Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Memories of mad stuff that happened on live TV.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Yes. I think it has been mentioned. Not an Irish moment but the death live on air of Christine chubbuck who shot herself in the head while reading a story she’d written about the exact thing she did. Years ago I read the police interviews with her colleagues at the TV station in Florida she was working at. Awful tragic stuff.

There's a weird internet underground of people who try to find a recording of this that's somehow more interesting to me than the event or recording itself -

https://www.vulture.com/2016/01/death-hags-christine-chubbuck-suicide-video.html

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭mistermiyagi

Garth Brooks crying on Kenny Live in the early 90s.
    I'm still not right after it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

This was quite shocking when it interrupted Brookside with the breaking news.

This reminds me of the tragic death of Forbes McAllister at the hands of Alan Partridge. He didn’t know the dueling pistols of Lord Byron were loaded, but I think Tony Hayers was right not to give Partridge a second season after that.

Mike Murphy used to do the sports news on TV back in the early 70's. He was off camera but didn't know his microphone was live. So just as the news caster was telling the main story of the day, I think it was a car load of policemen getting blown to bits in the north by the RA, he breaks into hysterical laughter which is broadcast. It was something fairly harmless like one of the crew told him a joke while he was still in the background waiting to do his bit, he himself did not hear the news as it was being read, it just sounds really bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Yurt! wrote: »
    The leader of the Japanese Socialist Party gets assassinated with a samurai sword by a radical university student. NSFW I suppose, but not terribly gory. Blink and you'll miss it.

Best to watch in slow motion (0.25).

• Registered Users Posts: 8,302 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

The England riots from 2011 would be the biggest shock live tv moment for me.

Pat Kenny on the late late who was laughing at your man ''Kevin'' who won that holiday to Austria. :D

Derek Mooney being controversial to a woman suffering from cancer asking 'bad hair day' on the millionaire raffle draw.

Jeremy Thompson on Sky News hearing a bomb blast go off behind him during a live OB while being on the Israeli-Gaza border.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭smilerf

I remember some years ago on the morning programme on tv3 a child with cancer was being interviewed
    Sinead Desmond asked this little girl how she feels about dying
    She burst into tears
    How that wagon kept her job I'll never know

• Registered Users Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

dasdog wrote: »
    Given the times it seemed almost run of the mill (wall) but when the news came out over 90 people died in a crush watching a game of football...

This wasn't live but around the same time and my 13 year old jaw dropped in horror.

Instant violence in the 1980's was a look away - thankfully by 1990 MDMA/E's got people interested in enjoying themselves rather than wanting to punch and kill each other.

So it's drugs that sorted the North out, interesting....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The first Clare-Offaly All-Ireland Hurling Semi-final replay ending 2 minutes early, resulting in Offaly fans protesting on the pitch in Croke Park

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Lots of clips of Pat 'Data' Kenny. He still hasn't got the hang of human emotions, bless him.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Joe Brolly's unhinged rant about Sean Cavanagh, the aggressive pointing is my favourite bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Noel Edmonds Breakfast show each week one part of the show was a contestant carried out a stunt or whatever anyway this week they hang a car high up in the air with a crane ( from what I can remember ) then drop it, the guy in the car gets killed live on air.
    They dropped the show after that, it was a very popular show in the 80s if I'm not mistaken.

Noel Edmonds - Late Late Breakfast Show.

As previously mentioned, that was a stunt that went wrong in rehearsal (not aired), the day before a scheduled live Saturday evening transmission. The participant was to bungee jump out of an exploding box suspended 120 ft in the air, but the rope slipped off it's mount and he fell to his death.

As it happened, I had a friend working in BBC TV centre at the time and I was on the ferry and overnight train journey down to London that Friday - I was going to watch the programme in the studio, when it went out live.

This was back in the days long before mobile phones and I knew nothing about the accident, until I got to London and was told that the programme was cancelled. It was very eerie to go to the studio and see it all set up and lit for broadcast, knowing that someone involved had died hours earlier and the prog was not going ahead.

Edmonds was off air for two years after the incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Treppen wrote: »
    Zig and zag called Bosco a wanker

That's an urban myth tbh, along with the "balls deep In Bibi Baskin" thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Niagara Falls (Rainbow Falls) suicide caught on film during a News Broadcast.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJ7N92bapJw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

A group of 7 Protestant construction workers were blown up in their minibus by an IRA roadside bomb.
    The Northern Ireland Secretary Peter Brook appeared on the Late Late Show and sang My Darling Clementine.
    He was forced to resign after howls of outrage from Unionists.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Sac O Spuds

I can't find a clip of it up on You tube but I saw it live one morning on TV3.
    Basically Mark Cagney and Sinead Desmond had a crowd on discussing a book that one of them (a woman I think) had written. In it she was making allegations that some individual had sexually abused someone. The other guests refuted this and it got a bit heated.
    Cagney was challenging someone about the allegations when they tried to grab the papers he was holding. Next thing they were all on their feet shouting abuse at the woman, with yer man still trying to grab the sheets of paper from Cagney and Sinead Desmond in the background going "lads lads ye can't do that" or something to that effect. Next thing they cut to an ad break and that was the end of the saga.
    I think it was shown yrs after on "Itll Be All Right On The Night".

