Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭The Wordress

Here is a mental image for ye.

Noooooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

Here is a mental image for ye.

sorry I clicked on that tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

combat14 wrote: »
    do the into executive really care about the safety of teachers, snas, students in the comfort and security of their own homes...?

If not then they are pointless and should be disbanded.

If they do not come through on this one, I hope they haemorrhage members who then form a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭KerryConnor

Doesn't the 10% figure just prove that the data was mis categorised. My kids didn't go to a birthday party all term, contact sports, extra ciricular all cancelled , to claim 90% got it outside school is laughable.
    Stateofyou wrote: »
    What annoys me right off is Dr. Ronan speaking to the numbers (10% I think) of transmission of covid in children was via school. When we KNOW that the assigning of where it occurred was very much problematic.

Together with the difference of classifying close cases in the school and only going back 48 hours in the tracing, many cases and sources of infection were missed. This is deliberate manipulation of data. In my opinion they knew what they were doing all along so to be able to use the "schools are safe" line down the road while pointing to "solid" data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

I wonder did anyone watch it who was not a teacher and realise that schools are a complete ****show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

khalessi wrote: »
    I wonder did anyone watch it who was not a teacher and realise that schools are a complete ****show
    I'd imagine if you got an alien to watch it they'd think everything is grand. They don't even blink when they speak. It is so rehearsed at this stage that it actually just flows out of them.

Stateofyou wrote: »
    If not then they are pointless and should be disbanded.

If they do not come through on this one, I hope they haemorrhage members who then form a new one.

I'd gladly leave and support a new Union even at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

TheTorment wrote: »
    I'd gladly leave and support a new Union even at this stage.

You already have 3 main unions, forsa, voice for teachers, principals talking group, jmb etc. That's actually kind of the problem, the usual splintering of vaguely any socialistic organisation.

On the other hand the problem with the unions are that they are like politics. You have to commit a few years glad handing and showing up to events without doing anything of actual merit on the ground to get ahead and to the top table. Most people just don't have the appetite for that, and it self selects a certain type of person. No offence to anyone at the lower levels but the upper levels are fairly bereft of skill or spine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,440 ✭✭✭✭km79

Wow that’s pathetic
    They are waiting for FÓRSA to do the dirty work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

I think what’s clear is this is going to be a mess one way or the other. Goodwill of Principals and primary teachers which are arguably the more amenable group will be reduced from this fiasco.
    I do understand that children in disadvantage, children with high needs, etc., need help.
    However it’s absolutely ridiculous the mainstream media is not questioning the lobby groups as to why their own 1-1 services which would be safer than the Department’s current suggestions have gone fully remote.
    Cases and positivity rate is dropping fast. Why not keep going as we are for January and get all schools & special schools reopened for Feb 1st? It will give a clear goal to principals and school staff. Mid term will also break up the return for a week 1/2 a week in Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

https://www.thejournal.ie/children-special-needs-school-5328483-Jan2021/

Deputy Chief Medical Officer has re-iterated that the closure of schools should be a last resort.

Speaking at this evening’s press briefing by the NPHET, Dr Ronan Glynn said that although there were no “zero-risk” environments, the re-opening of schools was in the best interests of children.

He explained that NPHET’s advice for people to stay at home was partly intended to allow limited sections of society to continue, and that health officials recognised that some people could not stay at home because their work would not allow them to do so.

He also acknowledged that although there have been clusters and outbreaks in educational settings, that these had occurred in a small number of locations only.

“By and large, the experience [in recent months] was a very positive one and a very successful one,” the Deputy CMO said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

Weak as water. I agree that they're hoping Forsa will stop this in its tracks and take the heat off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Never underestimate the unions’ ability to find an excuse for their members not to work!

The height of a dangerous pandemic that is currently killing a lot of people probably falls into the "excuse" List

km79 wrote: »
    Wow that’s pathetic
    They are waiting for FÓRSA to do the dirty work

I'm wondering are they hoping that the DES will be the ones to blink? Guessing they don't have the balls to direct their members similar to what the ASTI did.

I think what’s clear is this is going to be a mess one way or the other. Goodwill of Principals and primary teachers which are arguably the more amenable group will be reduced from this fiasco.
    I do understand that children in disadvantage, children with high needs, etc., need help.
    However it’s absolutely ridiculous the mainstream media is not questioning the lobby groups as to why their own 1-1 services which would be safer than the Department’s current suggestions have gone fully remote.
    Cases and positivity rate is dropping fast. Why not keep going as we are for January and get all schools & special schools reopened for Feb 1st? It will give a clear goal to principals and school staff. Mid term will also break up the return for a week 1/2 a week in Feb.

You do know the link between Simon Harris and AsIAmIreland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Coneygree

Better statement than I thought tbh. I was expecting the worst and more rehash of the garbage wee heard today. At least it is evident John Boyle's phone and computer were red hot with complaints. Hopefully more emails from today's shambles are addressed at tomorrow's meetings and this is put to bed for once and for all.

Coneygree wrote: »
    put to bed for once and for all.

But what would that entail? I don't think anyone will be able to make a decision or compromise that majority will be happy with.

From what I'm seeing the government and NPHET aren't changing their minds on this.

Poor communication and mixed messages?? Is John Boyle talking about himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I wish someone would make a decision already. This uncertainty is a disgrace for the children, families and school staff.

That’s obviously fake. I know because there is no pearl necklace

I must resist temptation..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

You do know the link between Simon Harris and AsIAmIreland?

I do, and I support Adam Harris overall and what he does. He’s achieved so much and done so much positive work for the ASD community. I don’t want to single him out in the criticism as there were multiple lobby groups out leading the charge.
    There has been a sustained media campaign - media article in the Independent this morning re a bad case of head lice in a child. RTÉ reporting parents concerns daily, which are legitimate - but they seem to forget they’re asking Teacher’s and SNA’s to scrap their own concerns and carry on regardless during one of the worst waves of the pandemic. This coupled with the webinar today stating similar controls to Sept. It’s January 17th. Still a long way to the 31st when those controls might work better if numbers and hospitalisations come down enough.
    Correct me if I’m wrong - but weren’t schools open in Nov when cases were around 1,000 per day and they came down with schools open during this month.

I'm not sure if we are in Brexit territory- Deal or no deal
    or Lannigan's Ball- Stepping out and in again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭6o9fv7jpreb180

There has been a sustained media campaign - media article in the Independent this morning re a bad case of head lice in a child.

Saw that today. Child should be removed from parents.

All this vulnerable children talk. The reality is there is a sizeable cohort of parents who rely on teachers and schools to raise their children. Its sad that there are so many children who are physically, mentally and emotionally safer in schools than in their homes. But the angle is always how schools being closed affects them. It is never about tackling the home circumstances.

Edit: obviously I am not referring to special needs children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭tigger123

Saw that today. Child should be removed from parents.

All this vulnerable children talk. The reality is there is a sizeable cohort of parents who rely on teachers and schools to raise their children. Its sad that there are so many children who are physically, mentally and emotionally safer in schools than in their homes. But the angle is always how schools being closed affects them. It is never about tackling the home circumstances.

Teachers previously were able to catch these kind of cases though, plus, the kids were getting some relief from neglectful or abusive parents.

Its not about people pawning their kids off for the day.