Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 81,940 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hang on, we're coming

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭zerosquared

Tis a nice touch a clear **** you to wannabe Hitler imitator

Never thought I be so happy to see military industrial complex get money, but this time it’s for a good eradication cause

"put those damn flags away" wah poor rubes

• Registered Users Posts: 13,576 ✭✭✭✭briany

If the military industrial complex is going to exist, it's not too much to ask for it to align with a good cause once in a while.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Are the American tax payers obligated to continue funding the Ukrainian war effort indefinitely though?

A huge chunk of the money will be spent in America going into the pockets of Americans. American weapons systems and ammunition don't make themselves y'know.

Plus if anything support is growing in the US. Hell, now we see Johnson openly stating he's behind the support. Trump is stating it too. Something rattled cages there.

Your phrase "pulling the finger out" seems to suggest an element of entitlement to these funds, rather than them being a charitable contribution to help Ukraine fight their war.

"Charitable" ah would you listen to yourself. 😂

How strong would you say the Russian military are, to have caused this bleak outlook for the Ukrainians without having the benefit of such massive aid packages themselves?

Remarkably and surprisingly weak actually. Compare the economies, population sizes and military numbers of Russia and Ukraine. Ukraine has(if not had), a minuscule airforce, no navy to speak of, until very recently no modern MBTs and troop carriers, a fraction of the Russian artillery and nothing like the comms, radar, satellite and missile systems etc of Russia. Yet Ukraine didn't fold like expected, instead fought back, pushed Russian forces out of 50% of their initial gains, hamstrung their navy and their airforce for the most part needs to fire stand off munitions from behind Russian lines, if not from Russia herself. And forced the Russian military into a WW1 style slog, with mines and trench warfare.

Never mind that Russia's war chest of cash is by an order of magnitude higher than Ukraine. To the degree that spending that cash on the military is even making an impression on their overall GDP figures. And they still need to buy in weapons from Iran and North Korea and at least were likely getting some tech from China(though imho that ship is leaving port or has already sailed).

Many people are saying the Russian defences are near impenetrable in most parts of the frontline now, with row after row of
    trenches, anti-tank obstacles, ditches, reinforced bunkers etc often many kilometres deep. Apparently, this is seriously sapping the morale of the soldiers, which I can fully imagine it might.

"Many people are saying" Source: Trust me bro.👍️ Boy oh boy if you were anymore transparent you'd give a sheet of glass a run for its money.😁

It sounds like an old-fashioned ww1 gruelling style of war. Can this latest aid package make much of a difference in such a war of attrition?

The Maginot line was even more "impenetrable". Right up to the point when it wasn't. And again if the Kremlin weren't so concerned about Western aid packages(and sanctions) they and their various mouthpieces wouldn't be constantly keening about them. They don't talk about Ukraine's air force or navy do they? Nope, because those don't concern them.

Actually it's been a while since we've heard Russian mouthpieces waving their nuke threats around. If this aid package passes the US senate I suspect we will..

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

That republican of Ukrainian descent from Indiana of course voted no

Anyways more good news

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Not a single Dem vote against - so all of the Nay votes on the earlier wider vote must have been against IDF funding (or one of the other bills) rather than against Ukraine funding

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

TikTok ban is not a sure thing. The members of the Senate have been very coy about that bill.

I think the following quote is appropriate about now;

“The answer he received was a devastating, life-changing shock.

"We cannot do anything without orders from Moscow," the voice at the other end replied. "And Moscow is silent."

That phrase, "Moscow is silent" has haunted this man ever since. Defiant yet helpless as the 1989 revolution swept over him, he has now himself become "Moscow" - the President of Russia, Vladimir Putin.”

God thank you I was wondering who that kompromat sounding plant was.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victoria_Spartz

Spartz called the 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine "a genocide of the Ukrainian people by a crazy man".[47] Spartz was one of the first US officials to call Russian actions "war crimes".[48][49] At the time of the invasion, Spartz had family still living in Ukraine, including her grandmother, who was living in Chernihiv, which was under siege by Russia.[50]

During the ongoing invasion, Spartz traveled to Ukraine twice in April 2022. The first time was an unannounced visit to Bucha with U.S. Senator Steve Daines. Spartz and Daines were the first two U.S officials to visit Ukraine since the war started. The second trip was to Lviv, Kyiv, and Odesa with Representative Tim Walberg.[51][52] During the trip, Spartz met with Metropolitan Epifaniy.[53] Spartz has been critical of the speed and effectiveness of international humanitarian aid efforts.[54]

In July 2022, Spartz criticized Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskyy, accusing him of "playing politics and theater" and not governing seriously.[55] In an interview with Ukrainian press, she accused the country's leaders of not preparing for war and not understanding the war's importance. She asserted that there is insufficient monitoring of U.S.-provided weaponry, and that Congress needs to take control in this area.[56][57][58]

Also in July, Spartz enumerated six allegations against Andrii Yermak, a top official in Ukraine's government. Among the accusations were leaking important secret information to Belarus and Russia by Yermak, mismanaging peace negotiations he conducted with Dmitry Kozak just before the war, and then falsely "assuring Ukrainian leadership that no attack by Russia was going to happen" in February 2022, "contrary to western intelligence, to prevent Ukraine from properly preparing for the war", and through his deputy Oleh Tatarov delaying the appointment of an anti-corruption prosecutor.[59][60][61] Spartz asked the White House to investigate the allegations and report to a Congressional oversight committee.[62]

The Foreign Ministry of Ukraine responded that Spartz's allegations with regard to Andrii Yermak were "baseless speculation".[63] Former U.S. ambassador to Russia Michael McFaul, who has been working with Yermak on sanctions policy, said: "Yermak most certainly does not strike me as being pro-Russian. He is stridently anti-Putin and his barbaric regime."[64] Some Republican representatives and senators disagreed with Spartz's accusations and believed the accusations could hurt the war effort and damage U.S. relations with Ukraine, while boosting GOP elements who opposed aid to Ukraine.[64][65]

• Registered Users Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Absolutely delighted. Can't imagine how Ukrainians feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,253 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Brilliant news. About time. Give the lads what they need to finish the fight.

