Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Well give out to those who make them do these conferences or do you think they demanded it this way. They give there advice and what should happen (a lot I may not agree with by the way) but its the government (and all other parties bar social democrats) who agree all there recommendations should be followed to the letter

I may be wrong, but I think the politicians are now afraid to withdraw the privilege.

I never got the sense that NPHET members are made to be there. They are delighted to grab their daily opportunity to tell the public how worried or concerned they are.

They were challenged just the once by Leo, the reaction from that means it probably won't happen again, which is a shame - he was 100% right in what he said at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

The biweekly conferences are of almost no utility.

It's the same details; the same mundane questions; and the same "advice" repeated week in, week out.

Perhaps once monthly behind the scenes is sufficient at this stage.

I do agree with you. They can be given but I don't see why they should be televised. Ones on the vaccination process and how it is going I think one a week would be good for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I may be wrong, but I think the politicians are now afraid to withdraw the privilege.

I never got the sense that NPHET members are made to be there. They are delighted to grab their daily opportunity to tell the public how worried or concerned they are.

They were challenged just the once by Leo, the reaction from that means it probably won't happen again, which is a shame - he was 100% right in what he said at that time.

Politicians have created a real mess...they have allowed NPHET a public profile that no one is allowed or seems to criticize, in particular TH, the media have been in hysterical mode for a year now...there is a decent chunk of Irish people have been sucked in by the constant fear (I don't mean everyone on here, I am talking about the likes of people who wear masks driving on their own etc)...

How do they unwind all this fear to get the economy back spending at a sustainable level, or more importantly, taking the anxiety out of people so they can go back to living a normal life!

I don't actually agree that they would not mind if the press conferences were given or not. Its up to the news to publish what they did or didn't say. All of the backlash of the government came from opposition parties on not taking advice. I think Leo went overboard to get his own numbers up while Michael ran and hid until he know what public opinion would be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

timmyntc wrote: »
    We have pubs closed longer than any other country.

Pubs north of the border hold that record.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Politicians have created a real mess...they have allowed NPHET a public profile that no one is allowed or seems to criticize, in particular TH, the media have been in hysterical mode for a year now...there is a decent chunk of Irish people have been sucked in by the constant fear (I don't mean everyone on here, I am talking about the likes of people who wear masks driving on their own etc)...

How do they unwind all this fear to get the economy back spending at a sustainable level, or more importantly, taking the anxiety out of people so they can go back to living a normal life!

While I believe this is stupid and the fear is too high I have driven a bit with a mask on as I forgot to take it off. It was not until stopped at light I realised it and took it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    Meanwhile the UK announces another 10m fresh doses just arrived. One wonders why Ireland still considers itself a key player in EU, perhaps it would be better adopting the same attitude as Hungary and Czech Republic - and purchasing some Sputnik for our elderly. Perhaps they could take some of the massive warehoused supplies of AZ off the German and French hands - given that there is considerable reluctance to accept this vaccine there?

do you think the current shower have the balls or initiative to do either of those things?

ypres5 wrote: »
    do you think the current shower have the balls or initiative to do either of those things?

Not a chance.

More chance of Halley's Comet orbiting around the Earth for the next 50-years, starting tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,571 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40237349.html

Money pissed down the drain because of our Cautious approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

PTH2009 wrote: »
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40237349.html

Money pissed down the drain because of our Cautious approach

The virus doesn’t care about football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

The virus loves football. And alcohol. Don’t forget the alcohol.

We are probably better off anyway...it would only have attracted the far right partying and cheering like the thugs they are!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,571 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

More to do with our leaders pissing about and not setting dates. Losing these games has been a result of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

The virus loves football. And alcohol. Don’t forget the alcohol.

With an anti alcohol man on top of NEPHET we have no chance of hospitality opening in this country until 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

With an anti alcohol man on top of NEPHET we have no chance of hospitality opening in this country until 2022

How we ever got them to let them open for those 3 weeks in September......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

TheDoctor wrote: »

i think he was on leave at the time but I could be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

We are probably better off anyway...it would only have attracted the far right partying and cheering like the thugs they are!!

NPHET have suggested that fans can attend as long as they remain socially distant in plastic zorbs and consent to being anally swabbed every 60 minutes.

