Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

paw patrol wrote: »
    over 70s were told not to leave their homes at all in the first few months.

True, I just acknowledged that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

pjohnson wrote: »
    Tbf if the government did start to promote excercise more vocally it'd just attract protesters to be anti-excercise aswell as anti-vax, anti-mask etc.

Typical post from you. Trying and failing to be funny.

As usual, nothing of substance or relevance to add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭richardkeiths

Lundstram wrote: »

he has a point! Michael Martin could come out with a cure for cancer and people would say ah heres Me-Hole trying to be a great fella.

Some people have no idea how a country is governed. Its easy to criticise but I doubt anyone here could do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

I cant speak for everyone, of course, but I've always seen people out walking so even if I read nothing at all I would know getting out for fresh air if I wanted to was fine.

At my age I don't need to be encouraged to go for a walk for my physical or mental health. I know it's important.

I personally don't know of anyone who has not realised they could go for a walk. Perhaps there are some, but I would imagine that number to be very low.

Postcode lottery, are you aware that some rural areas are utter misery to try to walk? Dangerous in fact, but then I guess you could say that jumping into a ditch to avoid being flattened by trucks is exercise too.

Multipass wrote: »
    Postcode lottery, are you aware that some rural areas are utter misery to try to walk? Dangerous in fact, but then I guess you could say that jumping into a ditch to avoid being flattened by trucks is exercise too.

they didnt seem too bothered about exercise up till now if they were content driving everywhere prior to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

he has a point! Michael Martin could come out with a cure for cancer and people would say ah heres Me-Hole trying to be a great fella.

Some people have no idea how a country is governed. Its easy to criticise but I doubt anyone here could do it.

the problem is as follows;

Suppose MM is doing a great job (I don't think he is, but I'll play ball)

We have no idea that he is doing a great job, because the PR is ****ing awful!

If you want people to follow, you need to not only do the right thing, but be seen to do the right thing.

These constant errors in messaging are undermining any good will that is left at this stage.

So - he may be doing a great job according to some, but his ability to show that has fallen well short, to an almost comedic level

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

I have friends that exercise at home. People are doing whatever they can. If people lived in rural areas with no access to decent roads to walk on, were they out on them before covid? Or were all people in rural areas avid gym goers? Some people just don't exercise and no amount of suggestion will get them to do it.

they didnt seem too bothered about exercise up till now if they were content driving everywhere prior to this.

I don’t know what that’s supposed to mean? You drive somewhere safe to exercise when you live on this type of road. Something that is now forbidden because DANGER.

Micheál Martin is an incredibly uninspiring leader. I struggle to think of any other Taoiseach in recent times who would be a worse option to have running the country at the moment.

You probably voted for him or Leo! If not you voted for that chancer McDonald.

Stop moaning and run for a party yourself if you think youd do a better job.

What are you solving here talking ****e on boards?

The irrelevancy of the conversation here is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

You probably voted for him or Leo! If not you voted for that chancer McDonald.

Stop moaning and run for a party yourself if you think youd do a better job.

The irrelevancy of the conversation here is hilarious.

says the poster contributing to it...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

Tork wrote: »
    I have family who live in an area where the roads are too dangerous to walk along. So every day they get in their car and drive to the local village where they can safely walk around on the footpaths and in the park. Simples.

If the village is outside of 5k, they are breaking the restrictions and therefore are responsible for us staying in this mess and if not for them, we'd be out having pints by now.

Obviously this is not true, but is the view of many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

A classic of the genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Tork

I don’t know what that’s supposed to mean? You drive somewhere safe to exercise when you live on this type of road. Something that is now forbidden because DANGER.

If this is forbidden, it will be news to my aunt and uncle. They've been able to get into their car and drive to somewhere safer to walk every single day. Sometimes they meet a garda checkpoint and have yet to be turned back.

Im delighted the virus is something for you to scoff at.

What needs to happen for people to cop on? Does the virus need to have the mortality rate of ebola?

Were currently unvaccinated for the most part. If we open up like we did at christmas we will be in the ****ter.

People dont care thought, weve become so selfish and entitled. Imagine risk peoples lives for a haircut!

Im sure in a war people want to get back to their normal lives. But if you walk outside a bomb might go off. Its the same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Lundstram wrote: »

That's his whole posting career, well before COVID too. He comes in making some sarcastic comment, often insulting, accompanied by an eye rolling emoji or something similar. I've a feeling that if he was aiming his snark the other way he'd of been thread banned along time ago.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

everlast75 wrote: »
    says the poster contributing to it...

FACT

Im as pathetic as you wannabe experts here

Your opinion is invalid!

I have friends that exercise at home. People are doing whatever they can. If people lived in rural areas with no access to decent roads to walk on, were they out on them before covid? Or were all people in rural areas avid gym goers? Some people just don't exercise and no amount of suggestion will get them to do it.

You’re just on a wind up with this. I’ll give you a clue what people did before covid - they got in their motor vehicles and drove a relatively short distance to the woods, the hills, the lakes. There they exercised in the fresh air and nature. Thank goodnesss we have our government to protect us from doing these dangerous things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Tork

If the village is outside of 5k, they are breaking the restrictions and therefore are responsible for us staying in this mess and if not for them, we'd be out having pints by now.

Obviously this is not true, but is the view of many.

In practice, it would appear that very few are staying within 5km. At least that's what the mobile phone data is saying. I think that 5km limit is a joke anyway and something imposed to try and make people realise they're in unnatural times. I don't agree with the 5km rule as it happens and I don't know anybody who does. It's a ridiculous thing to be hanging one's hat on when it's obvious the virus is being spread in other ways.

Opening up like we did at Christmas and staying like we are now are not the only two options. I'm absolutely fecking fed up of this being constantly presented as a binary choice.

tough shlt JimBob, if you put me or my family at risk to suit yourself you are part of the problem.

