Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

PTH2009 wrote: »
    So much negativity around

wish i was living in the uk tbh the frame of mind and optimism there is a breath of fresh air compared to the endless misery being dished out by the morons here.

ypres5 wrote: »
    wish i was living in the uk tbh the frame of mind and optimism there is a breath of fresh air compared to the endless misery being dished out by the morons here.

My parents and siblings are in the UK and I haven't seen them in 18 months. Seriously considering moving over for the rest of 2021 once they ease restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Ireland "we hope restrictions will be eased during the summer"
    Boardsies: not good enough.

UK: "within a few weeks we'll have a date where hopefully we might be able to do something maybe"
    Boardsies: that's the attitude we need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

RobitTV wrote: »
    A text message read out on Today with Claire Byrne said that 'people should be fined for having fresh haircuts if they cannot prove they cut it themselves'

Yep.

I wouldn’t need to prove it . My husband cut mine and I am like a hedgehog 🦔

hynesie08 wrote: »

UK: "within a few weeks we'll have a date where hopefully we might be able to do something maybe"

I suppose that given the current state of vaccine rollout, one of those rings more true than t'other.

yeah we might be able to visit a beach in our locality by June if we get cases to 100 a day which is near impossible with schools open. we also had the second most powerful person in the country saying that Christmas 21 could be off the cards 11 months before it even happens. I guess it was easier for you to put words in my mouth than actually address the details.

My parents and siblings are in the UK and I haven't seen them in 18 months. Seriously considering moving over for the rest of 2021 once they ease restrictions.

im tied down with college and money but if i was in the position to id be gone in the morning. im actually applying for British citizenship not because of this but it's certainly giving me incentive

I suppose that given the current state of vaccine rollout, one of those rings more true than t'other.

Right, we're gonna have the majority of the first 2 groups fully vaccinated by the end of the week, they're talking about a million done by the end of March, j and j is on the way........ Much better than the uks jab and hope method.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Their vaccination drive and europes pathetic snails pace failure has been a massive massive advert for Brexit..

yeah we might be able to visit a beach in our locality by June if we get cases to 100 a day which is near impossible with schools open. we also had the second most powerful person in the country saying that Christmas 21 could be off the cards 11 months before it even happens. I guess it was easier for you to put words in my mouth than actually address the details.

Imagine completely misrepsenting what he said and then accusing someone of putting words in your mouth......

Their vaccination drive and europes pathetic snails pace failure has been a massive massive advert for Brexit..

and posters like hynsie above you try and somehow spin it as a negative. if we were in the uks position and they were in ours he'd be sticking the boot in rather than calling it 'jab and hope'

Imagine completely misrepsenting what he said and then accusing someone of putting words in your mouth......

Maybe it will be the case that international travel is not possible this summer, this Christmas. I don’t want to close off that possibility today, but maybe we’ll have to,” he said.

point out the misrepresentation please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,321 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

What is there to be optimistic about right now?

All the indications from Govt. are we are going to be in massive lockdown until the summer.

I won't be able to see family for (seemingly) another 2 months.
    I won't be able to go to the gym for two months, maybe. Possibly longer.
    By the time we come out of lockdown there is a good chance the local restaurants simply won't open their doors again. The Cinemas will be shuttered and finished.

There is simply no light on the horizon at the moment, and its infuriating. The UK are talking about an irreversible easing of the lockdowns, Ireland are being hinted at via the press that it will be summer at best before 'inside dining' is allowed in any capacity.

Why shouldn't people be angry, or miserable?

What is there to be optimistic about right now?

All the indications from Govt. are we are going to be in massive lockdown until the summer.

I won't be able to see family for (seemingly) another 2 months.
    I won't be able to go to the gym for two months, maybe. Possibly longer.
    By the time we come out of lockdown there is a good chance the local restaurants simply won't open their doors again. The Cinemas will be shuttered and finished.

There is simply no light on the horizon at the moment, and its infuriating. The UK are talking about an irreversible easing of the lockdowns, Ireland are being hinted at via the press that it will be summer at best before 'inside dining' is allowed in any capacity.

Why shouldn't people be angry, or miserable?

sorry i think you must have misread my post or are responding to the wrong one but I agree with your sentiments 100%. the government here have ****ed up big time but some on here seem hell-bent on making out we're in a better position than the uk who've given 15 million people their first shot

For idiots who understand nothing of Brexit and its impacts, yeah. So I suppose that is the Brexit lot.

The UK's handling of the vaccines and vaccinations have nothing to do with Brexit.

Ireland could have gone out on its own and copied them exactly, the government chose not to do so. We would not have had to leave the EU to do so, we just would not have signed up to the central purchasing plan

Maybe it will be the case that international travel is not possible this summer, this Christmas. I don’t want to close off that possibility today, but maybe we’ll have to,” he said.

point out the misrepresentation please

How is any of that saying "Christmas could be off?"

sorry i think you must have misread my post or are responding to the wrong one but I agree with your sentiments 100%. the government here have ****ed up big time but some on here seem hell-bent on making out we're in a better position than the uk who've given 15 million people their first shot

So you were refering to the Morons in governemt rather than people being angry on here.