• Registered Users Posts: 8,286 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Some hilarious stuff posted, my favourites are Joe Brolly's pointing, Irish Ukrainians not Russians and one of the Pat Kenny ones SIX HUN-DRED TOUSAND POW-END A WEEK...YEAR.... FOR ELEVEN HOURS JOBS!

I can just imagine the RTE producer when that last incident was unfolding - keep that fcuking camera and microphone on that man!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I can't find a clip of it up on You tube but I saw it live one morning on TV3.
    Basically Mark Cagney and Sinead Desmond had a crowd on discussing a book that one of them (a woman I think) had written. In it she was making allegations that some individual had sexually abused someone. The other guests refuted this and it got a bit heated.
    Cagney was challenging someone about the allegations when they tried to grab the papers he was holding. Next thing they were all on their feet shouting abuse at the woman, with yer man still trying to grab the sheets of paper from Cagney and Sinead Desmond in the background going "lads lads ye can't do that" or something to that effect. Next thing they cut to an ad break and that was the end of the saga.
    I think it was shown yrs after on "Itll Be All Right On The Night".

That clip was on YouTube a few years ago but seems to be gone now, theres a screenshot on this blog page.

http://clericalwhispers.blogspot.com/2007/11/author-kelly-claims-tv3-interview-one.html?m=1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

A group of 7 Protestant construction workers were blown up in their minibus by an IRA roadside bomb.
    The Northern Ireland Secretary Peter Brook appeared on the Late Late Show and sang My Darling Clementine.
    He was forced to resign after howls of outrage from Unionists.

I actually felt sorry for Brook that night. At first he declined the offer to sing a song and was pressured in to it by Gay Byrne with Mrs Doyle enthusiasm (go on, go on, go on). It got so embarrassing for Brook that he reluctantly agreed to do something.

Gay Bryne should have showed more discretion at the time and I thought that the backlash against Brook was a bit unfair, considering the pressure he was put under on live TV.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Joe Brolly spoke the truth, not on rte anymore.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭Feisar

I was about 15 it was mad. The Irish cops were warned beforehand by English cops that these loons were heading over and ignored it.

The lads on the ground handed out some timber though!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Fabrice Muamba having a heart attack during a Tottenham vs Bolton match

There was a consultant cardiologist in the crowd that assisted the medical staff and accompanied him in the ambulance. As I recall he directed the driver to by pass the closest hospital and went to a further one away where he worked with specialist cardiac services. Muamba is one lucky man he was there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

9\11

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Richard and Judy had a guy checking his sac for cancer. Big pair of hairy stones on morning television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Paul Weller

SeaFields wrote: »
    There was a consultant cardiologist in the crowd that assisted the medical staff and accompanied him in the ambulance. As I recall he directed the driver to by pass the closest hospital and went to a further one away where he worked with specialist cardiac services. Muamba is one lucky man he was there.

You're spot on, his decision to go the extra mile so to speak saved Fabrice's life
    I also remember Marc Vivien Foe collapsing in the middle of the pitch while playing for Cameroon.... unfortunately he passed away there and then

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Maybe this is unfair but it annoyed me that Muamba and his wife were constantly thanking God for him not dying. Rather than the people who actually saved his life.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,952 ✭✭✭Degag

Bowe vs Holyfield fight 1993, middle of the fight, it was about 4am over here and the next thing the ref stops the fight and down from the skies arrives James Miller. Absolutely surreal.

Jaysus that's mad!

Had a read about it and the parachutist committed suicide less than 10 years later. Not before interrupting other sporting events including a Bolton vs. Arsenal FA Cup 4th Rnd game of all things.:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,465 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I know it's not live tv, but I'd love to rewatch the whole "jousting question" from the Irish version of Who wants to be a millionaire?

Does anyone have a clip of this? Remember it so well more because in the same episode when one contestant got picked he jumped up and shouted "YAAAAS" hilariously.
    Lundstram wrote: »
    There was a competition on the LLS in the 90s I think it was where Gay Byrne pulled out some lady's name, I think she won a car. He rings her up and tells her, I think Gay asked her how her week was or something and she tells him her daughter had just died in a car crash. Cue awkwardness the likes of which I've neer witnessed before. Gay asks her "why did she die?" He obviously meant how but the woman thinks he's taking the pee, cue epic levels of awkwardness but he saves it by giving her his sympathies.

There was a video of it on Youtube but it was taken down a few years ago.

I remember watching it live. "Why did she die?" being one of the most bizarre questions I've ever heard.
    Samsgirl wrote: »
    A little before my time but was the JFK assassination live on TV?

No but Lee Harvey Oswalds was 48 hours later.

A huge reason Americans started buying and watching more TV and consuming TV news.

50 years ago, America turned on the television

• Registered Users Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Erica Roe streaking at the England v Australia rugby match in January 1982. Shortly before The Big Snow

• Registered Users Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

The Nal wrote: »
    Does anyone have a clip of this? Remember it so well more because in the same episode when one contestant got picked he jumped up and shouted "YAAAAS" hilariously.

I used to have it but can't remember what tape it is on. My memory of it is here