Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2021 :Round 2 Imola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,656 ✭✭✭✭flazio

antodeco wrote: »
    Or just have any lapped cars start from the Pit lane in their correct order. Just has them out of the way, and they are penalised aswell. Green light on the put lane after 10 seconds once the "final" unlapped car passes a particular line

But then, you'll have, and the same if you had them line up on the grid in track position order, first lapped car and last unlapped car nearly a lap apart when they might well have been within seconds of each other when the red flag came out

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    But then, you'll have, and the same if you had them line up on the grid in track position order, first lapped car and last unlapped car nearly a lap apart when they might well have been within seconds of each other when the red flag came out

There's going to be some drivers affected more than others and I'd prefer it was the midfield/who cares runners where that mostly happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,656 ✭✭✭✭flazio

There's going to be some drivers affected more than others and I'd prefer it was the midfield/who cares runners where that mostly happens.
    Well, that's about 8 teams out of 10 right now so good luck in getting that signed into the regulations.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Hamilton really has a horseshoe up his a$$ when it comes to safety cars/red flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It should be said that Russell had a pass on Bottas if they hadn't collided and he had no business doing that considering the gap between the cars.

flazio wrote: »
    Well, that's about 8 teams out of 10 right now so good luck in getting that signed into the regulations.

In an individual race I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

What a race. I was sure Lewis had blown it. Just goes to show how good Lewis is and how bad Bottas is in the Mercedes.

George Russell so disapointed for him but he made the mistake. He could have had points.

Sergio Perez what a horrible day he had. Just not his day.
    Lando Norris done brilliant and delighted he got on the podium.
    Max Verstappen just brilliant. Delighted he won. He deserved it.
    Lewis done well to recover to 2nd we can say what we like but he is some driver.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

AMKC wrote: »
    Lewis done well to recover to 2nd we can say what we like but he is some driver.

I mean what else would we be saying...he's easily top 3 best drivers there has ever been and anybody making the argument for best ever would have a strong case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

its an absolute disgrace that the system can allow any driver to end up in lewis s position given what happened.
    he crashed,
    played around in the gravel for 30-60 seconds getting it out
    broke his wing
    had to pit

it shouldnt be posible to only end up down a few positions and end up on the lead lap with no major natural punishment for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,742 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Best car with a fine driver, but Hamilton in a McLaren today wouldn't be able to regain places like that. It's not all Hamilton to be fair. Great recovery though, and great to watch.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

What annoyed me with the DRS today was that it was obvious visually and the timing on-screen bore it out, Hamilton wasn't really getting a run out of the final turn on Norris especially. It was a pure DRS pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭lolie

What annoyed me with the DRS today was that it was obvious visually and the timing on-screen bore it out, Hamilton wasn't really getting a run out of the final turn on Norris especially. It was a pure DRS pass.

Yeah great comeback from Hamilton but absolutely no skill in those overtakes with the drs, the cars ahead may as well have pulled over such was the difference in speed between them.

The Hamilton pass on Norris, the Mercedes is an absolute rocket with the drs open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Joeface

5sec Penalty for Stroll gaining an advanced .

Swaps places with Gasly ,

Good drives from both today.

Alpha Tauri made these mistakes last year as well slow to decide when to change or how long to hang on. Cost them points at times as well last year.
    tsunoda got a penalty as well for gaining an advantage.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

He got a few warnings Tsunona, I think he just ignored them and was pushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,741 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

its an absolute disgrace that the system can allow any driver to end up in lewis s position given what happened.
    he crashed,
    broke his wing
    had to pit

it shouldnt be posible to only end up down a few positions and end up on the lead lap with no major natural punishment for it.

he was very lucky with the red flag

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭barryribs

Joeface wrote: »
    5sec Penalty for Stroll gaining an advanced .

How they missed that during the race is beyond me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭VegetaIRL8e

Ok maybe been covered but I only just watched the race back now.
    How was Hamilton not punished for reversing the car back onto the track. There was definitely cars coming through (McLaren)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

he crashed,
    broke his wing
    had to pit

Maybe if the crash between Bottas and Russel had not happened then Hamilton might not have been so lucky as he would have lost more places coming in to get his wing changed but because of that he was able to come in under the safety car and did not lose as many places as he could have. So ye as the poster above says Hamilton got lucky.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Joeface

Ok maybe been covered but I only just watched the race back now.
    How was Hamilton not punished for reversing the car back onto the track. There was definitely cars coming through (McLaren)?

Earlier in the thread the guys here say it was double yellows so under that he is allowed to ,as the speed is greatly reduced and also the Stewarts were guiding him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭VegetaIRL8e

Joeface wrote: »
    Earlier in the thread the guys here say it was double yellows so under that he is allowed to ,as the speed is greatly reduced and also the Stewarts were guiding him .
    Fair enough. Cant argue with that.