I thought you were talking about the public, not goverment. sorry.

and posters like hynsie above you try and somehow spin it as a negative. if we were in the uks position and they were in ours he'd be sticking the boot in rather than calling it 'jab and hope'

It is literally a plan of "jab as many as possible and hope a 12 week gap is enough"

That's their entire plan and fair play to them if it works, but our plan of targetted vaccination before mass rollout with production increase is much smarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

It is literally a plan of "jab as many as possible and hope a 12 week gap is enough"

That's their entire plan and fair play to them if it works, but our plan of targetted vaccination before mass rollout with production increase is much smarter.

FFS we have no choice. We dont have the vaccines to do it anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It's not a misrepresentation. This is the article which is causing so much consternation:

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/leo-varadkar-i-want-to-make-sure-this-pandemic-is-a-lost-year-not-a-lost-decade-1.4480399
    “My best guess ... is that we’ll have a relatively normal summer in that the shops will be open, personal services will be open and domestic tourism will be a real possibility. And potentially outdoor gatherings of 10 to 15 people, maybe even 50 but nothing beyond that until we have a critical mass vaccinated of 70 to 80 per cent; we’re aiming for September for that.

“There is still a worry about next winter because it does seem there’s a seasonal element to this virus. People are indoors more and you’re 20 times more likely to get it indoors than out. So there will be a concern about a fourth wave of some sort next winter and there will be huge caution about allowing mass gatherings until we get through another winter.

That last sentence seems to apply regardless of where we're at with vaccine roll-out and that's precisely why people are losing hope over the last fortnight. No gatherings indoors in Winter means that Christmas socialising is severely curtailed for the second year in a row, whereas Leo had previously mentioned that he was hopeful we'd have festivals during the summer. That's the dramatic change of tune which has led so many people to getting distressed over the last couple of weeks. Realistically if that pans out as he suggests it will, it means no work Christmas parties, no bars or restaurants, no nights out, no extended family gatherings, etc etc etc.

The idea that we could have mass vaccination by Autumn and yet we still wouldn't be allowed to do those things is brand new information and, to many people, it simply doesn't make any sense. If we have mass vaccination then why do we need to be worried about a fourth wave? Either the vaccine works or it doesn't.

for irish people living abroad or those of us here with relations abroad it's a kick in the teeth. also i find it hard to believe hospitality will be fully open then considering the current gov narrative and ' potential new variants'

So you were refering to the Morons in governemt rather than people being angry on here.

I thought you were talking about the public, not goverment. sorry.

no bother i agree with you 100% watching the difference between the UK and us makes for sad sad viewing especially when we could've done the same thing ourselves but we had to be the best in class for the eu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'm fascinated by the mentality, but moreso by how exactly the texter thinks that would be done. Are the guards to implement a split-ends check into their checkpoint stops? "Where you off to, is it essential, and have you had an inch off since the last time you drove through?"

Must get a trim this weekend before this law comes in :D:D

It's not a misrepresentation. This is the article which is causing so much consternation:

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/leo-varadkar-i-want-to-make-sure-this-pandemic-is-a-lost-year-not-a-lost-decade-1.4480399

That last sentence seems to apply regardless of where we're at with vaccine roll-out and that's precisely why people are losing hope over the last fortnight. No gatherings indoors in Winter means that Christmas socialising is severely curtailed for the second year in a row, whereas Leo had previously mentioned that he was hopeful we'd have festivals during the summer. That's the dramatic change of tune which has led so many people to getting distressed over the last couple of weeks. Realistically if that pans out as he suggests it will, it means no work Christmas parties, no bars or restaurants, no nights out, no extended family gatherings, etc etc etc.

The idea that we could have mass vaccination by Autumn and yet we still wouldn't be allowed to do those things is brand new information and, to many people, it simply doesn't make any sense. If we have mass vaccination then why do we need to be worried about a fourth wave? Either the vaccine works or it doesn't.

that's the article i was thinking of. surely we'd have enough of the population vaccinated or at least have the vulnerable vaccinated so that there's little pressure on hospitals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

For those of us living abroad its saying we won't be seeing our families for yet another year. But sure, once you're grand who cares about those thousands of people. Everything is grand and normal yada, yada

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    For those of us living abroad its saying we won't be seeing our families for yet another year. But sure, once you're grand who cares about those thousands of people. Everything is grand and normal yada, yada

No, you're interpretation of what he said is that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

im tied down with college and money but if i was in the position to id be gone in the morning. im actually applying for British citizenship not because of this but it's certainly giving me incentive

Even after Brexit? Crazy talk.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭Arciphel

Just reading through the last few pages of the thread, and lo and behold a fecking ice cream van pulls up outside and a load of kids (who have all been out playing together all day, mixing from about six different households, while I keep mine inside and away from their friends) all line up for a 99. Welcome to level 5 lockdown, Irish style! Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

No, you're interpretation of what he said is that.

"Maybe it will be the case that international travel is not possible this summer, this Christmas. I don’t want to close off that possibility today, but maybe we’ll have to,” he said."

Ok. I should have said those of us living abroad "might not" be able to see our families rather than definitely cant. But apart from that, where is the false interpretation? Hes clearly putting it out there that international travel might be off the table for all of 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Arciphel wrote: »
    Just reading through the last few pages of the thread, and lo and behold a fecking ice cream van pulls up outside and a load of kids (who have all been out playing together all day, mixing from about six different households, while I keep mine inside and away from their friends) all line up for a 99. Welcome to level 5 lockdown, Irish style! Madness.

It's madness that you were keeping your kids inside away from their friends.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar