Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Fenton - Overrated?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,909 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Barry was a spoiler, nothing more than that. Kerry were so afraid of Fenton that they spent their whole time trying to negate him. It never really worked as Fenton would always get away from his minder on enough occasions to ensure Dublin beat them. It is a sign of a truly great player that a team like Kerry would put so much effort into stopping him, usually that is a tactic reserved for a marquee forward rather than a midfielder.

I think you also mentioned in a previous post that Meath once put it up to this Dublin team. Not in the last decade or so can I tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

But that's not what happened. Barry never man marked Fenton, so this disingenious nonsense your trying to push, doesn't hold. Barry and Fenton went head to head, with Dublin players often trying to bypass the midfield, as Fenton was in Barrys pocket, so the midfield was best avoided for Dublin. I genuienly can't even remember Fenton even fielding one ball against Barry, who himself was pulling them from the sky every game they met. It's some mental gymnastics Dublin fans do, try to argue Fenton was actually that good he had to be man marked, when in reality, was simply outplayed in midfield, everytime by Barry, an unfit middling Kerry midfielder. But the best ever ye?

Meath ran Dublin close in 2021. Dublin had built up a 12 point lead or so by half time, Meath got an early goal in the second half, and for the first time in a decade sparked into life, and lost the shackles of fear they normally play with these days. They tore into Dublin from that point, but the deficit was too much to overhaul. Think they got it down to 2 points at one stage, before Dublin picked off a score or two at the death to put it out of their reach. But Fenton disappered, as Meath over ran Dublin all over the field in that second half, and had them completely rattled. I actually thought he was taken off.

Was helpless to stem the tide against Meath, like against Mayo, when things weren't going their way. Like against Barry. He's good when his team are cruising, but once the chips are down, wilts a bit imo. Not the mark of the greatest player ever, for sure!

Is that the Meath game that Fenton kicked a point to end the feeble challenge of Meath?

Don't think so. Think he was at home by that point

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/0718/1235815-dublin-see-off-meath-after-close-contest-at-croke-park/

"Dublin used all their wealth of experience to retain possession and as Meath chased the game Brian Fenton, Cormac Costello and Ciarán Kilkenny picked off the insurance scores to secure their place in the final for the 11th successive year."

Also won a penalty and created a goal.

ye won and created a goal when cruising in the first half. OK, tapped over a 10 yard point with the ball put in his hands straight in front of the posts. The big game player!

Yeah, apart from being involved in the key moments, he did nothing, you are so correct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Listened to the Football Pod interview with Beggan and McManus earlier. They were talking about the semi final last year and how Dublin pushed on last ten. One of the lads actually named checked Fenton for kicking into gear and pushing Dublin on, they won the last 10 minutes by something like 1-4 to a point. I'd say the two lads know what they are talking about now.

Ye he was involved when Dublin were cruising. When the crunch came disappeared. Was helpless to stem the tide in the second half when Meath over ran them from all angles.

If you think tapping over a ten yard point put in his hands disproves this then fair play. He was no where to be seen for that second half, couldn't take control in the center or stem the tide, just like he couldn't against Mayo or anytime he met Barry.

That's the reality. If he's supposed to be the best ever, surely it's fair game to judge him in moments his team was under the cosh. Surely excelling in those moments is the mark of greatness? He failed on every count when tested imo, we all seen it tbh!