Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Baba Yaga

not just him laughing at us...whole family,circle of mates and his solicitor are bursting their holes...at this stage id say theres alot to be said for chain gangs

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,871 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Chain gangs would be too goodm, they might build up muscle. Sitting down, cracking pebbles with a tiny hammer. Why? Just cuz. No reason. Just do it, because you've proven you can't partake in a civilised society. Include the soft approach by having the people to talk to inbetween. But no tv/radio/gym etc, just breaking pebbles all day. Learn a trade, no problem. Otherwise, break pebbles.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭newmember2

• Registered Users Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Needs to be put away for a long time. Knows he won’t though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭newmember2

Not sure about that, a totally unprovoked attack on a total stranger with serious health implications for the victim, he's going to be looking at a serious charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Nah he’ll get a suspended sentence and a finger wagged in his face

Young scumbags are above the law, we’ve seen it time and again

Great to see this going to the circuit court rather than children’s court. As if at the age of 15 you don’t know robbing a car and crashing into Gardaí is wrong or illegal.

Enjoyed the bit where his defence raised how he has “Oppositional Defiant Disorder” - this must be the new bolloxology catch all excuse for being a piece of shít.

“Oppositional defiant disorder (ODD) is a type of behavior disorder. It is mostly diagnosed in childhood. Children with ODD are uncooperative, defiant, and hostile toward peers, parents, teachers, and other authority figures.” - Back in my day (I’m in my 20s) that was simply known as being a brat. Yer man is also from a “loving, stable family” so none of the other usual excuses.

Will be interesting to see how things unfold.

I love how he's "maintaining his innocence" yet it's serious enough to go to the Circuit Court. Delighted. And yeah, laughed at the ODD part myself. Didn't know the definition until above, but sounds like acting the bollix is now called ODD. Probably end up with a slap on the wrist anyway, but hopefully something good will come of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,494 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Serious charge but a short sentence served, 2 or 3 years served at most.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Thats funny.

"Oppositional defiant disorder" - Is that not just teenage rebellious behaviour.

If it is then I think I had ODD as a teenager. As did every single teenager ever including my own 2 now and my 2 previous ones (now in their 20s) - totally defiant , uncooperative ,hostile towards the whole world etc - but they dont go around ramming Garda cars and never did.

Hes just a little scumbag and maybe being tried as an adult will sort him out.

Definitely.

Certainly got up to my fair share of messing in my teenage years.

However for some reason it never occurred to me or my mates to go around intimidating and assaulting people, or indeed even ramming a Garda car, for the craic.

There’s a clear difference between youthful mischief and straight up menacing crime. This lad is plainly a scumbag and a criminal.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,565 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I was in Dublin City Center for 3 hours yesterday. Not a single Garda or patrol car to be seen in all that time both sides of the river. Can hardly think of another European capital I have been where that would be the case. It's hard to understand. What are they all doing?

Even if they actively tried not to be out and about they couldn't get that level of invisibility.

I'm going to assume they were busy responding to calls. The days of Gardai on the beat are over, the resources are just not there. Recruitment is not keeping up with retirements/resignations (apparantly), and the job is not very appealing anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭mikethecop

for clarity.

Policing in Ireland isn't under pressure , it isn't struggling ,it isn't threading water ,

it is under water holding its breath waiting for the bubble to burst and swallow us

In the DMR ( dublin ) you can have as many as 3 or 4 people responding to calls in stations like Kevin street or blanch with up to and exceeding 100 jobs waiting when you take up duty at start of shift . As well as being loaded with your own complex investigations that take time to do.

resignations are a lot more that publicly known and accelerating all the while being played down , recruitment is a mess with suitable people being turned away but pay and conditions and pension while unsuitable candidates are being passed through to fill quotas and placate "stakeholders"

the scale of the problem is not being disclosed by upper management or politicians

even in this case alone these lads are still out two or three nights a week in north dublin or as far as navan gorey and naas stealing cars and taking chase with the full and accurate knowledge that they can get away by heading up the nearest motorway wrong lane or just driving increasingly dangerously due to restrictions on the gardai to stop them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,929 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

If they can't get the recruits in Ireland I wonder if they'll ever advertise abroad, I know the London Met used to advertise here in Ireland looking for recruits? Maybe some South American recruits with good English as a requirement, tough fellas who might want the higher standard of living Ireland offers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭Killinator

As someone in the job if the public knew how stretched normal policing is there would be massive outrage.

I know good Gardai who are dedicated and professional and they are reaching the breaking point and several have said to me that if they can find something else then they will jump ship without a second thought.

I know of trainee Gardai who haven't even finished in the college who've done their few weeks experience at a station who said 'f**K this!' and packed it in already.

At the rate things are going Drew is going to have to ditch the white shirt and throw on a blue one because he still presents a face to media and government that everything is fine.

It is NOT fine, ok, grand, tipping along or whatever else he's having.

The job.....is f**ked!

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

A friend of mine joined the guards last year. Based in Ballyfermot at the moment. He wanted to join the guards for years but already the job is slowly breaking him. Doubt he will last another year or two. Understaffed, lack of power/authority/respect. Said he constantly has phones shoved in his face when trying to resolve any situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,982 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

The "everything is fine, we're well resourced, nothing to see here" mantra is a massive slap in the face and insult to those working on the ground these days.

I don't know where it's all going to end, but end it will soon, and I suspect it won't be pretty.

