Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Undoubtedly, the Tipperary club championship is both enjoyable and competitive but if Loughmore is the best senior team in the county then Tipp hurling is not in a good place. Big men with little skill, some just mullockers. Travelling to Fethard and Littleton in the last week to see the camogie club final, I saw fabulous gaa grounds all over the county. Tipperary have a great hurling tradition and a huge hurling population. Not questioning the fact that ye will eventually return to the top table, but the last few years at adult level in both county and club ye have been generally dire. Genuinely puzzled, at what's gone wrong with yere hurling. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Careful the above comments lads - I got fair stick for saying it as it is previously about the quality of Tipp club hurling 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Same could be said for killenny hurling championship so losing to westmeaths best. Ballygunner were after long layoff aginst doon in limerick. They are more then capable of beating most sides by 10points on their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Its not something I am overly concerned about to be honest. The link between club and county success isn't everything, but undoubtedly helps, particularly if it's not just one strong club as is the case in Waterford where ballygunner success has done nothing for the county team.

We have the county champions of the All Ireland finalists playing now (counting Sars) and I would fancy Loughmore against either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭giveitholly

If you are judging the strength of club hurling by comparing it to Ballygunner then you are using the wrong barometer.

They just got absolutely hockeyed by Ballygunner - a non-runner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭farmerval

Ballygunner are going for their fourth Munster title in a row. If the logic on here was applied on the Waterford forum they'd be suicidal as to why their county team is not winning every game.

Ballygunner have a massive pick, are obviously a superbly organized and run club. Loughmore are an exceptional club, but they're still a small country club with a tiny population to pick from.

Ballygunner looked so organized and sharp today, they were superb.

If Ballygunnar are so far ahead of Loughmore then surely Waterford should be hammering tipp every year in intercounty and contesting all-irelands going by your logic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Tipp club hurling has been of a poor standard for a long time now. Today's result is one of many in the last decade and only for the ref, the beating could have been worse.

Kilkenny champs got well bet by the westmeath champs. Probably not a good day for Kilkenny man to have a go at tipp club hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

That the kilkenny champions were beaten doesn't change point jimmy was making. Tipp clubs have a poor record. The club championship in tipp was a mess for years.

My point was Jimmy was coming here to have a dig. Not a good day considering what happened kilkenny champs. Loughmore would be 50:50 with any other munster county champs. Ballygunner are exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Point He's making is still totally valid inspite of what happened today to kilkennys champions. That doesn't happen much yet happens a lot for tipp clubs in Munster

Well I wouldn't be comparing westmeath champs to to many munster champs. Obviously it's less likely to happen that kilkenny champs will lose to most Leinster county champs. Outside of Ballyhale killenny senior champs haven't been that dominant nor cork champs or clare champs.

Also should be noted tipp have no clubs with huge picks like some city team's in other counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Waterford must be winning all Ireland's every year given the strength of Ballygunner 😏

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

There's intermediate clubs in Tipp that would beat a lot of their senior team's.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Not a dig, tipp champions for the last few years have being embarrassing. Standard of club hurling in Kilkenny is way higher. Most intermediate teams in Kilkenny would be of a higher standard than most of the tipp senior club teams. Despite that I think tipp seniors will win an all Ireland before Kilkenny do. Problem for us is our senior county team at the moment is poor and being in Leinster where the standard is so weak doesn't help us.

Tbh I think outside olg,ballyhale and thomas town, Standard is average with likes of mullinavat tullaoroan,Erin's own and Callan etc being similar standard to most tipp senior semi finalists. Standard has dropped in kilkenny too. Yere junior in particular and intermediate are way higher quality alright. Cashel into munster final alright so new gradings in tipp should close the gap in near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭1373

Ah poor Jimmy, are you saying that Kilkenny are pulling down the standard of leister hurling ? . Yer holding Laois and Westmeath back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Good win for Cashel today... they got off to a shaky start when one of their players straight from the throw-in got possession and took a shot at his own goal and scored a point... was an interesting moment...!! Think the argy bargy just before throw in between the midfielders may have affected him...

Ger Browne was at full forward.. he definitely got one goal.. might have got another I'm not sure... I remember him to be a serious prospect 5 years ago.. could he be seen in a Tipp Jersey again???

Post edited by awaywithyou on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

This trope about Ballygunner having the whole city of Waterford to pick from is laughable. Half the population wouldn't know one end of a hurley from the other, then factor in Mount Sion, Roanmore, Erin's Own, St. Saviours, St. Pauls, Butlerstown, Ferrybank & De La Salle all with their own catchment.

What they have is a unbelievably well run club, lots of volunteers, former players coaching under-age, yes, a big catchment to pick from, but not what the begrudgers claim, brilliant coaches, and a system and a winning mentality that is very un-Waterford-like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

And ye wonder why Tipp have been poor these last few years! Start with a bit of humility, that would be a good start for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Krazy gang

Another kilkenny man here. I'd agree with most of your points. Ballygunner are an exceptional team. Pointless comparing other clubs to them. Lot of average senior teams in kilkenny too m castlecomer were beaten by 30 points by loughlins this year. Mullinavat hammered by thomastown in the semi final. Our intermidiate and junior championship are very good standard, lot of even teams.

Tbh I would say tipp and kilkenny hurling is ina much healthier state than waterford. Cashel look a strong intermidiate team and ye have super minor and u20 teams last few years. In contrast waterford record in minor and 20 s last 6/7 years is shocking

Well done to Loughmore/Castleiney and Aherlow on reaching Munster finals today. Along with Cashel in the hurling that's 3 tipp teams in Munster finals. Not bad for a county that has a poor club championship structure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Paddico

God very gloomy here with feck all posts.

Did anyone see the either of the intercounty challenge mates at the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭thamus doku

was at the game today. We will do very well not to be relegated in the league this year.