Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

ypres5 wrote: »
    i thought you said they hadn't mentioned it?

You imagine I say a lot more than I actually say.

ypres5 wrote:
    they're already on about a winter lockdown here already
    Graham wrote:
    not really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Graham wrote: »
    I understood the only mention so far has been along the lines of we can't completely rule it out.

That's what I meant!
    It's a possibility that can't be ruled out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pepsirebel

They have a plan. They're acting on it. It's just full of unknowns right now, so they can't give you the kind of details you're so desperate for.

Allow me...you're building a house & project managing it yourself. The builder asks for a plan with dates for windows, kitchen, painting, etc to build it. However, you tell him (your quote) "it's full of unknowns right now, so can't give you the kind of details you're so desperate for"

How in God's name can you expect him to get to the finish line without the relevant info and is costing you a ton of money to do nothing.

Project management 101...information, dates, milestones, communication. None of which can be found anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

You imagine I say a lot more than I actually say.

by saying not really you basically said they didn't mention it they either have or they haven't

Pepsirebel wrote: »
    Allow me...you're building a house & project managing it yourself. The builder asks for a plan with dates for windows, kitchen, painting, etc to build it. However, you tell him (your quote) "it's full of unknowns right now, so can't give you the kind of details you're so desperate for"

How in God's name can you expect him to get to the finish line without the relevant info and is costing you a ton of money to do nothing.

Project management 101...information, dates, milestones, communication. None of which can be found anywhere.

Not seeing the similarity to be honest.

There's not much unknown about building a house or housebuilding in general.

You can set dates because you or your suppliers have control.

That's not really the way a pandemic works.

by saying not really you basically said they didn't mention it

interesting interpretation.

so when i said the government have mentioned winter lockdown and you said not really what did you mean by that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

It's laughable that they are saying that outdoor restrictions like meeting other households or increasing the 5k limit should be lifted... you head down to the beaches or parks when its sunny the amount of people meeting up and walking 5k+ is incredible.

They need to lift these restrictions to get in line with what is actually happening in the country, the leaders are out of touch, blinkered and clueless... ****ing cop on and realise the restrictions are failing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Can't comprehend what state the mental health of the country will be like a big %

That is beyond a joke and we know it will just be accepted with no challenge.

Ah its OK. They anounced an additional 10m in funding for mental health services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

It's laughable that they are saying that outdoor restrictions like meeting other households or increasing the 5k limit should be lifted... you head down to the beaches or parks when its sunny the amount of people meeting up and walking 5k+ is incredible.

They need to lift these restrictions to get in line with what is actually happening in the country, the leaders are out of touch, blinkered and clueless... ****ing cop on and realise the restrictions are failing.

Of course the 5 km estrictions will be lifted. And yes people are out walking / exercising without breaking any restrictions on sunny days. On ****e days not so much. Are there some taking the piss? I'm fairly sure there are.

But more importantly I think they do know whats "actually happening"

Atm we're seeing a small increase in case numbers. And we need to keep a lid on that. But overall things are significantly better than they were a month ago

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/nphet-fears-real-trouble-if-covid-19-cases-keep-rising-1.4508095

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,253 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

We'll find out soon enough if this is the beginning of the next wave.

If it is and we end up back in the 1000's daily cases then it will be some time before things can be relaxed.

If it's not we are OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

If it is and we end up back in the 1000's daily cases then it will be some time before things can be relaxed.

If it's not we are OK.

If it’s part of a new wave it’s time to accept lockdown doesn’t work.

Perhaps the penny will drop soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

If it's not we are OK.

Be great wouldn’t it. Keep the lockdown going and maybe a good 4 foot fall of ninja snow down on top of the country too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

If it's not we are OK.

Cheers Dr Doom.

Jesus we’d be lost without your laser sharp analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,253 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Cheers Dr Doom.

Jesus we’d be lost without your laser sharp analysis.

Indeed. Not one to brag but I have been right throughout :)

Where would you all be?

If it’s part of a new wave it’s time to accept lockdown doesn’t work.

Perhaps the penny will drop soon

Or maybe just maybe the transmissibility of the UK variant (responsible for most new cases here this year) and which has already been highlighted in making infection control more difficult than the experience of our revious restrictions and the resulting lessening of cases in 2020

Also kinda questions the idea that the virus is purely seasonal.

gozunda wrote: »
    Or maybe just maybe the transmissibility of the UK variant (responsible for most new cases here this year) and which has already been highlighted is making infection control more difficult than the experience of our revious restrictions and the resulting lessening of cases in 2020

Also kinda questions the idea that the virus is purely seasonal.

So if that's the case why are we setting goals like 200 a day that are borderline unattainable? also surely we should be focusing more on vaccination numbers than the case number game that got old a year ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Corby Trouser Press

Erh do you mean the news that only hairdressers and barbers were reopening on a national basis ? Or that the rest of Germanies restrictions were extended to March 28th?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/world/arid-40237514.html

Yeah Looks like Germany had a full on knees up over Christmas all right :rolleyes:

https://www.thejournal.ie/germany-christmas-covid-restrictions-brought-in-5298205-Dec2020/

A full lockdown was imposed prior to Christmas due to Covid surge and whilst religious services were permitted - there were strict provisions regarding minimum distancing rules and mask wearing with no singing allowed.

Yeah and most of that was in the press afaik.

Currently;
    Have they got a 5k travel limit?
    Have they stopped allowing people to build homes for themselves?

