Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Shur thats only half an hour twice a week, in my local school anyway. And ive heard of teachers sharing the load, as remote learning isnt restricted by classroom size, so you could teach 60 or 90 pupils just the same as 30

And the corrections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Mardyke

TheTorment wrote: »
    Norma Fooley on RTE News

Has there ever been anyone more out of their depth...?

Mardyke wrote: »
    Has there ever been anyone more out of their depth...?

Only on the Titanic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

Could anyone give a summary of what she says? Can't get the player to work, nothing new there!

She's a gem at avoiding answering questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Mardyke

Queried wrote: »
    Could anyone give a summary of what she says? Can't get the player to work, nothing new there!

I'm watching it. She has talked for a few minutes now but has said absolutely nothing. A roaring disgrace that someone like her has such an important role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Where else do they work at the moment that would be deemed as unsafe as a teachers environment ? Excluding HCWs

Are you serious?

Why would you want to exclude HCWs, or Gardai, Cleaners, Food supply/manufacturing and retailers, Delivery drivers, Hauliers, Firefighters, Pharmacy staff, Medical manufacturing and supply, essential Electricity, Water, Gas, Broadband supply functions, Animal Care workers and Veterinarians, Agri suppliers, Car garages and mechanics, Plumbers, Electricians, Transport staff......I could go on.

As I said not all parents work in an office or from home.

Tune into the Six One news now to hear Norma tell us that schools are safe.

BINGO!!!!!!!!!!

It's Ok lads...she got in that the schools are safe at the end.

I thought we were fúcked!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Queried wrote: »

I've an advisor committee.

There's this fella on the advisor committee.

Advisory committee.

Committee.

Advisory committee.

Someone else can fill anything I missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

Jesus. This woman is on a mission.

How can she even consider sending children and staff into schools potentially endangering them?

The hospitals can't cope as it is!

Is she delusional?
    Philip Nolan was saying about fifteen minutes ago during the briefing that he is imploring employers not to drop the ball and send employees back in just because there are good signals.
    jrosen wrote: »
    Thats pretty much the position of thousands of families already, just like last March through end of school term and again post Christmas break.
    Yes, and now it's affecting this sector so it merits discussion.
    Russman wrote: »
    I do think that's a large part of it tbh. It was taken as a "defeat" last week and didn't sit well.

Shocking the way they do these things on a whim without any concern for the stress levels of those it affects.

Norma Foley is a discrace, possibly the worst Minister in living memory. Definitely the worst Minister for Education in my time.

Tpcl20 wrote: »

Norma Foley is a discrace, possibly the worst Minister in living memory. Definitely the worst Minister for Education in my time.

She's no Noel Davern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭penny piper

I really can't understand that no one who interviews Norma Foley can't get a straight answer from her.....How that woman can preach on RTE that schools are safe for students/teachers by the end of January after seeing rte news is beyond comprehension...Shame Vincent Brown isn't about..it would be great to see her grilled by him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Either my husband goes off work with a drop in income, I send my children to creche which will cost a lot and I don't feel comfortable with or I will take leave to stay at home which is unfair and will eat up my leave.

This is the position every other working parent, that is not a teacher, is in now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,844 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

BINGO!!!!!!!!!!

Norma to the Irish people:

Where's the last place you'd think I'd put your children with a pandemic raging?

AdbgU6fWrbzM.gif

70B3g4KWH3bx.gif

?s=fatherted&e=S02E06&i=S02E06-lJyDJjJu&t1=BACK%20IN%20THE%20CLASSROOM&t2=BINGO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Locotastic wrote: »
    Are you serious?

Why would you want to exclude HCWs, or Gardai, Cleaners, Food supply/manufacturing and retailers, Delivery drivers, Hauliers, Firefighters, Pharmacy staff, Medical manufacturing and supply, essential Electricity, Water, Gas, Broadband supply functions, Animal Care workers and Veterinarians, Agri suppliers, Car garages and mechanics, Plumbers, Electricians, Transport staff......I could go on.

As I said not all parents work in an office or from home.

Other than gardai and firefighters none of them as exposed to getting covid as teachers .

It's Ok lads...she got in that the schools are safe at the end.

I thought we were fúcked!!

