Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words no longer used.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Marhay70

Chisellers when referring to young children(usually boys)

Maggotty or mouldy for someone who is very drunk, fluthered for someone who is drunk but not quite maggotty or mouldy.

Guther as a suggestive statement towards a female, as in " get up on your guther Mary Anne"

Louser = someone untrustworthy.

Gonch = idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Gorteen

Ha'porth

From "Half-pennys worth".. meaning almost nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭indioblack

Happenstance : Chance, serendipity, fortuity. Looked up some synonyms! Never heard of fortuity.
    Provender . First heard it used in "The History of Mr. Polly". Food, sustenance, [the second would be my understanding of the word]. Animal fodder as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Gramophone.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,973 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Redolent

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Janey Mack

Palavar

Ekker (homework)

bowsie

buckled (verb, seems to have been replaced by locked)

use your loaf ect

motor car

mickey monk

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Gramophone.
    Wireless

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,549 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Janey Mac me shirt is black,
    What'll I do for Sunday?
    Go to bed and cover your head,
    And don't get up till Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Radiogram

Wake me up when it's all over.

Radiogram

Had to google it, didn't know that unit had a name. Very neat :)

I wonder if I watched Minder or Only Fools & Horses now with someone born in the noughties how much of the slang would totally pass them by...
    Plonker for example, and the cockney rhyming slang (I think I even struggled with some of them back in the 80s).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,537 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Mahogany gaspipe.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 15,780 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Omnibus.
    Charabanc.
    Motor Spirit.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Fils

Moist
    Undercarriage

Omnibus.
    Charabanc.
    Motor Spirit.

I think we were looking for words used since the war.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,780 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

odyssey06 wrote: »

The Great War?

What's that?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,549 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

odyssey06 wrote: »

Omnibus has been used extensively on Boards over the last few years. As lately as two months ago, in the sense of the vehicle which is now called simply a bus. The other usage "omnibus edition" is common also.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=116982698

My late grandmother, talking about The Great War \ World War One would describe it as being fought against the Prussians rather than Germans.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Marhay70 wrote: »
    Chisellers when referring to young children(usually boys)

Maggotty or mouldy for someone who is very drunk, fluthered for someone who is drunk but not quite maggotty or mouldy.

Guther as a suggestive statement towards a female, as in " get up on your guther Mary Anne"

Louser = someone untrustworthy.

Gonch = idiot.

A teacher used to refer to us as lousers... “I gave you no homework and instead asked you to study for this test, and fellas here, five of yiz failed and five of yous got 80% or more, the rest, bang average, bunch of lousers...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,537 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Strumms wrote: »
    A teacher used to refer to us as lousers... “I gave you no homework and instead asked you to study for this test, and fellas here, five of yiz failed and five of yous got 80% or more, the rest, bang average, bunch of lousers...

Was used to describe someone with red hair when I was growing up.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Living in sin

Fornicate ( apart from Mayo politicians)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Lachico.

Generally used by a dad describing a messer or an eejit.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,040 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Scoundrel
    Canoodle
    Langer

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Are the haberdasheries open again since lockdown?

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Kewreeuss

Gossen or gossun.
    Is it out of use now?
    My grandad used to use it when he was talking about a young fellow.
    I thing it was originally from French, Garçon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

mod as in follower of fashion ,eg mods and rockers from the 60s.

Scoundrel
    Canoodle
    Langer

First two for sure, but I understand Langer is still going strong in Cork, they have their own ways there, south of the wall.

riclad wrote: »
    mod as in follower of fashion ,eg mods and rockers from the 60s.

Unless Paul Weller is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭chosen1

Kewreeuss wrote: »
    Gossen or gossun.
    Is it out of use now?
    My grandad used to use it when he was talking about a young fellow.
    I thing it was originally from French, Garçon.

Still going strong in the midlands anyway.