You seem to think you are owed your life back. Nothing is guaranteed in life. If this virus had a higher death rate we would be in a far more terrifying scenario.

Most people see it as an inconvenience rather than a threat.

I know a nurse who holds the hands of people as they gasp for air. Youre doing alright if thats not you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

They opened up non-essential retail last May and our numbers still continued to decline way into July. I still don't get the justification for keeping it shut, it's just forcing everyone to shop online and surely must be absolutely killing the town centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

Is anyone else concerned about all of the eggs being put into the vaccine basket?

Suppose we get the whole of the country vaccinated (I don't think this should be the metric by which we're given our rights back, but bear with me) by July. Things open back up, we're onto Level 2. By September we're at Level 0 (laughable, I know.)

And then a variant comes along that is completely resistant to our current vaccine, or at least resistant enough to spread as easily as it does now and infect as easily despite the vaccinated public. What then? Is it back to lockdown until another vaccine is created and distributed?

Obviously it's good that we're rolling out the vaccine, but I'm concerned that it's not being coupled with an actual "living alongside COVID" plan. The current Living With COVID™ is simply a "keep our heads down until we're vaccinated" plan. If this doesn't work, what then? What's our plan B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40232189.html

Why, oh why do the media keep giving these extremist loons such airtime?

They literally have no idea or understanding that we cannot continue indefinitely with lockdowns, border controls and a suppressed economy. Vaccines will reduce all known, current variants to at worst, a cold, based on current data. At that point, we need a fast and full return to normal if the country is to have funding for health, infrastructure and public sector services going forward.

There never seems to be balance in media outlets in Ireland where an alternative economic view is provided to balance the argument.

Tork wrote: »
    If this is forbidden, it will be news to my aunt and uncle. They've been able to get into their car and drive to somewhere safer to walk every single day. Sometimes they meet a garda checkpoint and have yet to be turned back.

I do the same every single day. But it’s still ‘against the rules’, and it doesn’t feel great knowing that there’s always the possibility of getting stopped.

You’re just on a wind up with this. I’ll give you a clue what people did before covid - they got in their motor vehicles and drove a relatively short distance to the woods, the hills, the lakes. There they exercised in the fresh air and nature. Thank goodnesss we have our government to protect us from doing these dangerous things.

People may not being going to their favourite wood, but are you saying people would not be able to drive 5km to a place where they can get fresh air and get a stroll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

Golfman64 wrote: »
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40232189.html

Why, oh why do the media keep giving these extremist loons such airtime?

They literally have no idea or understanding that we cannot continue indefinitely with lockdowns, border controls and a suppressed economy. Vaccines will reduce all known, current variants to at worst, a cold, based on current data. At that point, we need a fast and full return to normal if the country is to have funding for health, infrastructure and public sector services going forward.

There never seems to be balance in media outlets in Ireland where an alternative economic view is provided to balance the argument.

There must be great money for media appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Bitter that they will have to admit Boris played a blinder on vaccines.

They said Boris was dreaming with his vaccine timeline.

They said Boris was wrong to space vaccines.

They said Boris was wrong to go it alone to source vaccines.

Etc.

The manufacturers of the Vaccines themselves stated that they should not be spaced out - So Borris went against that advice. What happens if in 6 months time it's found that was the wrong choice?

You remind me of all the posters that said before xmas, that we should open up and let the economy get the xmas rush and everyone can see friends etc. Those same people now giving out that the government lifted the restrictions.

The government can't win - do they go with the Health advice or do they ignore it. Health advice is to keep the country locked down - tell me what you want them to do?

Is SF coming out and saying F**k the restrictions open the country, or are they saying they understand and that the government have to support the business better.

I've asked time and time again - who do people want in power. Labour and other smaller parties won't go into power with SF. and SF wont' want to be the largest party after next election - so what's the solution?

You can make these same arguments about the virus itself.

And we are owed our lives back. There aren't many things that are owed to us, but basic human rights are.

Youre owed nothing.

You think the illusion of society is a permanent fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

Surely we are all reading similar information. Go out for essential shopping AND exercise has always been what I've seen.

At one stage we had leo saying not to touch your neighbours doorbell or tea towels. Utter lunacy. What good does that drivel do anyone. Paralysing some people with unnecessary fear.

ingo1984 wrote: »
    At one stage we had leo saying not to touch your neighbours doorbell or tea towels. Utter lunacy. What good does that drivel do anyone. Paralysing some people with unnecessary fear.

When corona first landed here people were not sure what to do. Was it said out of genuine concern at the time or as a joke to scare people? My take is it was concern about a virus that the whole world was genuinely afraid of because info on it was so scarce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Ace2007 wrote: »
    The manufacturers of the Vaccines themselves stated that they should not be spaced out - So Borris went against that advice. What happens if in 6 months time it's found that was the wrong choice?

You remind me of all the posters that said before xmas, that we should open up and let the economy get the xmas rush and everyone can see friends etc. Those same people now giving out that the government lifted the restrictions.

The government can't win - do they go with the Health advice or do they ignore it. Health advice is to keep the country locked down - tell me what you want them to do?

Is SF coming out and saying F**k the restrictions open the country, or are they saying they understand and that the government have to support the business better.

I've asked time and time again - who do people want in power. Labour and other smaller parties won't go into power with SF. and SF wont' want to be the largest party after next election - so what's the solution?

They are in charge of the public interest not just public health. Its a balancing act and one this lot are not prepared to risk. I'd have more respect for them if they said NPHET control the opening of the country, which is blatantly evident.

Once just once Leo showed a bit of backbone and put NPHET in its place and he was absolutely shredded. Sage in the UK don't have the sort of media exposure given to Holohan and NPHET