From the letter to schools this evening

The public health advice is clear, as outlined in the letter of 5 January from
    NPHET that schools are safe environment for staff and students. All employers,
    including schools, are required to comply with the requirements of Work Safely
    – The COVID-19 National Protocol for Employers and Workers which is the
    collaborative output of Government Departments, the Health and Safety
    Authority (HSA) and Labour Employer Economic Forum. Each school has a
    COVID-19 Response Plan in place to outline the risk mitigation measures which
    are in place to provide that safe environment. Public Health have re-iterated
    that neither the variance of the disease nor the rate of transmission in the
    community change in anyway the mitigation measures which need to be in
    place.
    This extensive suite of measures, which have been in place in schools since
    August and remain in situ, have been supported by a funding package of over
    €400m by the Department.
    Enhanced arrangements for funding of special schools and classes were made
    in recognition of the challenges faced in these settings and funding for this term
    was provided to schools in December to ensure that they were supported and
    ready for school re-opening planned for 6 January.
    The public health advice is that compliance with the range of measures outlined
    above means that schools remain safe places of employment.
    In preparing for interim stages and full reopening, you are asked to ensure that
    the risk mitigation measures that were established in September remain in
    place and that any additional requirements from the HPSC (for example, the
    need to provide medical grade masks to all SNAs) are also implemented.

Other than gardai and firefighters none of them as exposed to getting covid as teachers .

Says who?

Says who?

Me

Says who?

Norma has a lovely fringe. Do you Gal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭antgal23

From the letter to schools this evening

The public health advice is clear, as outlined in the letter of 5 January from
    NPHET that schools are safe environment for staff and students. All employers,
    including schools, are required to comply with the requirements of Work Safely
    – The COVID-19 National Protocol for Employers and Workers which is the
    collaborative output of Government Departments, the Health and Safety
    Authority (HSA) and Labour Employer Economic Forum. Each school has a
    COVID-19 Response Plan in place to outline the risk mitigation measures which
    are in place to provide that safe environment. Public Health have re-iterated
    that neither the variance of the disease nor the rate of transmission in the
    community change in anyway the mitigation measures which need to be in
    place.
    This extensive suite of measures, which have been in place in schools since
    August and remain in situ, have been supported by a funding package of over
    €400m by the Department.
    Enhanced arrangements for funding of special schools and classes were made
    in recognition of the challenges faced in these settings and funding for this term
    was provided to schools in December to ensure that they were supported and
    ready for school re-opening planned for 6 January.
    The public health advice is that compliance with the range of measures outlined
    above means that schools remain safe places of employment.
    In preparing for interim stages and full reopening, you are asked to ensure that
    the risk mitigation measures that were established in September remain in
    place and that any additional requirements from the HPSC (for example, the
    need to provide medical grade masks to all SNAs) are also implemented.

If schools are safe why dont they open?

Asking for 5 million friends

Me

Glad you cleared that up, so it's just your opinion.

antgal23 wrote: »
    If schools are safe why dont they open?

Asking for 5 million friends

Not only that . Why can't I have gatherings of 25 in a room if they are safe ? We will wear masks be grand sure

Norma has a lovely fringe. Do you Gal?

A lot of posts here slagging off her appearance.

OK I get that she might not be popular among teachers but behaving like schoolyard children and slagging her hair/necklace etc really isn't becoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

I think this bit of the letter is particularly egregious.
    Public Health have re-iterated that neither the variance of the disease nor the rate of transmission in the community change in anyway the mitigation measures which need to be in place.

Aka: Funding? What extra funding? And distancing, shure ye must be mad. Look here see, it's not dangerous at all. Don't ye have your wonderful bubbles and pods to safeguard you... Don't mind us in our Convention Centre with 50metres between us, you'll be grand lads. Pinky promise.

A lot of posts here slagging off her appearance.

OK I get that she might not be popular among teachers but behaving like schoolyard children and slagging her hair/necklace etc really isn't becoming.

Hmmmmmmm. It wasn't a reference to Norma, but to your posting style. You knew that already though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭antgal23

Opening a special school will be at the discretion of the BoM and principals.

"Do we have enough qualified staff to open? "

" No"

That's that sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Coneygree

"Do we have enough qualified staff to open? "

" No"

That's that sorted

Once again Norma and the Department subtly pinning the responsibility onto BOM and principals and the narrative will be that principals and BOM are the baddies by not opening schools.

It's absolutely embarrassing from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Hold My Hand

I’m fierce impressed with some of the older siblings helping their younger siblings. I’m getting amazing video clips of the infants making words, playing bingo, painting pictures, etc. under the supervision of their brothers and sisters.

However closing schools is at the discretion of the DES and the HSE.