Christmas;
    For all the talk of us being the wild boys of Europe Re Christmas I don’t see much of a difference from that link.
    They closed hospitality a week before us.
    Which wasn’t closed in November over there?

And they continue to allow attendance at religious services.
    Along with the vast majority of Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

I don’t understand why the Government are now saying they are concerned with the current amount of daily cases.

The only thing that has changed is they opened up some education facilities which we are led to believe are safe places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Indeed. Not one to brag but I have been right throughout :)

Where would you all be?

You weren't right about no vaccines at all or for at least 10 years were you?

So if that's the case why are we setting goals like 200 a day that are borderline unattainable? also surely we should be focusing more on vaccination numbers than the case number game that got old a year ago

Nodid not say "that was the case". I said "maybe".

Whose setting goals of "200 a day that are borderline unattainable?"

Afaik there are 4 criteria being used for current infection control/ planning. Only one of which is vaccination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Renault 5 wrote: »
    I don’t understand why the Government are now saying they are concerned with the current amount of daily cases.

The only thing that has changed is they opened up some education facilities which we are led to believe are safe places.

Groundwork to postpone any easing of restrictions.
    In last 2 days we had nolan, Leo and MM expressing concern.

Nothing going to change on 5 April.

Looks like MM interview with the mirror when he mentioned another 10 weeks was a true reflection of the governments plan.

It now looks like MM interview with the mirror where he mentioned 10 weeks was a true reflection of the plan but inadvertently dropped a few week early .

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

If they got their fingers out of their asses and got the vaccines coming quicker case numbers will be irrelevant.

However I feel that even if we had zero deaths and 500-600 cases a day and we had a high vaccination rate Nphet would still keep us locked down.

And they need to stop blaming it on vaccine supply issues - offer double or triple the market price with a guaranteed delivery date and get the vaccines somewhere.

Its time to dump the EU agreement and go it alone but have we got the people in charge with a spine to do so?

No I did not say "that was the case". I said "maybe".

Whose setting goals of "200 a day" btw?

Afaik there are 4 criteria being used for current infection control/ planning. Only one of which is vaccination.

nphet have set the 200 cases a day and odds are Micheal won't work up the gumption to tell nphet no

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40241999.html%3Ftype%3Damp&ved=2ahUKEwjo57KLwavvAhWMYMAKHbmiAuAQFjABegQIAhAC&usg=AOvVaw0pvkUSYgTMRL1UZkpQosQx&ampcf=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,548 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It's so depressing what we have to go through in this country in regards these interviews with leaks trying to soften the blow only to enrange and make people anxious

I can't keep this up like many, were been locked away

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

nphet have set the 200 cases a day and odds are Micheal won't work up the gumption to tell nphet no

Not one of the 160 members of the government have the nerve to stand up to Nphet never mind just Micheal.

Spineless the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭cjyid

If cases do rise again, even though we are in level 5, I do wonder what s**t nphet will come out with 🀔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Frozen Veg

The reality is 0.00007% of our population are in hospital.

Most of the vulnerable have been vaccinated.

Time to start opening up. Get people vaccinated as soon as possible and let people take personal accountability for their actions until then.

If someone wants to avoid the virus, let them be careful. If others want to take their chances so be it, that should be their choice at this stage. There should be freedom of choice from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Hellrazer wrote: »
    If they got their fingers out of their asses and got the vaccines coming quicker case numbers will be irrelevant.

However I feel that even if we had zero deaths and 500-600 cases a day and we had a high vaccination rate Nphet would still keep us locked down.

And they need to stop blaming it on vaccine supply issues - offer double or triple the market price with a guaranteed delivery date and get the vaccines somewhere.

Its time to dump the EU agreement and go it alone but have we got the people in charge with a spine to do so?

If we had a high vaccinated level I love to know what kind of wally's would be going to get a test done? I'll be in the last cohort to even get a sniff of a vaccine so when that time comes it should be completely over for restrictions at that stage.

Let's not forget, they need to keep renewing all these incredible powers for the Garda under the Health Act. Once we get to those levels of vaccinations then that excuse goes with them and the government would be on extremely shaky ground constitutionally. Whether NPHET and Co. like it or not their time is coming to an end and we will have our constitutional rights back again.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Currently;
    Have they got a 5k travel limit?
    Have they stopped allowing people to build homes for themselves?
    Christmas;
    For all the talk of us being the wild boys of Europe Re Christmas I don’t see much of a difference from that link.
    They closed hospitality a week before us.
    Which wasn’t closed in November over there?

And they continue to allow attendance at religious services.
    Along with the vast majority of Europe.

Whats any if that got to do with your previous comment that claimed Germany "had significant easing on 1st March"

I simply showed they didn't. And that restrictions there have been extended to the 28th of March bar hairdressers and beauticians which were only recently reopened.

You do know the 5km thing here is only for exercise yes? That for a whole host of essential reasons you can travel beyond that.

Afaik sub regions of Germany have similar restrictions (to each other) on leaving your house
    "People should only leave their home for important reasons – for example, to go shopping, to do sports or to work. All Berliners are also urgently advised to avoid travel"

https://www.berlin.de/corona/en/measures/

As for "Have they stopped allowing people to build homes for themselves?"

You mean DIY? Afaik if you are building your own house - there's no stoppage on that. I have a neighbour building his own house atm. Doing most of the work himself