Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three people escape from quarantine

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭basill

Someone needs to tell the nurse to identify herself as a member of the travelling community. Cue upgrade to a suite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

We can't even run a quarantine here without a Keystone Kops style routine.

Not commenting on the rights and wrongs of quarantining, but if you are going to do it, either do it right or don't bother.
    If its to be a success, it's credibility is crucial, they'll now have to punish these people severely or the system will be a laughing stock, even more so than it already is.
    The political class in Ireland are absolutely useless beyond words.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,800 ✭✭✭appledrop

So she should be exempt from the rules because she is a nurse?

I'd be concerned that she is not prepared for situation in Irish hospitals the moment if she is so up in arms about her quarantine.

She will have to spend 12 hours shifts in full PPE, which is uncomfortable, hot and makes it very difficult to do the job.

Staff often don't take breaks as they say not worth hassle of taking all gear on and off for a break.

Will she be on the news about that aswell?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,338 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

appledrop wrote: »
    They have two rooms!!!!!!

It's all staged by media. Irish Times gave a better video where second room is clearly shown.

The best bit is where the mother opens the empty!!!!!!!! wardrobes.

Here's a tip for them, pick your clothes and suitcases off the floor and put them in wardrobes.

What a joke.

Has any reporter asked these people what room(s) they actually booked and if they have received what they booked? Did they even book? Could they not do a chargeback on their credit card if they didn't get what they booked?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

They'll have to give them adjoining rooms. Problem solved.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

They already have two interconnecting rooms. Not that you'd know it listening to their whinging. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

They already have them!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭davetherave

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Bit embarrassing this for the Defence Forces

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0327/1206551-coronavirus-hotel-quarantine-ireland/

At least one of the three has been located but jesus how hard is it for them to make sure no one escapes in the first place?

Why is it embarrassing for the Defence Forces, it is not in their remit to act as a security guard. They are there as the State Liaison. Private buses bring required travellers from their port of entry to a designated facilty, not a Defence Forces minibus/coach. There is not hordes of soldiers, sailors and airmen roaming the grounds ready to gun down anyone who is more than 20 metres away from the hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭standardg60

Not commenting on the rights and wrongs of quarantining, but if you are going to do it, either do it right or don't bother.
    If its to be a success, it's credibility is crucial, they'll now have to punish these people severely or the system will be a laughing stock, even more so than it already is.
    The political class in Ireland are absolutely useless beyond words.

You're right, if they were jailed at least they could take comfort in the fact that the state would be paying for their bed and board instead of charging them for the pleasure of being detained.

As usual, internet experts.

The defence forces are loading and overseeing the transfers only. They have no hand in controlling the interior security nor do they have either the remit or authority to use force and detain people.

Gardai are informed when s guest leaves and they investigate.

The dpp decide if someone will be prosecuted or not.

Let me be clear about this.

The law does not grant the direct power of force to detain people.
    The Gardai do not have a direct power of arrest for leaving quarantine. Only if someone fails to give their name and address.
    Non residents can perfectly legally return to the airport and leave the state within the 12 days. The right to return is enshrined in international law.
    The hotel stay is paid in full in advance. It's pretty cheap for children actually.

If you are unhappy about this, tell your td. They make the law but I for one do not want to see people getting dragged from planes to hotels when they committed no crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭basill

As usual, internet experts.

The defence forces are loading and overseeing the transfers only. They have no hand in controlling the interior security nor do they have either the remit or authority to use force and detain people.

Gardai are informed when s guest leaves and they investigate.

The dpp decide if someone will be prosecuted or not.

Let me be clear about this.

The law does not grant the direct power of force to detain people.
    The Gardai do not have a direct power of arrest for leaving quarantine. Only if someone fails to give their name and address.
    Non residents can perfectly legally return to the airport and leave the state within the 12 days. The right to return is enshrined in international law.
    The hotel stay is paid in full in advance. It's pretty cheap for children actually.

If you are unhappy about this, tell your td. They make the law but I for one do not want to see people getting dragged from planes to hotels when they committed no crime.

Have you read the Health (Amendment) Act 2021.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,114 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

theguzman wrote: »
    I'd rather mix with the three abscondees than anyone else, they all recently tested negative unlike the vast majority of the population. From an infection control point of view travel has never been safer, mandatory mask wearing, mandatory negative tests, there is nothing more that could be done unless to ban unvaccinated travelers. This is purely spin and deflection away from the real problems.

Do you know them?

Because one of the reasons to be sent to quarantine is if you land without a recent test, regardless of where you are flying in from. That is why they have the daily rate of 150 quid.

Your post is purely spin and deflection

• Registered Users Posts: 85,284 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

I have no idea why the defence forces are there to start with :confused:

They get transported on a coach why do they need a convoy?