They should make a rule where you are not allowed to reverse during a race. During practice it would be fine, but during the race, that's your bad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

AMKC wrote: »
    Maybe if the crash between Bottas and Russel had not happened then Hamilton might not have been so lucky as he would have lost more places coming in to get his wing changed but because of that he was able to come in under the safety car and did not lose as many places as he could have. So ye as the poster above says Hamilton got lucky.

i understand that. its pure luck with the timing

but the system shouldnt allow that to happen. its wrong that he got no real disadvantage from all that.

Funniest radio message of the day:

Lando: the clutch keeps slipping on the exit of corners.

Team: you keep getting the paddle Lando.

Funniest radio message of the day:

Lando: the clutch keeps slipping on the exit of corners.

Team: you keep getting the paddle Lando.

I'd say as soon as he heard that he thought "Please don't let that be on the telly" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭chicorytip

MadYaker wrote: »
    It should be said that Russell had a pass on Bottas if they hadn't collided and he had no business doing that considering the gap between the cars.
    Bottas did nothing wrong at all. The fault for the collision lay with Russell. Wolff implied as much. It was a rash move to attempt given the damp conditions and his reaction afterwards was childish and petulant. Norris looks a better driver than him right now. Yes, you might say, he has a much superior car but seems more mature and is progressing more rapidly.

chicorytip wrote: »
    Bottas did nothing wrong at all. The fault for the collision lay with Russell. Wolff implied as much. It was a rash move to attempt given the damp conditions and his reaction afterwards was childish and petulant. Norris looks a better driver than him right now. Yes, you might say, he has a much superior car but seems more mature and is progressing more rapidly.

I'd put it 85% on Russell. Bottas feinted right just a shade later than he should have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭This is it

chicorytip wrote: »

Agree 100%. Even if there was a twitch right from Bottas, there was a cars width left for Russell but he went right, caught the grass and that was that. I can understand why Russell would try to avoid Bottas if he thought he was coming across but at the same time, it's up to him to keep the car on the road and the space was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Fantastic race to watch. As many have said so nice to be back at these race tracks where mistakes get punished. Can only think of both McLaren drivers as well as maybe Ocon (because we barely saw him) and Gasly who managed to stay between the white lines for the race.

Agreed that Lewis was very lucky to get his car back on track and the red flag timing but Max was also very lucky his spin at the restart didn't cost him at all. Was a pity we didn't get a standing start there..

Interesting to see the drivers at new teams all struggling today, obviously conditions they're not used to at all but it really shows that it takes a bit of time to get up to speed especially this year with the reduced testing. Ricciardo well off the pace of Lando, Sainz pulled it together well after a dicey start. Alonso and Vettel outperformed by their teammates and Checo had an unusually error strewn performance.

All those get a free pass from me as no one really hitting the ground running in new machinery this season.

Bottas though the big loser of the day. While I don't think he was at fault for the crash the mere fact a Williams was about to overtake him is very concerning. I think he struggles in the wet in general but from Saturday onwards he was well below par.

Very early days but really enjoyable start to a season and has potential to be most exciting to me since the Jordan era with a proper title fight and a tighter bunched field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

I would say Bottas is very fragile mentally at the moment, he really needs to get a handle on the situation or he will end up like Albon and out of F1 at the end of the season. Qualifying 8th, and plodding in the midfield until the incident. I think it has been over looked in the rush to blame one or the other, but the reality is a Merc shouldn't be defending their position on track from a Williams! That situation would have been unimaginable even 12 months ago. Russel let himself down badly with the interview after, and perhaps showed a little immaturity. Can't imagine it will have done him any favours with Mercedes.

Elsewhere AT really cocked things up leaving Gasly out for so long on wets. Another horror show from AM and they are not winning any fans at the moment. Would suit them better to get there house in order before threatening legal action against the FIA over the new regs. Good recovery from Sainz, and Lando looked very fast.

Great drive from Max apart from the slide on the restart. Lewis got very, very lucky with the circumstances, it does seem a bit ridiculous that he could be beached for 30 seconds, reverse on track and make his way to the pits a lap down, then get a free stop to repair the damage and unlap himself before the start. I understand why the rule is there, but I don't really agree with it as it gives them a huge advantage. I am also realistic enough to say that it is the same rule for everybody and Lewis just happened to benefit this time, but he does have a knack of getting lucky with safety cars. Although others would say you create your own luck...

I am also reminded of his petulance last year over the 2 X 5 second penalties for the pit lane practice start when he claimed the FIA were trying to stop him, and would have loved somebody to remind him of that yesterday when he benefitted. Sky are fairly tiresome in their fawning over him too, the groan from Ted after the slow stop was cringey, and as for Brundle in the interviews...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,111 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Id say bottas is toast tbh, pity, I like him