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭junkyarddog

Excellent news.

Time to give them everything they need to reclaim their land.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Good news but it is atrocious that we are so dependent on the Americans to bail out Ukraine. This should be happening in the European Parliament not Washington. Europe needs to use this time that Washington has bought us here to seriously up its arms capabilities. Forget the tankies and the “ peace” merchants and the various Trojan horses etc. Hard power is what protects the life we have here in western countries without it there would be chaos like the 1930’s and 40’s. Multi polar strongman chaos we all know where it leads. No thanks !!

I don't think they're going to take much time out to feel amazing because they have the urgent business of fighting a battle of survival with Russia to attend to, but hopefully it gives them more reason to feel confident.

But the aid that comes to Ukraine needs to get bang for the buck. Really expensive sophisticated weapons are great for when nothing else will do, but you want it effective and cheap because then you can get lots more of it. Seems like it's been all the cheap ad-hoc weapons which have been causing the real problems for either side in this war, be it Ukraine fragging tanks with Javelins early on, or now Russia sticking wings and a cheap GPS on old bombs.

If the UK's new Dragonfire laser-based anti-drone system lives up to the hype, it would be a game changer in Ukraine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Fantastic news had this not passed I think being honest Ukraine would have faced a very bleak future. The situation is still not great but hopefully this will begin to turn the tide.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Target logistics logistics logistics. And target the planes dropping bombs. That might need to wait until the f16s arrive. If Russia lose the ability to fly sorties they will been in a spot of bother as their current tactics rely a lot on those glide bombs. Took way too long but better late than never.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

LET'S GO BABY!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,481 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Cheapest way possible of letting russia self-immolate and kill off those russians fed to the meat grinder that you don't think are human.

The russian loss of life is a tragedy and they should stop the special operation immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭Poon Tang

All the loss of life in this war is a tragedy. And everyone is human, where did I say otherwise? I don't know where you're coming from on that point tbh…

But there's nothing cheap about this thing, the human cost or the financial.

I can't see more money ending this thing. The Russians are just too strong, and they had far too much time to fortify these defensive lines. Ukraine would need a huge superiority in numbers, to have any chance of overwhelming those lines now. These fortifications are excellent force multipliers, and the attacker must assume more of the risk to men and equipment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭aidanodr

• Registered Users Posts: 28,408 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You said that already a few times. Fake news doesnt get any more convincing when you put it on repeat.

And the US Congress just cut the legs out of the other line of Russian propaganda you have been spinning.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

"I can't see more money ending this thing"

Russia is invading the country. The only thing stopping that from occurring are the Ukrainians. Ukrainians are running low on ammo. Money buys ammo. It buys arms.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

About time US. About fecking time.

When the invasion began on the 24th of February, 2022, the objectives of both sides were pretty clear. Clear not even from leaders' statements but just from the movements on the battlefield. Russia wanted the whole country, making a three pronged drive at it and a beeline for Kyiv, with the assumption that once that fell and the sitting government arrested and 'dealt with', anything holding out would capitulate or pretty quickly come to terms. Ukraine's objective was pretty much to stop this from happening.

Now, the thing is that this remains pretty much Russia's objective because they could easily enough put a line under the 20 percent of Ukraine which they've captured and the land bridge to Crimea and call it a day, but they don't. The problem with that is that it doesn't really matter if Russia mine the whole of the territory they occupy (and given the way they wage war, this type of approach cannot be ruled out), that defensive posturing is not going to generate the forward movement required to capture any more large areas of territory, and Ukraine will have learned the lesson from last year's Summer offensive that ground offensives without air support just are not workable, so Ukraine will be busy building fortifications as well.

The summation of this is that there is far more political imperative on Russia to attack, given what they want to do and their supposed numerical advantage, but since the front line settled in April/May of 2022, Russia have shown little to no ability in rapid advance, and in one whole year, their only two victories of any note have been Bakhmut and Avdiivka which they only managed to capture after months and months of bloody meat assault.

The Ukrainian strategy until the end of this is likely to be to hold the line - attrit the Russians with technology rather than manpower - defend in depth - evacuate civilians close to the front - and counter punch with quick armour in areas where holes open up. Above all, bleed Russia until domestic political support for their war collapses.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,481 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

russia are feeding russian lives into the system and dying in astronomical numbers. The special operation has absolutely decimated their army, navy and airforce (despite Ukraine not having a navy and a very small airforce) leaving them reliant on other pariah states for support.

Any inch they gained was paid for in numerous russian lives and you are cheering them on for more and more russian deaths.

How do you think russia should start minimising the loss of russian lives?

The Russians are just too strong, and they had far too much time to fortify these defensive lines.

russia are defending now? What do they plan to use the territory they have mined and destroyed for? Will they settle people under artillary fire and F-16 glide bombs? Would you go and live in the Donbass?

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭JimmyChew

I suspect there are logistics teams all over the US and possibly the likes of Ramstein ect just chomping at the bit to do what they've been trained for, and to do what they do best. They'll crank up that machine to full pelt now and hopefully get what's needed into the hands of those lads over there. Those logistics teams are solders too and will move heaven and earth to support the good guys in this fight.

I would also imagine there were massive sighs of relief and even some celebrations from mud holes up & down the front line!