Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long before the 1st robbery on the Canadian Goose shop in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Dogg Munde wrote: »
    No, they certainly do not. https://www.brownthomas.com/brands/canada-goose/

They’re not made in Vietnam either like the other posts alluded to. They’re made in... you guessed it... Canada.

Sweet mother of feck they're expensive. Wouldnt you be scalded if you got them caught in some briars while out on a walk or if you spilled paint on it

• Registered Users Posts: 9,734 ✭✭✭hynesie08

In fairness they keep you warm, but for €1400 so would 2 months rent and heat though.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Dogg Munde wrote: »
    No, they certainly do not. https://www.brownthomas.com/brands/canada-goose/

They’re not made in Vietnam either like the other posts alluded to. They’re made in... you guessed it... Canada.

So they start at €400 approx. Some of the more expensive ones are a grand or so. Still more than I've ever paid for any coat but each to their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

tdf7187 wrote: »
    So they start at €400 approx. Some of the more expensive ones are a grand or so. Still more than I've ever paid for any coat but each to their own.

150e for whats basically a beanie hat... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Feenix

hynesie08 wrote: »
    In fairness they keep you warm, but for €1400 so would 2 months rent and heat though.....

They're made for Winter in Canada. Its probably worth the purchase there. I've never bought one but it they're anything like North Face they will last for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Feenix wrote: »
    They're made for Winter in Canada. Its probably worth the purchase there. I've never bought one but it they're anything like North Face they will last for years.

Gets cold standing on street corners selling drugs all day, well worth the investment

The absolute state of it.

1200x505146x2701m11_01?$pdp_zoom$
    540 shekels.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,952 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    150e for whats basically a beanie hat... :pac:

At a stretch maybe the jackets are expensive for the filling and where they're made.

Some of them actually look cheap, esp the shiny ones.

But a fcuking beanie? Really? Like any other beanie but with a CG badge.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,246 ✭✭✭✭blade1

The absolute state of it.

1200x505146x2701m11_01?$pdp_zoom$
    540 shekels.

Lagging jacket for the hot press tank.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,737 ✭✭✭YellowLead

https://www.peta.org.uk/action/spread-word-canada-goose-cruelty/

Hope this is scaremongering and not true....

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Kylta wrote: »
    Is there any place in Ireland that sells poutine?

Brown Thomas

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Stheno wrote: »
    Its chips with cottage cheese and gravy

It is utterly vile

You have obviously never had the real thing

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

sydthebeat wrote: »
    You're OK

Superdry is the poor man's north face.

North face is the poor man's Canada goose.
    sasta le wrote: »
    Add Moncler into the list

Keep up people, Canada Goose was last year -this year its Moncler for the real deal(er). Lads about 9 stone going around wearing a stuffed red bin bag. It's a sight to behold..

Canada goose us the poor man's Moncler

Who knows what they'll go for next?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    The poor stay poor by acting rich.

amen

If you feel the need to spend €1000 on a jacket to look like the man you need your f*cking head examined

I really don't know where people get the idea that you have to look rich to be rich or be perceived as rich.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

lawred2 wrote: »
    don't believe that

every one of these stores has those vacuum tube systems for delivering cash

find it hard to believe that cash gets physically walked upstairs

I used to work in the BT cash office and we didn't have vacuum tubes in operation. Cash was walked up to the cash office. At the end of the evening, there was literally a queue of staff with bags of cash from their tills depositing them to the cash office hatch. I left about 6 years ago so might have changed since.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭screamer

https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/webshop/data/thumbs/27/2769b50277d55ae5939c23ae6eb5d432dadd70e5.jpg
    Cut two holes for arms and your goose is cooked....
    What vile looking things those jackets are, you’d have to pay me 500 quid to wear scobie threads like that

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭drogon.

Keep up people, Canada Goose was last year -this year its Moncler for the real deal(er). Lads about 9 stone going around wearing a stuffed red bin bag. It's a sight to behold..

Might as well buy the patches/logo's from China and stitch them on as needed for the youth of today.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,952 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

gary550 wrote: »
    amen

If you feel the need to spend €1000 on a jacket to look like the man you need your f*cking head examined

I really don't know where people get the idea that you have to look rich to be rich or be perceived as rich.

Money can't buy class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Hellotonever

I like the two contrasting demographics that wear Canada Goose in Ireland:

1. Wanna Scumbags and drug dealers

2. Rich chinese students studying STEM

• Registered Users Posts: 30,370 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

hynesie08 wrote: »

I'd get one's buying them to keep them warm.
    However the guys I see wearing them generally wear them with shorts and whites socks pulled up high and sliders.
    Or if they do wear trackies with them. They leave their pasty ankles hanging out.

gary550 wrote: »
    amen

I think snobbery over what people wear is the same for any wealth class. That is to say, I think denigrating someone for wearing 'expensive' clothes is as sad as calling someone out for wearing 'cheap' clothes. Its just snobbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

The Woke Thread is over there
    >

Kivaro wrote: »
    The Woke Thread is over there
    >

Nah mate im a millionaire. Everyone here sounds pathetic to me. Complaining about things they cant afford is truly a plebeian phenomenon. Dont own any CG jackets either. Dont care about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Last year I called in to Canada Goose on Regent Street for the laugh. Well made jackets to be fair. Felt sorry for the guy working retail selling stupid stuff to fools. He said I looked great in the coat. Didn't have the heart to say I would never buy one in a million years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Who carries great wodges of cash around these days only securicor men and criminals.

I use cash only because I'm not an idiot. I actually can't take anybody who uses card over cash seriously as a human adult. It's like they're lacking something upstairs.

In saying that I'm caught short the odd time because there just isnt the amount of cash machines around as there used to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Defo penny's, or how about a charity shop?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Aren’t Canadian Goose
    Moncler, and stone island some of the most counter-feited brands out there at the minute?

In fairness with Stone Island you can buy a Penney’s jumper and put the badge on. Similar if not better quality.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Feenix

razorblunt wrote: »
    Aren’t Canadian Goose
    Moncler, and stone island some of the most counter-feited brands out there at the minute?

In fairness with Stone Island you can buy a Penney’s jumper and put the badge on. Similar if not better quality.

I’m quite certain it’s nowhere near the same quality as Stone Island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Re all the drug dealer talk, young people living at home today have more disposable income than ever before even if they're working in McDonalds. When I was 18 I think the minimum wage was something like 6 quid. The cost of a pint, a fast food meal, et al hasn't went up dramatically in the years since, but the minimum wage has went up by what, 40 percent?

Add in to that that back then most young lads went to pubs, nightclubs, 3 even 4 times a week.

Pre Covid I dont think midweek socialising exists to the same extent it did years ago, I've been out in town in recent years on a midweek night after an Ireland match and you would struggle to see a crowded venue.

I know at least 4 young lads who barely go to pubs and clubs, they far prefer getting stoned all weekend with mates. When I was young this was unheard of, anyone not into the nightlife scene was likely either a rocker, a fitness nut or a nerd.

If you are taking home 350 per week and paying little to no rent to the parents a 500 quid jacket isnt as shocking as it was in your own youth.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Kylta wrote: »
    Is there any place in Ireland that sells poutine?

Never seen it sold here tbh.