Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling Mikey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,855 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

This is hilarious, Mikey goes meta, and catches a driver reading an article about Mikey

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Taxi driver also deserved what he got, what a muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

The only front line that chap saw was the one for the officers canteen. 😂

I find cycling mikey to be unnecessarily confrontational much like the other fella cycling gaz. Yep the majority of the time they're correct. It's just a shame that it's cyclists calling out motorists as it just creates hatred for cyclists. It should be the police suffering the ire of motorists.

Sure we have our own Cork man hot on their heels. I find him entirely belligerent but more often than not he has every right to be. You can see though that some motorists appear to be targeting him as there seems to be numerous repeat offenders.

If it's Mikey and Gaz that creates hatred of cyclists, who was responsible for all the hatred of cyclists that was commonplace before they came along?

Their previous iteration in whatever guise that may have been. There was a whole world prior to social media and the hatred towards cyclists was much more compartmentalised.

I don't blame them solely for it but more often than not for something I'd consider low on the risk scale he challenges motorist. Normal pattern ensues he plays the moral high ground motorist gets irate and drives off in an aggressive manner. Now motorist who previously may have had a dislike to cyclists is all wound up. What do you think his reaction to the next cyclist is going to be? Not good would be my guess.

Yes the argument is there for the next incident being as a result of motorist being on his phone or something else. There's no arguing that and I'm certainly not. Do you think anything he's doing is having a positive impact because I'm sure the behaviour of these motorists doesn't change.

I'd be all in favour of a specific task force in the police/Gardaí that would tackle this and not have cyclists policing this at all. This guy would be great to have and 10 others like him.

I don't think it was compartmentalised. It was all over the media, George Hook, Gerry Ryan, Pat Kenny and more complaining about cyclists. It was embedded into programming, with 'jokes' about how many points you'd get for hitting a cyclist or a pedestrian.

Hating cyclists isn't new, and isn't down to social media activists. Standing up to that hat is fairly new, and we need more of it.

"Hating cyclists isn't new, and isn't down to social media activists. Standing up to that hat is fairly new, and we need more of it."

That's not what I said though is it and if you think it hasn't been exacerbated by social I'm sorry but you're a fool.

Do you think the actions of Cycling Mikey, Cycling Gaz is having any significant impact on cyclists safety?

800 successful prosecutions in the past five years, including some highly publicised celebrity cases - you’re damn right he’s had a significant impact, more significant than most police officers.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Bottom line is he and others have had more of an impact then doing nothing. he's put a number of people off the roads and made others rethink their idiotic and dangerous behaviour. Thats a good thing.

It's the media just using him to drum up hate, but if it wasn't mikey it would just be something else or someone else to create the same cycling hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,254 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Mikey doesn’t need anyone to help drum up the hate for him. The way he goes about his business is enough to get people to hate him. Personally I think he is an arse. Would have a lot more time for him doing the same stuff in his everyday commute rather than the way he justs go fishing for it

and as for cyclists in general being hated, they are hated for different reason and again don’t need the media to stir the pot. D1c&head cyclists going down wrong side of road, breaking lights, wrong way up one way streets, cycling on paths, unnecessary queue jumping etc etc, well it’s these lads who bring the hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Paddigol

That's a lot of hate. Does everyone on the road hate everyone else? All those pedestrians stepping onto the road to get around obstacles, not bothering to cross at lights. The cars parked up on pavements, in loading bays, pulled in to bus stops. The delivery vans and taxis that just lash in the hazards and stop wherever they like. The motorists who have never heard of an indicator, who insist on driving 2ft from your rear bumper, who break the speed limit on every category of road, who think the middle lane on the motorway is for cruising at 90kmph, who think amber means accelerate?

Everyone using the road must be an as***le and hate everyone around them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Most of those infractions by cyclists have zero impact or potential risks to anyone else and whilst not following the laws do not risk anyone other than the cyclist themselves, and even then its could also be making their life safer (such as getting away from traffic lights a couple of seconds ahead of cars).

