Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

200 people celebrate a wedding in Longford.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Faugheen wrote: »
    Is it sh*te. Not a peep out of you on any other high-profile breaking of restrictions that has been reported all year.

Oh, except for a funeral in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Name one that had 200 people in a marquee, defend them all you like, and the more people that take the side of the poor misfortunates, the more the do what the like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Yes, the whingers on here are motivated by racism. If 200 settled people attended a wedding, there would be no thread.

However, fúck anyone who feels the need to congregate in large groups when we've still got >300 new cases per day.

The only mention of racism is yourself. Not too many windows in your glass house.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,843 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

So they went to court and got an order to get it (the marquee) removed, and then just left them at it and dint enforce the order?

Would you?

They eventually had bring in fellas with sub machine guns to see it through.

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

The only mention of racism is yourself. Not too many windows in your glass house.

The post I quoted mentioned racism. Learn to read.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

mgn wrote: »
    Name one that had 200 people in a marquee, defend them all you like, and the more people that take the side of the poor misfortunates, the more the do what the like.

Funeral in Wexford. Between 200-300 people gathered in a marquee and it turned into a super-spreader event. One of the sons of the deceased woman eventually contracted COVID and died.

Not a sign of faux-outrage from you on that particular occasion. People are gathering in large crowds at beaches up and down the country and you suddenly are either:

1. oblivious
    2. ignorant

Don't tell me this is about COVID-19 restrictions, because you only take issue when it involves the travellers.

You're the second poster that has said I'm defending this. Point out to me where I said this was ok. I never. I'm just calling you out for your own faux-outraged hypocrisy.

Exactly. Loads of people are breaking the rules. Where is all the crying about the drinking at the canal in Portobello.

Why don't you start a thread on it and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

It's society's fault for not understanding them. We should be ashamed of ourselves, look at ourselves long and hard in the mirror for judging them and their beautiful culture and heritage.

Glazers Out!

The post I quoted mentioned racism. Learn to read.

I have third level eduction, I can read perfectly fine.

You're not trying hard enough then.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,195 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

So they went to court and got an order to get it (the marquee) removed, and then just left them at it and dint enforce the order?
    That's what story seems to say....bizarre tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

I'd love to know what collage you went to...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I'd love to contribute, but this particular topic has led to me being banned on numerous occasions in the past. It's the only topic that gets me banned in fact. Whatever it is about marquees, I always say something to upset the mods.

You're not trying hard enough then.

Not getting paid to try here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Richard308

Coffee is not essential.

Man for public safety coffee is essential for me

• Registered Users Posts: 32,195 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Exactly. Loads of people are breaking the rules. Where is all the crying about the drinking at the canal in Portobello.
    Plenty of people giving out about that as well I think?
    But it's slightly different people sitting in small groups in the open air....and hundreds of people in an enclosed space for hours...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I'd love to know what collage you went to...

*college

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

Garda Superintendent Jim Delaney said attempts by officers to engage with both the wedding organisers and the owner of the marquee had failed.

"We liaised with both families and the marquee owner and served them with written copies of the current State Covid-19 public health guidelines but both chose not to engage with us."

So that's it, then?

GARDA: "Lads, will yiz move it on there now please?"
    UPSTANDING MEMBER OF SOCIETY: "No, boss, we won't. We've a hape a pints to down here".
    GARDA: "Ah ok, sorry 'bout that. Carry on".

I can't imagine this happening in any other country. The Gardaí need to be armed for this sort of thing. Give them three warnings, then if they still "choose not to engage", shoot the f....ers. That's the only thing scumbags will understand. That goes for anyone giving the two fingers to society in such a blatant manner.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭timeToLive

The Gardai are a disgrace.

Agreed

• Registered Users Posts: 15,344 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Car99 wrote: »
    Water canon is a good idea. Why did the gardai back down, why didnt they call in reinforcements? It makes a mockery of the law and the rest of us who abide by the law. No doubt the media will be quiet with no mention of the ethnicity of the group involved but tomorrow if one of the same ethnic group achieves something even if not extraordinary the media will be full of it.

You'd hope the media go into this in detail tomorr. It's completely unacceptable. Who the hell organised this wedding.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

You'd hope the media go into this in detail tomorr. It's completely unacceptable. Who the hell organised this wedding.

and on county council property too, apparently.

Funeral in Wexford. Between 200-300 people gathered in a marquee and it turned into a super-spreader event. One of the sons of the deceased woman eventually contracted COVID and died.

Not a sign of faux-outrage from you on that particular occasion. People are gathering in large crowds at beaches up and down the country and you suddenly are either:

1. oblivious
    2. ignorant

Don't tell me this is about COVID-19 restrictions, because you only take issue when it involves the travellers.

You're the second poster that has said I'm defending this. Point out to me where I said this was ok. I never. I'm just calling you out for your own faux-outraged hypocrisy.

Can you not see the difference with this one.

The Garda spoke to the organisers yesterday and told them to stop, but the carried on.

Then the had to get a court order to stop it, but too afraid to enforce it, so the carry on.

Remined me again where something like this has happened before.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,843 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

What would be the point? . We all know the craic.

Martin Collins will appear on the radio at some stage whinging about double standards and ethnic something or other and that'll be the end of it until the next time.

and on county council property too, apparently.

Hotels are closed, they needed an alternative.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Impound the cars, let them walk home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

Buckets will be full in longford tonight , guards pick and choose who public health laws apply to agajn

• Registered Users Posts: 26,934 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2021/0505/1214005-longford-marquee-gardai/

These shower of f*cks do what the like as usual, and get away with as usual.

Where is Pavee Point this evening,

This has being going on since yesterday and the first I heard of it was on the 9pm news.

Pavee Point will have nothing to say on this, god forbid they'd criticise a Cultural gathering of their own.

Its just beyond extraordinary, Garda resources dedicated to supervising the removal of an enormous Marquee. They further made a statement stressing the 4 E"s where deployed in dealing with this disgraceful gathering.

I've a 5th E and it's Eejits the lot of them and of course not so much as gentle whisper will be raised for fear of being accused of being discriminatory.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Can you not see the difference with this one.

The Garda spoke to the organisers yesterday and told them to stop, but the carried on.

Then the had to get a court order to stop it, but too afraid to enforce it, so the carry on.

Remined me again where something like this has happened before.

Ah so one gathering of over 200 people is 'different' to another gathering of over 200 people.

Funny how you called for one that didn't involve travelers and when I pointed one out to you, you shifted the goalposts and said it's 'different'.

Flouting restrictions is flouting restrictions. Suddenly it's gone from this happening in the first place to 'oh look how they spoke to the guards'.

Yes, it is a disgrace, just like the one in Wexford. However you are fooling absolutely nobody here.

Just own it. Say you started this because you hate the travelers and nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Feisar

Another missed opportunity.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

How could you really enjoy it? I'd spend the entire time waiting for the police to show up to hit me with a fine. I wouldn't be able to enjoy myself at all.

TP_CM wrote: »
    How could you really enjoy it? I'd spend the entire time waiting for the police to show up to hit me with a fine. I wouldn't be able to enjoy myself at all.

The police? You watching too much Dallas. What guard is going to square up to you after downing 12 cans of Guinness and starting on the whiskey.