Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 28,934 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

....definitely not, we clearly need a shoot on site policy, cause thats what normal countries do!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

Do you want the never ending pity and condescension approach to continue wanderer, even though it has resulted in so much suffering, death and trauma for entirely innocent people?

Nobody but you mentioned “shoot on site”. Why do you think that it’s either one thing or the other.

Maybe, just maybe, it’s time that adults take at least some personal responsibility for themselves. Maybe there should be consequences for people when they treat other people like filth. Have you any opinion on this approach?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,934 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

It didn't with Guido Nasi 23 years ago.

Or the American tourist that lost his eye a few years back.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Seneca the Stoic

”Oppositional Defiance Disorder” 😅😅😅😅 😅😅😅😅😅 where is this country heading?

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

"Uncooperative, defiant, and hostile toward peers, parents, teachers, and other authority figures."

So basically being a teenager then.

Any reason to excuse **** behaviour, and paint it as a "disorder". No wonder the West is circling the drain.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

In an ideal world; it would have been a really stupid idea for these scumbags to carry out the attack near one of the biggest garda stations in the country.

If you did this attack in places like Germany, France or the U.S.; you would had your head completely f*cked to bits with multiple hits of a baton or even from a much worse weapon which could land you in hospital or in the morgue instantly.

In Ireland; that stuff doesn't happen much from Gardaí here.

All you would get in most cases is a suspended sentence at maximum from your day in court and a few words of condemnation from politicians and wider society alike. It's complete madness that these violent thugs got the latter rather than the former.

It would you make sick to live through it if you were the victim and not the perpetrator.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

It’s sad that you think that it’s very amusing that innocent people have to suffer and even die because other people think they should be allowed to do whatever the hell they want whenever they want.

It’s because of people like you insisting that certain adults shouldn’t have to take the blame for things they’ve done that these attacks take place at all.

Well done you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭Killinator

I always find it amusing (or maybe frustrating is the word) when people comment about a station being nearby the incident.

A station nearby is no guarantee there will be any Gardai in it to respond to a call. They are probably in the car responding to a backlog of calls now reaching the hundreds!

People really don't understand or comprehend how few run of the mill standard Gardai there are actually in the ground these days. The forces numbers are something like 13,900 recently (thanks Drew for running a recruitment campaign ending with less than we started)

I wouldn't be surprised if the number of regularl/non-specialist Gardai was less than 5,000 of that number (that 13,900 number includes Gardai who are sick/injured/out for other reasons). If you went by the numbers recorded on my unit we'd have 6, in reality we have 2!

Our town (not even including the whole district) has 11,000 people minimum and growing, so we get 6,000 people each.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,546 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Its not great. They are rare times and incidents where I absolutely love it but it gets tougher and tougher each week not to just pack it in, especially as I am on the **** pension scheme and don't even have that as a light at the end of the tunnel and head management just so not give a f**K as long as they continue to climb the ladder out of the flesh they leave behind.

Mate of mine is having a shite time of it at the mo. And a colleague of mine now was a Guard for 15 years and left, just had enough of the politics and the paperwork. And the abuse, although ducks back after I while I guess.

The anti Garda sentiment since lockdown and the "protesters" you see every weekend now hurling abuse havent made it any easier I guess?

No. There's a litany of problems which I won't get into as it's not the thread for it.

Anti Garda sentiment is nothing new unfortunately but the problem is it's coming from the top Garda and people 'in charge' now who from the point of view of lads on the ground appear to despise rank and file Gardai and see them as an inconvenience because they have personal lives and also care about their own safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

I agree.

While we do have a serious lack of police presence I believe the recent worsening in the level of teenage aggression is due to parents allowing their teens to run wild during lockdown. Parents seem to have no control anymore.

I saw it in my own area, gangs of teens roaming around, day and night. Many a parent throwing up their hands and saying "oh, but we can't keep them in, they're so bored, they're young, they're not at risk, lockdown is so hard on them," blah blah blah.

They were handed free run of the streets with nothing to keep them in check, and now they have an attitude and think they own them.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,553 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

They were caught by gardaí after abandoning the car they were in and attempting to flee by running into back gardens.

After being questioned for a number of hours it is understood that they were released without charge with the use of the of the Garda Youth Diversion Programme being considered for the suspects.

