Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

130km commute?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,102 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Truckermal wrote: »
    How is the Leaf outdated when the latest model only came out in 2018?

I think I'll gamble away with my daysul yoke for another few months..

Leaf uses a Chademo plug for fast charging, the standard in most of Europe is CCS, so a lot of the newer high powered chargers being installed can't be used by the Leaf, you're stuck with the existing one to an extent

The Leaf also has no battery cooling, which can cause the car the reduce fast charging power to prevent the battery overheating

Overall the new Leaf interior looks very like the first generation one I have, if you get one new you're essentially buying at car with 10 year old technology on board

I don't think they're good value new considering there are competing cars with much more up to date technology on board for similar money. However they are great cars in general, nice to drive, reliable and cheap to run

Like I said, if you can find a 2nd had Leaf 40kWh at a good price then it'll more than meet your needs

EDIT: here's the cheapest Leaf40 I could find, a good €9k cheaper than new and pretty well specced from the look of it

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/nissan/leaf/fpa/202103079860186?journey=Search

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

So I take it the Leaf is not a good buy? A brand new ioniq is 30K after grant's..

Where do you see this?

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

slave1 wrote: »
    Where do you see this?

Plenty of posts in this thread like the one above..

Posts yes, but no links, I’ll try Hyundai dealer over next few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭Redfox25

Its on the Hyundai website , seems to be only available until 31 Mar though.
    https://www.hyundai.ie/home/offer-page/eco-upgrade.html

I suspect that you would be doing well to get your new Ioniq for 30k though, throw in "delivery charge" and other bits and they will bump it back up given half a chance.

Posts yes, but no links, I’ll try Hyundai dealer over next few days

Sorry I thought you were talking about my comments on the Leaf! They were giving me scrappage for my own Car but said they would sell it on as it has new NCT plus the grant it was coming in just over 30K.

I asked about haggling room and he said call in with my own Car..

Just off phone to some Hyundai dealers, just over €34k for a new H38.3, the €3k is pure scrappage which is not relevant to me as I've a 162 Leaf30 that I have to move on...
    That car is not worth that amount, not versus the ID3, but in fairness it's very close real world range to the ID3, has heat pump included, a reversing camera (essential for herself), slightly bigger and alloys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,510 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Just off phone to some Hyundai dealers, just over €34k for a new H38.3, the €3k is pure scrappage which is not relevant to me as I've a 162 Leaf30 that I have to move on...
    That car is not worth that amount, not versus the ID3, but in fairness it's very close real world range to the ID3, has heat pump included, a reversing camera (essential for herself), slightly bigger and alloys.

Would it be worth your while buying a banger (with NCT) and then use that for scrappage and sell the Leaf privately?

Perhaps, will check with dealer

It must be registered in your name for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,719 ✭✭✭✭unkel

It must be registered in your name for a few months.

Lots of official Hyundai Ireland T&C but some individual dealers don't really care about them and accept any €50 "company car" you just bought from a knacker around the corner. Have a look at the original Ioniq 28kWh thread for all the details if you don't mind reading through a few thousand posts :D
    How is the Leaf outdated when the latest model only came out in 2018?

The current 2021 Leaf is still 90% the same as the old 2009 Leaf. Motor, drive train, chargers all still exactly the same as back then, terribly outdated, slow and obsolete fast charger, no battery cooling. Good car, but know what you are getting. A lot of owners don't care about any of this as it doesn't affect them.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote: »
    The current 2021 Leaf is still 90% the same as the old 2009 Leaf. Motor, drive train, chargers all still exactly the same as back then, terribly outdated, slow and obsolete fast charger, no battery cooling. Good car, but know what you are getting. A lot of owners don't care about any of this as it doesn't affect them.

Ah now, not exactly there bud, motor has almost doubled in power - 214bhp versus 108,0-60 now 6.9seconds which is way better than the original 11.5, I know there are few and far between but the charge rate is now 100kW for the e+ (think I've seen some 70kWh CHAdeMO chargers recently).

It has snuck in some nice updates in fairness including the refresh look and very positive reviews of the pro pilot...and built very very well, you rarely hear of software or 12v issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,102 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Ah now, not exactly there bud, motor has almost doubled in power - 214bhp versus 108,0-60 now 6.9seconds which is way better than the original 11.5, I know there are few and far between but the charge rate is now 100kW for the e+ (think I've seen some 70kWh CHAdeMO chargers recently).

It has snuck in some nice updates in fairness including the refresh look and very positive reviews of the pro pilot...and built very very well, you rarely hear of software or 12v issues

I think the biggest gripe with the Leaf is that it starts at €27k for a car from 2018 (or 2011 for some of the components). You're in the region of much newer EVs which have benefitted from some of the advances in EV design

Like I say, if you can get a 2nd hand one for a good price then it's a great car which will serve you well. But Nissan are just messing if they think that car is worth €27k new

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,182 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

It's the same motor, same drivetrain etc since 2013 (132).
    They have incrementally changed but it's predominantly the same. A very old car in a new frock.

The 62kWh leaf charges at the 100kW chademo points at a max of 70kW when not rapidgating.

unkel wrote: »
    Lots of official Hyundai Ireland T&C but some individual dealers don't really care about them and accept any €50 "company car" you just bought from a knacker around the corner. Have a look at the original Ioniq 28kWh thread for all the details if you don't mind reading through a few thousand posts :D

Ya, quick call around and anything will do....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

OK it's me again what's your thoughts on the Leaf offer with 0% finance and the €4000 scrappage?

Clocked my journey and it's 110KM I am sick of diesel and all the hassle of old Cars.

How much electricity would it use? I work for a very good employer and I've been told they would install a charge point at work.

Why is one Leaf so much more expensive?

Also the guy with the 530E how far does it go in just EV mode?

if this is me... sorry for the late response. It does not go far enough. in our experience, it's between 25 and 45km dependent on temp and driving speed. This is perfect for my wife's driving pattern, but ****e for my driving pattern and not good enough for yours.