The hate from car drivers is just down to them being annoyed at being stuck in traffic and not being able to do the same things themselves. Why isn't there more hate directed towards car drivers whose actions actually have a vastly more significant negative impact on those around them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,254 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Do you want to offer anything else other that weak response? Why do you think motorists are such an angry, aggressive bunch of people - which they must be applying your logic.

Do the d1ckhead drivers who do all of the above, and a lot, lot more, and with a lot, lot more devastating consequences bring the hate onto motorists?

BTW, how do you know whether Mikey is commuting or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭cletus

Whatever about the rest of it, his own videos show him standing in the hedge at that Gandalf corner (I think that's the name anyway), and then stepping out when he sees an infraction he wants to record.

It might be commuting, but it'd be the strangest commuting I ever saw

And before I get asked for proof, this is the first video when you search for "cycling Mikey Gandalf corner"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

What’s wrong with that? It never fails to amaze me the amount of people who try to justify driving on the wrong side of a traffic island in his videos.

Could easily be on the way to his destination and he just leaves few min early to enable him to stand at the corner,

Some people sit in traffic on their way to the destination, mikey stands at a corner. Whats the difference? Mikey still likely gets to his destination faster 😂

Also, numerous times he has stated that he his commuting in his videos and on the way he just keeps an eye out for mobile phone users.

Like I said, it might be commuting, but it's the oddest form I've ever seen. As I said way back at the start of this thread, if he's happy, grand. Personally I can think of many, many better things to do with my spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I haven't done it, but there's a few junctions I've been tempted to wait a cycle of lights just to record just how many cars go through red (Whites Cross in particular).

It happens at every junction by both cars and bikes and to be honest is probably more common with bikes albeit the potential for incident is usually far lower.

It's one thing I never do and thought most normal cyclists were the same until out on another clubs club spin and I was surprised to see the number that didn't even slow for a red light never mind stop.

Interesting test pool here though to get an idea of how divisive these social media personalities are.

"Also, numerous times he has stated that he his commuting in his videos and on the way he just keeps an eye out for mobile phone users."

Looking at some of his videos it's far more targeted than a commuter passing a motorist and noticing them on their phone. In some he was clearly awaiting motorists and then joins traffic on his bike to record then confront the motorist. I don't get the confrontation I don't think I've once seen it end well. 🤷‍♂️

I wouldn't mind she ended up going straight on in the end. 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I honestly don't see it as much with bikes out in the suburbs. More in the city centre, but it's more akin to jaywalking in my experience - crossing when the road is clear even though you've a red man or rolling through with the pedestrian cycle. Is slowly going through with the pedestrian light cycle really the same as putting the foot down to go through a clear red across the N11 (and N11 actually has green and is beginning to move/ pedestrian lights have a green man) from Newtownpark Avenue? Both illegal, very different level of potential consequence.

True, I generally tend to look at it that there's enough reasons for motorists to hate cyclists so why give them another. I do understand the argument for risks being entirely different in certain scenarios. I also know the annoyance of coming up to a pedestrian crossing and watching a pedestrian press the button to cross then just walk out leaving cars to sit at a red light 30s after they've left. I guess my point it's annoying but I wouldn't go through it in a car so I wouldn't go through it on a bike.

I don’t think he, or anyone, is suggesting that you should do what he does.

Any chance you are Cycling Mikey 😂😂 Also that reference doesn't bear any relevance to what I said ended well, do keep up.

Moving on from the 800 figure which I'm vaguely curious as to the truth in that figure. It also highlights the pittance that truly is as I could catch 800 offences driving to work in the morning by both cyclists and motorists and even pedestrians if you wanted to be pedantic about it.

That's true. I was merely expressing an opinion. If he is stopping on his commute to hide in a ditch, I could find better things to do with the time it takes to do that. Also, in the video I posted above, he doesn't just video the driver and then submit the footage, he continues to follow her to tell her what he's going to do.Can't seethe point of this, other than the hope of a confrontation which will (presumably) drive views/numbers/traffic on his youtube channel

@iwillhtfu I questioned the suggestion "cycling mikey is making London streets safer" by asking for some empirical evidence of this. None was forthcoming. The number of prosecutions was offered, but no stats regarding a reduction in crashes, injuries, deaths etc.