Run along yeh little scamps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭batman_oh

They are doing it daily and posting videos. The solution - a programme to help them see the error of their ways. The sooner the better we realise some people are just kuntz

• Registered Users Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Helen and Paschal on walk about on Sunday absolutely disgusted me.

The Garda went up the path they walked earlier in the morning and moved along every undesirable from view. She finished her walk and declared Dublin to be safe. there's an awful bang of Leo Varadkar style from this stunt to be honest.

I doubt Helen instructed the Garda to do it, it as more likely the Commissioner.

DCC is gone to the dogs. I'm male and big and even I'm nervous walking through town, there's headers everywhere!

Southside is fine. Just avoid the north inner city. A toilet.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,114 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

If there are no cops in store st station it must be due to them all being in Ballybrack village the last few nights. Must be 20+ every night, laughing and joking with the locals protesting immigrants while buildings have to be boarded up as windows are being smashed.

Something wrong somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

This is nonsense. I live in the inner city and by and large it's fine bar a few scum bags.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

tosh, there were plenty of them, there were plenty of them during covid to lock the place down, have they all gone for a snooze is it?

there were plenty of them to do all those millions of fake breathalyzer tests

this is the reality of it, wide scale uselessness

the one who are there want an easy life, this needs to be bate out them by superiors, but sure they want an easy life too

there are easily 3k of them in dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

There's a large sense of lawlessness among teenage boys in Dublin at the moment - incidents from uprooting trees, terrorising communities, smoking weed anywhere they want up to robbing cars and assaulting innocent people going about their day.

The vast majority carried out by boys and young men. The do gooders quick to call out toxic masculinity but seem to hold off on calling for this crowd to be treated harshly.

Stonybatter, Capel St, Smithfield, IFSC Harbourmaster area all come on hugely in recent years.

Most of the north quays and the two or three streets behind all the way from Heuston to Dublin port is a toilet.

Benburb St, the Boardwalk, Four Courts area, North Lotts, O'Connell St, Harbour Court (soon to be closed), Marlborough St, Talbot St, Old Abbey St, Upper Abbey St, Mabbot Lane, Moland Place, Railway St, Buckingham St, Sean McDermott St, Sheriff St etc etc. I could go on and on.

Wouldn't be telling anyone I like to go there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭mobby

The look....

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

"I've never had a problem so there is no problem".

Guess what, you and your attitude is the problem.

There's easily 3k in Dublin is there?

You can divide it by 4, as there are for units (A-D) which members are spread over to give 24hr coverage 7 days a week.

So that's 750.

Dublin has a population of about 1.25 million.

So that's 1,666 people for every Garda working at any given time.

And then take off the numbers who are not attached to 'regular' units and are attached to specialist units instead.

And then take off the numbers who are stuck in court for the day each and everyday if the week (go to CCJ and see how many Gardai have to be up there).

And then take off those that are injured or long term sick.

Unlike you I know what's it's like on the 'frontline' because I live it. And I'd also love to get some work done but I spend more time on paper or at a desk then I do behind a computer simply because I had the audacity to actually try to work.

The truth is if I were to do a week's work and not answer the phone, not answer the hatch, not go out on patrol and not do anything else other than all my current active investigations, I couldn't even give each one 1 hour a week of my time to progress them so you can imagine how much time I get to devote to them when I do have to do all the above aswell!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I find it best to ignore those who obviously have a chip for whatever reason. It's geninely one of the few jobs that most people have no idea of how it works or what's involved.

Can't believe stealing a car and joyriding can be considered for the YDP. That seems far too serious for that insult to victims.

And clearing an area before prominent people come along for a public visit is the done thing, always has been, always will be. If I was Drew, I'd ensure they got a proper look, and bring them around in the evening times. But no, make it look pretty so tweedle dum and tweedle dee can get their photo ops.

His underlings are the same, none of them want to be the one to fess up and say they can't manage with the resources they have and will say that it's all good, they can get things done no problem at all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Plenty of them around when there’s a match in Crome Park.

Yes on overtime, as in, what should be a day off.

It shouldn't come as a surprise that anybody would rather spend their day off getting paid to be at Croke Park, the 3 Arena, Electric Picnic or any other big event as opposed to spending their day off dealing with junkies and scroungers in the city centre

Post edited by Killinator on