Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭nickkinneg

xl500 wrote: »
    You do realize the only reason cases will be low is because we locked down if we didnt the numbers now would be off the wall

Also there is no way we will have a significant proportion vaccinated by Early March

Agree with the above- my own personal opinion is this will drag well into 2022 - no point in having a set date in your mind the way this thing is going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

Now that the government are extending level 5 until March 5th we will see numbers in ICU drop sharply over next few weeks .
    I can most of the public sticking with these decisions until that date ...
    But after that .... ????
    It gives them more time to get the vulnerable / elderly / frontline vaccinated and after that get things open .
    I've the feeling with a lot of people that because of the time of year that this is last chance saloon with government / nphet etc .
    If it comes to springtime and we are still in level 5 the public will say " enough of this ...time for life to move on ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Now that the government are extending level 5 until March 5th we will see numbers in ICU drop sharply over next few weeks .
    But after that .... ????
    It gives them more time to get the vulnerable / elderly / frontline vaccinated and after that get things open .
    I've the feeling with a lot of people that because of the time of year that this is last chance saloon with government / nphet etc .
    If it comes to springtime and we are still in level 5 the public will say " enough of this ...time for life to move on ".

Yep. Totally agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

But after that .... ????

Is that confirmed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,253 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Is that confirmed?

Leaked so basically confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Would you ever read your own articles?

"Some doctors believe vitamin D, by boosting the immune system, can help prevent or treat Covid-19. But the department says a study it commissioned on this issue found no evidence to support the claim."

Absolute shambles.

Old article...but it's wrong to say that the government haven't got the word out about Vitamin D.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

But but but one of your buddies here is claiming that many barbers are working on the sly right now. I`m sure he will tip you off as to where they are if you think you need one before then.

told the lads i needed a haircut yesterday before i do it myself. was sent two phone numbers within about 5 minutes of barbers cutting hair, so not sure if you dont believe this stuff goes on or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,307 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

pjohnson wrote: »
    Well that certainly upset you didnt mean to get too close to the bone. Not sure where you fit Shinners in this but this may be an interesting new spin!

People who view looting and riots as good things are the people to look up to.

I think hiding away from "de virus" for so long is getting to you pj

I've never been in trouble with the Gardai in my life and have only been in a court once when someone ran into the side of my car and denied it.

What your posts tell me about YOU though is that you are someone who needs to be told what do do by his "betters" for validation and lashes out when something challenges that comfortable worldview - unfortunately though you live in a country with a weak ineffective and ass-covering political class and similar types in the upper levels of the civil and public service.

You want to talk about role models? I think you may need some new ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

i'm afraid young and healthy people do have to be locked down temporarily so as to minimise the spread of the virus and protect the country, it's people and the systems of the country especially the health system.
    for some, maybe even most younger people, it could be nothing at all, or just a few days of feeling unwell, but for others it can be very serious.
    being young and healthy does not prevent you from getting or suffering serious effects, it simply means you are less likely to do so, but not guaranteed to not do so.
    the same as being older makes you at higher risk and more likely to suffer serious effects and even death, but not guaranteed to do so.
    people simply isolating while the rest of us go about our business doesn't work as it keeps transmission rates high in the community and ultimately puts those isolating at much much greater risk.
    not to mention that those who are vulnerable are a mix of people, many, probably most of them are working, and with them out of the work place that puts strain on the areas where they work, meaning this is unviable.
    20000 cases a day will i'm afraid register on the health system as a proportion of them will end up having to use it.

it's tony's job to be concerned about the various numbers of cases so i'm no way bothered in relation to that specific issue.
    pubs were dieing long before covid and would continue to do so regardless and will do so after it, so covid is really only hastening what was going to happen anyway.
    plenty will reopen again but the days of 5 or 6 pubs in a village or town were always going to come to an end as it was unsustainable.
    realistically it is the parts of the economy that are working which really keep the show on the road in general, rather then what is closed.

I'm not gonna bother singling all the points in this ridiculous post one by one, repetitive rubbish as usual about how that maybe that one in a million healthy person might get sick, so let's shut down the entire world economy.. you know, just in case.

As for the laissez faire attitude to businesses closing down, that says it all really. You are on cloud cuckoo land and haven't a clue how this will effect the country and people long term.

You are talking about destroying peoples livelihoods, businesses and incomes that support families and in some cases entire areas, permanently, even more generational debt burden.

You know.. just in case.. cos I saw this report of one person that was healthy and.. blah blah blah

But hey, that pub might have closed down anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

But after that .... ????

And behave like we did at Xmas. Let's see where that will get us.

Lock the borders and we have a chance. Put the army on the border up north like we did for the foot n mouth disease. Cover all the main arteries of it. Yeah there be back roads but we can have random garda checks there as we won't need them anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

copeyhagen wrote: »
    told the lads i needed a haircut yesterday before i do it myself. was sent two phone numbers within about 5 minutes of arbers cutting hair, so not sure if you dont believe this stuff goes on or what?

Poor enough effort.

There is a lad on here claiming he can drink a pint whilst getting a haircut whilst watching a team of builders knock out a conservatory for him.

lost a year of my life and a year of my livelyhood to the chance that I could have caught a cold or mild flu after this.. smh

heard the doctor on the last work the other day, doctor in belmullet
    "and yu had covid yourself, how was it"
    "felt sick for a day at the start, still managed to work right through it. the kids at home have it, not a bother on them"

the doctor was still trying to warn us all about how deadly it is, when he himself was sick for a day and still worked.. he would have been worse with the actual fooking flu.

its like we're not living in reality.

cue the "its like YOUR not living in reality, old people will die".

Lock the borders and we have a chance. Put the army on the border up north like we did for the foot n mouth disease. Cover all the main arteries of it. Yeah there be back roads but we can have random garda checks there as we won't need them anywhere else

sweet jesus.

Boggles wrote: »
    Poor enough effort.

There is a lad on here claiming he can drink a pint whilst getting a haircut whilst watching a team of builders knock out a conservatory for him.

effort of what?

we're not able to drink in pubs, theres pubs open and shebeens open around the Country.

i dont get what ye mean?

copeyhagen wrote: »
    sweet jesus.

Well Spain are blocking all tourists for the summer from outside their country.
    Belgium has shut its borders now.

Not sure we will see the same freedom in Europe as last summer, this year

Well Spain are blocking all tourists for the summer from outside their country.
    Belgium has shut its borders now.

Not sure we will see the same freedom in Europe as last summer, this year

Spain, lol, no theyre not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

MM is talking about getting to 100 cases a day.
    Considering the vaccine doesn’t stop you getting Covid, I don’t see how we’ll ever reach such a number, let alone maintain it with an open economy.

I’m fully expecting harsh restrictions until late summer at least. Probably still very harsh restrictions for all of 2021 and into 2022.

I think it will possibly take finances collapsing or Europe embarrassing us to reopen.

100 cases a day HAHAHAHHA, taking it the schools which were meant to be opened at Level 5 will actually never reopen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

This virus has far more effect in winter time than in summer time .
    Probably down to the fact of the cold and we spend far more time indoors than outdoors in the winter .
    Certainly by next winter we should have enough people vaccinated to fully open up .
    However next winter is a long way off .
    We need to give people hope .
    The politicans are well aware how the public are feeling at the moment .
    We generally are on their side , but when the weather improves and evenings get longer ....WE THE PUBLIC NEED TO SEE THINGS IMPROVING .
    The only thing a politican understands is getting reelected .
    Fianna Fáil and Fianna Gael know damn well how major the next few weeks are to get this right .
    I feel it's at a tipping point now and it could go either way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

pjohnson wrote: »
    I wonder how many of these now criticising the Gardai have probably spent plenty of time in squad cars/courts. Hence the jumping up and down to criticise them.

Seems a prexisting hatred for law and order is linked with the "anti-restrictors". Also explains how they thought looting was a good thing for business.
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    What kind of idiotic nonsense is this?

People questioning the use of Garda resources are antisocial criminal types in and out of courts and squad cars? :rolleyes:

The desperation from this post is hilarious. You forgot to mention the Shinners though.

Step away from the keyboard and go back to hiding under the bed would be my suggestion.

Some things never change. :D:D:D

3 things are certain in life: death, taxes and PJ posting absolute nonsense.

This virus has far more effect in winter time than in summer time .
    Probably down to the fact of the cold and we spend far more time indoors than outdoors in the winter .
    Certainly by next winter we should have enough people vaccinated to fully open up .
    However next winter is a long way off .
    We need to give people hope .
    The politicans are well aware how the public are feeling at the moment .
    We generally are on their side , but when the weather improves and evenings get longer ....WE THE PUBLIC NEED TO SEE THINGS IMPROVING .
    The only thing a politican understands is getting reelected .
    Fianna Fáil and Fianna Gael know damn well how major the next few weeks are to get this right .
    I feel it's at a tipping point now and it could go either way .

FF/FG will not go against NPHET now after xmas.

We could of disarm NPHET but instead we showed them the very reason why the government will listen to them till the bitter end!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭DrSpongeBobz

What case numbers will the 5km travel restriction be removed?

Whats all of this rubbish about fining a man who walks alone on the beach? Has world gone completely insane??

There was a cleaner stabbed in the neck in bloody IFSC last week. The lad who stabbed her cycled away without a worry in the world.

Can some1 explain to me why do we have Gardai resources patrolling empty beaches instead of actually camping in high crime areas like Ballymun, Tallaght and IFSC??

Mad

Whats all of this rubbish about fining a man who walks alone on the beach? Has world gone completely insane??

There was a cleaner stabbed in the neck in bloody IFSC last week. The lad who stabbed her cycled away without a worry in the world.

Can some1 explain to me why do we have Gardai resources patrolling empty beaches instead of actually camping in high crime areas like Ballymun, Tallaght and IFSC??

Mad

Welcome back, you always seem to go missing when numbers go high but come back when they start to come down!!

That is not the first time it happen in the IFSC, its drug haven when offices are closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Mad

what sounds like more work to you, grappling with the increasing state of lawlessness in the capital or fining one solitary old geezer for walking on an empty beach? there you shall find your answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

No one was stopped from crossing the border during Foot & Mouth. Many people are crossing the border daily for work. There's no political will to close the border. It's not going to happen.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Don't know how you behaved at Christmas but less of the "we", don't assume everyone else was as irresponsible as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

I wouldn’t actually mind that much if only they were putting restrictions as gradually as they are taking them away, this is so unfair :(
    When is anpost distributing those free postage cards? Will send few to MM with the relevant message

Welcome back, you always seem to go missing when numbers go high but come back when they start to come down!!

That is not the first time it happen in the IFSC, its drug haven when offices are closed.

So why do we have Gardai patrolling empty beaches rather than patrolling drug havens????

I knew 2020 was a bit,you know, moronic.

But it seems like 2021 is a whole new game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭BredonWimsey

uli84 wrote: »
    I wouldn’t actually mind that much if only they were putting restrictions as gradually as they are taking them away, this is so unfair :(
    When is anpost distributing those free postage cards? Will send few to MM with the relevant message

i'm starting to hit a metaphorical wall to be honest - this lockdown is getting very hard. i have no intention of leaving the country but even the thought that they are policing the airports and checking your reasons for travel just feels like all dreams being taken away (yes greater good blah blah i know)

Penfailed wrote: »
    No one was stopped from crossing the border during Foot & Mouth. Many people are crossing the border daily for work. There's no political will to close the border. It's not going to happen.

There is no political will to do the right thing in Ireland.