TheDoctor wrote: »

And the government and all other parties get off scot free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭finalfurlong

If you look at the numbers in hospital with regard to the peak number-April it was 818.October was 374 January was 2150-All were level 5 but the one called for by holohan in october stands out as the exception.Keeping level 3 and allowing it as was recommended by nphet 4 days previously was dismissed on his return and granting it for 6 weeks on those numbers was overall a faulty move

When you consider those numbers, it's hard not to come to the conclusion that Holohan not only got it wrong - but got it fantastically wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

This is all feelings outside of any data.

If it's irrefutable, show us all.

It shouldn't be an issue finding the reputable source on which your opinion is based.

If you do that we'll all accept it.

Are you serious? We all already accept it...apart from you, it seems.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Jaysus, yer man on Primetime was excellent. Had Louise Byrne well and truly rattled.
    Russman wrote: »
    Yeah, advocating not joining the EU vaccine purchase scheme was clever alright.......the mind boggles.
    John McGurk, the people’s hero

The EU vaccine purchase scheme has so far been an abject failure. The figures don't lie. Compare this to what the UK have achieved so far.
    And we've now learned that Austria,Denmark,Poland,Slovakia,Czech Rep, Hungary,France and Germany (no less) have decided to do solo runs and seek vaccine supply worldwide. Many of these have already succeeded.
    So maybe McGuirk has a perfectly valid point....;)
    Love him or hate him, he's not afraid to question the narrative.!!

washman3 wrote: »
    The EU vaccine purchase scheme has so far been an abject failure. The figures don't lie. Compare this to what the UK have achieved so far.
    And we've now learned that Austria,Denmark,Poland,Slovakia,Czech Rep, Hungary,France and Germany (no less) have decided to do solo runs and seek vaccine supply worldwide. Many of these have already succeeded.
    So maybe McGuirk has a perfectly valid point....;)
    Love him or hate him, he's not afraid to question the narrative.!!

How about comparing to Canada, Australia, Japan, Korea.

Vaccine supplies are currently constrained. Uk and Israel got in first, fair play. The rest of the world is playing catch up. J&J will make a big dent into any gap in q2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

The outrage over that house party in Limerick on Newstalk this morning was hilariously saddening (I didn't think those two words could go together).

Some expert on something was on saying how this was so much worse than kids hanging around at a local skate park because "there was singing, hugging, and dancing going on and it was absolutely disgraceful".
    If you were straining to hear the words and just going by the tone he was using you'd think he was talking about a murder that took place.

I really hope this young generation are strong minded enough to see through this crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

I would argue 2023, 2024, 2025 .... To the doom mongerers and lockdown larrys that want lockdown to go on and on and on - when will it be enough ?
    When will you think it's ok to open up ?

Full vaccination ? But what about the variants that the medical sociopathic junta NPHET keep screeching about ?

If you keep following your own argument for lockdowns, you will find that they can never end, as it's endemic and so will never be completely eliminated.

So what needs to happen to ease restrictions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

A lot of talk of people moving around and people breaking restrictions on the news. George Lee nearly in tears. Great to see

17larsson wrote: »
    The outrage over that house party in Limerick on Newstalk this morning was hilariously saddening (I didn't think those two words could go together).

Some expert on something was on saying how this was so much worse than kids hanging around at a local skate park because "there was singing, hugging, and dancing going on and it was absolutely disgraceful".
    If you were straining to hear the words and just going by the tone he was using you'd think he was talking about a murder that took place.

I really hope this young generation are strong minded enough to see through this crap

It is a great example of how deep the hysteria has gone...

I know it is not the same, but the city centre was jammed with massive crowds all last weekend with the fine weather...nobody was outraged at that, nor should they be I'd imagine it was the same everywhere.

We have taken a year off this generation of young people for a virus that they won't even know they have most of the time....we are a year in, why aren't the students afraid of the virus?

Adults and families can walk around the place in massive crowds clearly ignoring restrictions (social distancing, gathering about in numbers), but we can't stomach the thoughts of young people not doing what they are told?

There is an ugly side to this, it will be something I for one will never be able to forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

All restrictions and masks gone in texas. That must be a great feeling to go out around without a mask on seeing people's faces again like normal humans.

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    All restrictions and masks gone in texas. That must be a great feeling to go out around without a mask on seeing people's faces again like normal humans.

It's stupid.

With mass vaccine production in place, people should wear masks for the foreseeable future - to reduce the risk of variant creation. Better to just put up with the discomfort of masks for a couple of months whilst all the population is vaccinated.

And I say this as someone critical of the Great Holohan Lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

SnuggyBear wrote: »

As I said last night the most surprising part of the announcement was that there were some restrictions in Texas.