The DF are in situ in a strictly liasion capacity.

They have zero enforcement powers but due to this being a measure brought in by the state, a person working/acting on behalf of the state is required to be present....for monitoring/liaison purposes.

In reality, it's cheaper to have a member of the DF present rather than a member of AGS. Plus the "optics" surrounding military enforcement upon civilians is deemed too harsh.

If the DF were providing quarantine enforcement, nobody would be escaping.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,700 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Are the army not capable of detaining these people? Why were they only given escort duty? It's only a handful of hotels, what else are they doing?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Are the army not capable of detaining these people? Why were they only given escort duty? It's only a handful of hotels, what else are they doing?

Yeah, they are not capable, you got it in one.

Someone get this man a lollipop as a prize for being a legend.

And you have to pay a lot of money for this prison. Those young kids will be traumatised after these 2 weeks. The long flight from Oz is bad enough, now you get the 2 weeks box hotel prison room that costs you €200 a night.

Well one thing we know about the people, and it is fair to comment on them given that they are seeking publicity, is that the poor kids will likely have to suffer more than their fair share of shame and indignation throughout their lives. This will be but a minor blip in that path.

Having parents thick enough to have not organized themselves a little bit better, to either avoid Dubai or else arrive in a few hours earlier if they really needed to avoid mandatory hotel quarantine. And then proceed to publicise their stupidity in the national media. It doesn't bode well for other decisions they might be making!

basill wrote: »
    Have you read the Health (Amendment) Act 2021.

I have read them all. I have no choice because directions and clarification are rare.

What part interests you?

I don't see why the army, or anyone, needs to detain people.

Once a person the quarantine by leaving the facility, they are breaking the law and it presumably becomes a criminal matter. The security just need to report it and then let the guards deal with it. The eejits flew in, presumably on passports, and the guards will have their details.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,529 ✭✭✭baldbear

Do people pay for the hotel rooms upfront does anyone know? If so, you are paying €1800 and then a €2k fine.

Read threads much? They have no powers

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,063 ✭✭✭✭beertons

So have they been found yet? Did they run, and take their bags with them?

baldbear wrote: »
    Do people pay for the hotel rooms upfront does anyone know? If so, you are paying €1800 and then a €2k fine.

I think that there is a daily rate of 150 for people who arrive in from non-red-list countries without a valid test. So if you landed in from France tomorrow without a valid test, you would be sent to quarantine until you could show one

• Registered Users Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

The hotel rooms in Oz would have been a hell of a lot better for a start, based on the conditions of what I saw on the news today.

They were complaining of mice in the rooms of the hotels in Australia and not being able to open the windows or even go outside the door to exercise.

It's the crown plaza (nice rooms and gardens) it's not the metro in ballymun

• Registered Users Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I’ve lived in Oz and in most cases they are very much a less talk, more action kind of society. They do things right most of the time, without a big song and dance about it. They are almost the opposite of the clowns in charge here.
    Today is only the first day of this. Just wait for this to unfold over next few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,800 ✭✭✭appledrop

They were complaining of mice in the rooms of the hotels in Australia and not being able to open the windows or even go outside the door to exercise.

It's the crown plaza (nice rooms and gardens) it's not the metro in ballymun

Yea some of hotels in Australia where in a shocking condition, height of their summer 35+ degrees and you couldn't open windows. They got 1 fresh air break a week!

There is currently an infestation of mice in Australia at the moment so thats probably why in some rooms.

I'd be staying in my 4 star room in Ireland and not complaining!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

volchitsa wrote: »
    But you already know that what you saw on the news wasn't the truth. There were two interconnecting rooms, and there were (presumably, in a four star hotel) wardrobes to hang up their clothes.

The photo was a set up. More fool you if you fall for it.

(I know people who had to go back to China for work: they had to pay more than that again, albeit for a five star hotel. So maybe four str isn't good enough, but it will be more expensive if it's five star.)

Is it even four or five star hotels anymore? Do they have the use of hotel facilities?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

It's Ireland, the taxpayer will be paying their tab.

Good. Those that demanded this ****e and supported it should have to pay for the mess they've created.

It would be far cheaper to pay for the quarantines of those coming in than it would be if they brought in new variants or even seeded more cases of existing ones.

But they should have to pay themselves. If they can't afford to travel, then they should stay put.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

We can't even run a quarantine here without a Keystone Kops style routine.
    You're right, if they were jailed at least they could take comfort in the fact that the state would be paying for their bed and board instead of charging them for the pleasure of being detained.

Well for a start they've already paid, but that's not the point in making.
    I'm simply saying that if the system is to have any credibility, if this will have to be punished, otherwise it'll render the system useless and it'll be laughed at and ignored by loads.