. One issue for the inter county is when he is bottled up at club the club refs give him a free because he his TJ, in the inter county matches they are given as overcharging. That said he is still worth his place but if they do have a huge run with the club it might have an impact on his body too. Still not convinced by O loughlins forwards so I'd give the shamrocks a right shot. Either way as a south man and now Thomastown are gone I hope the shamrocks or Mullinavat can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Village87

Yeah the Jonjo ban was a bit of a problem for Thomastown, they knew the last few months he would be missing 2 championship matches and now he misses another one next year as a result of yesterdays loss. I suppose it easy to say now but the team slection changed a lot due to the suspension, might have been better prepared if they left Jonjo out the last few matches. I thought Eoin Cody was moving exceptionally well out the filed yesterday and getting on plenty of ball and having a big influence on the game. Kilkenny management surely noted that Darragh Corcoran is a much better presence centre back that Richie Reid, Richie likes to pick up loose ball but offers very little marking a good forward or resistance down the middle. TJ is king, wow what a performance

Post edited by Village87 on

Jonjo only played Tullaroan match and the league final in fairness but he plays the role to allow Eddie Donnelly to drop off and we never really nailed it down. Shamrocks were clever with how they played it and fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Do any of the older players stand out for a county call up so far?

Or any younger lads putting the hand up?

Conor Murphy from the Bridge, Padraig Dempsey and Conor Walsh from Mullinavat, Liam Moore was exceptional on Saturday. Cathal Beirne and Ian Byrne from Glenmore. I was sure Darragh Corcoran would get Motm for shamrocks, he looked fitter yesterday and is a better centre back than Richie Reid. Brian Cody hurled well but he would have plenty of fitness work to do. David Barcoe from Clara for a lad hurling minor took to senior very well, still very young but he is better than I thought he would be. I'd get him involved to have him ready for year after next because he has the attributes. Rory Glynn is a rocket but we seem to not give that type of player a chance for some reason. He is hard to deal with because he is always out in front and touch him and it's a foul.

We need to try and freshen it up and some them deserve a chance. Interesting to see will there be a shake up.

On a side note, the quarter finals should not be in Nowlan Park, the atmosphere was terrible both days, half the ground leave after the first game. Leave it until the semis and let the clubs have the quarters and a better atmosphere and make the quarters a right of passage to make the park for a semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 kinghenry1

Have to agree aboit club grounds for quater finals atmosphere was terrible yesterday miles too big for the crowd .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭KK36

In fairness it would only be in keeping with the last 40 years. For a club of yer population and underage success it is shameful that ye have only provided Michael Walsh and Cillian Buckley as established Kilkenny seniors over the last 35 years. Much smaller bases like Carrickshock, Tullaroan, Ballyhale, Glenmore and Ballycallan have outshone ye in their contribution to the county senior team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Formosa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I would have to agree with this for me the boro have to much of everything to many players to choose from loads of volunteers the club is almost to well ran there’s no hardship no adversary trying to cobble together underage teams or get volunteers involved or having to develop a small number of players because there the only ones that they have got to work with

Everything is to precise even on the field nice neat passing no killers no one to start a row or pull a dirty stroke no dogs of war to me that’s why they haven’t produced players for the kk senior team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Barcoe looks ready made for senior hurling already reminds me of d blanchfield

Conor Murphy has another one that has really impressed me anytime I’ve seen him

Hopefully Corcoran would go back in if given the call he’s hurling up a storm this year

I do think we need to be looking at players not the biggest in stature but with a low centre of gravity the likes of Glynn buggy from comer and a few others who can drift deep off there man from the half forward line link up play and draw a free

Similar to the likes of s Reidy from Clare

We’re way to predictable upfront and not dynamic enough apart from b Ryan or Owen wall there all very one paced and static

R Glynn could show some of our forwards on the panel what work rate is and how to dispossess a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭JohnCougar

I would wish my club had half the resources and players that Dicksboro had. I am sure Dicksboro have tried their best to win more senior hurling titles over the past 30 years and would love to have more players on the intercounty senior team in that period also. I am sure also if Dicksboro found the solution to winning more senior county finals they would be like Ballygunner and I dont think anyone would like that in Kilkenny hurling either.

The Rower were unlucky last night not to win in normal time in the U14 Roinn A semi final and lost in extra time, which leaves the 3 Roinn A Finals as :

U-14 Dicksboro v James Stephens

U-16 Dicksboro v James Stephens

U-18 Dicksboro v James Stephens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭KK36

A direct knock on from population trends. The town teams are able to bring on 18 year old subs while 80% of our clubs have to play 15 year olds just to field a team.

Fenians are battered when it comes to numbers. They had no boys in 5th and 6th class in the parish not so long ago. They have been unable to field on their own at a number of underage grades recently. Relegation to Junior was inevitable. In fairness to them they did well to hold out this long.

I would have to agree and its not going to change in the short term. Callan and Thomastown might have some chance in the future against the city clubs as they are appear to be the only places where houses are being built outside the city. Water and sewage issues are holding back housing developments in Castlecomer, Bennettsbridge and other places unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭therealdonster

This isn't a pop at the Boro(I have string family connections there) but did any Boro man win an All Irand under Cody bar Buckley? I struggle to think of anyone else that was on panels even? I remember Bryan Barry being in there for a while in the mid 00s but can't recall too many otherwise. Maybe I've forgotten some obvious ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭WibblyWobblyWonderman

Not sure did Bryan Barry win an AI with Kilkenny? Ollie Walsh was on the panel and started a couple of games. Bill Sheehan was on the panel in recent years, never really got a good crack at it it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭therealdonster

Cheers, had forgotten Ollie Walsh. Not sure Sheehan won an AI though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Always amazed at the very strong dislike/hatred for the Boro, when our bigger more successful neighbours are not looked upon in the same light🤔 The Village and OLG each have a 50% larger population than the Boro but the Boro is always the problem that needs to be broke up.

Is it the Boro's underage success? I find that strange to see such vitriol for the Boro, especially seeing as we struggle to hold on to players beyond their mid 20's and hence struggle to win at senior. Anyway on ye go, tell us how terrible we are.

To be honest Kilkenny are not getting enough from the 3 clubs at adult level. Cian Kenny and Huw Lawlor are top top players. Outside of that we are clutching at straws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭neverbet

Paddy Deegan (surprised you forgot him...not) and Jordan Molloy have been excellent reps from O'Loughlins and it doesn't matter where you are from when it comes to inter county ,you are either good enough or you are not. All three clubs have several young players I would have high hopes for in the future. At the weekend Timmy Clifford and Liam Moore stood out as forwards with real potential and hope to see more from them the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭neverbet

Huw Lawlor and Cian Kenny are top top intercounty players. Outside of them 2 we do not have them, yes Jordan Molloy could be one soon, Paddy Deegan is consistently poor in the big matches and is not top class imo. Mickey Butler has had a few rough years. Yes of course there is bright prospects and always will be. The city clubs on average would have 10 minor players a year on panels, i am just saying there is not enough top top players at adult level from City clubs at the moment and probably reflects in 11 years since an AI win.