I really feel for those on the front line these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I think the public are complicit:

- we pay peanuts for the services we really need and lots of money for the services and things we really don't need or don't provide any long term value to society. Or lots of money on services that are clearly broken and that we don't protest about, but continue to dump money into them.

- we turn a blind eye to problems in society and just hide behind our phones and hope the politicians we voted for because they had some glib statements and wear a suit well, will help.

- we dump our kids into a social media internet nightmare and assume teachers and gardai etc are going to sort out the problems while we continue scrolling and buying **** on amazon. And if anybody says anything against this they are considered a heretic or a luddite. Sure signs that we are hopelessly and helpless addicted to the systems we've dumped our kids in. It's like a really, really bad religion.

- we spend all our energies gossiping about celebrity scandals instead of the real scandals happening. The mainstream news does not cover the **** that's happening in the country. You read about it here and on reddit.

- basically we've given up as a society. We have dumped former socialisation mechanisms, and have become incredibly selfish and ignorant. Most people's plans are to get out of dodge and hunker down in some countryside bolthole and let society just crumble.

- people really don't want to discuss or contemplate how the hell we are going to manage a hugely increasing population harmoniously. They think buying solar panels, electric cars and eating vegan burgers, or yoga will save us. These are all stupid sidetracking issues to the real **** that is going down.

Ok, typed that in on my phone in 10 minutes of angryness, time to get back to work 😁

Post edited by SuperBowserWorld on

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Baba Yaga

the above 6or7 posts have hit the nail square on the head,i dont have any answers but i do know its way past time law and order was brought back and Garda managment got their heads out of the hole their wedged in and we,as in normal joe taxpayer started asking out tds/ministers to stop funding so much crap and start putting funds into law and order,build a prison for starts only dont give the contract to BAM!!!!

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

The public won't like what has to happen, and that's a very heavy handed approach. Modern Ireland won't allow that. I genuinely can't see it improving. Bodycams will be a start, but they were talking about them when I left around 2015 and I don't think much has happened since. Between Drew and Helen, they're ruining AGS from the inside. An old friend of mine joined not too long after I quit, I didn't know until he stopped me at a checkpoint one day. Was speaking to him again lately, he quit after 2 years. No support, terrible management, far too busy, way too much paperwork, lacking legislation, outdated PPE... things haven't gotten any better, but the training has been reduced to keep up with retirements/resignations, resulting in younger, less trained Gardai. Recipe for disaster. And we're seeing the outcome, albeit top brass trying to hide it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭Killinator

Drew and his crew....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Agree with this. The Irish public by in large are a pack of morons.

No one wants a discussion on the problems as long as we can afford our few pints at the weekend. Any attempts to bring it into discussion is perceived as moaning for the sake of it.

I feel for the Guards, support just isn't there for them whether it's Govt, judiciary or the public. If the public cared even an inkling about any of the many big issues facing the country they would be at the gates of Leinster House en masse. We bloody well should be.

As a country, I feel we need to tip some of the balance slightly back towards conservatism again. Liberal light handed policing gets no respect.

At the moment Ireland is a country very much in decline.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

Dunno about other parts of the country but in the suburbs of Dublin kids are taught to hate the Gardai and not be a Rat from a very young age, the parents of Drug dealers will denounce drug dealing with a straight face, and a general apathy to the suffering of people who fall foul of feral kids and teens hangs over these areas, Darndale, Belcamp, Crumlin, Ballyfermot, Finglas etc. short of either building 5 new prisons and giving society a 10-15 year break from these people while social workers and teachers try to drag the youngest back from a worldview that Bad is Good, Bad is Fun, and f*ck the gardai and authorities, the only other option would be sterilizing 75/80% of the greater Dublin area, again don't know what it's like in Galway, Limerick, Cork, Waterford etc but that's where we are in the capital.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

I see the scourge (I mean scum) on society were at it again...

https://www.rte.ie/news/2023/0720/1395536-talbot-assault/

www.sligowhiplash.com - 3rd & 4th Aug '24 (Tickets on sale now!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

What’s needed now is more kindness and more sympathy and more money thrown at the unfortunates and more rehabilitation and more facilities and more love and more understanding and more NGOs and that should work. We’ve only been doing this for around 35 years now and i know it looks like it’s not working YET but it will start working soon.

Its basically the fault of decent working people that there are so many feral families.

“Move along here now there’s nothing to see” is another approach which we really need to keep persuing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Maybe an American tourist getting beaten up might help our politicians spring into action.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Seems like the American Tourist on Talbot street got a very bad beating from young Dublin youths for no reason .

Local Judges & Free Legal Aid solicitors can take credit for the society we've created.

Therres about 2-3 new prisons needed to protect the law abiding from the growing population of scumm been bred in Ireland but the politicans will look the other way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Theres a lot of Hotels/B&Bs in that general area .

The government should have warnings for Tourists that stay in the Talbot street general area of the dangers in that area and admit the State has lost control of that part of Dublin City Centre to local Scumm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Northernlily

The states answer is always to appease local scum.

The state practically gave away apartment's to them in Island Quay and Grand Canal Dock upon demand. That in turn breeds entitled purposeless generations living in amongst hard working, law abiding tax paying people.

The scum talk about being deprived and getting left behind the rest of society. The reality is they are born with all the opportunities in the world. You would swear with the tripe these people come out with that they were born in the favelas of Rio De Janeiro. Any one of them can get access to education and a good job.