Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 68,162 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I think this thread has run out of steam, to be honest.

The real issues have reared their ugly heads, and the implants in the various media both written and audio have had their slates lifted and their pale pond life exposed.

Very strange silence from those allegedly ‘horrified’ by alleged ‘corruption’ and ‘telling lies’ their favourite expression.

Their are happy now their favourite ‘pastime’ reareational rioting has them on the news headlines again.

Time to expose the real issues, I feel.

Why would you close a thread while we await the outcome of a Garda Investigation?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,359 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The real issues have reared their ugly heads, and the implants in the various media both written and audio have had their slates lifted and their pale pond life exposed.

Very strange silence from those allegedly ‘horrified’ by alleged ‘corruption’ and ‘telling lies’ their favourite expression.

Their are happy now their favourite ‘pastime’ reareational rioting has them on the news headlines again.

Time to expose the real issues, I feel.

How many times have you said that the thread has run it's course and yet here we all are.

What do riots in Northern Ireland have to do with Leo leaking confidential documents?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,286 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Where did I say on that post that this thread “should be closed”?

Lads, please, if quoting, don’t make your own quotes up.

Go raibh míle maith agaibh.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,443 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

3,772 members voted for Leo

7,051 members voted for Simon.

Leo is the leader.

Barefaced cheek isn't a criminal offence sadly.

895,875 of the 20,000 Sinn Fein members voted for Mary-Lou against ???

• Registered Users Posts: 7,376 ✭✭✭jmcc

blanch152 wrote: »
    So you are of the Michael Noonan "Fiscal Space" school of counting?

MLMcD led SF to its best ever election result. Leo the Fifth (count) led FG to one of its worst.

Regards...jmcc

Once again, a point made and backed up when asked and all I get is a deflection to SF.

You’ll need to give a bell to Connolly House, Blanch.

Whoever Kelly gives the nod to?

Translation: Damn. More stuff is coming out in the next few weeks and it is not favourable to FG.

More FG to English translations: :)

"Real issues have reared their ugly heads": The Garda investigation has been upgraded to a criminal investigation into Varadkar leaking a confidential document to his friend.

"and the implants in the various media both written and audio have had their slates lifted and their pale pond life exposed.": Huh? That's no way to speak about FG's embedded reporters. Pale pond life?

"Very strange silence from those allegedly ‘horrified’ by alleged ‘corruption’ and ‘telling lies’ their favourite expression.": Quick! Hasn't SF done something? Get on to Eoghan Harris for advice.

"Their are happy now their favourite ‘pastime’ reareational rioting has them on the news headlines again.": Future FG voters practicing their interpretive dance routines? Somebody call Shrek for a comment.

"Time to expose the real issues, I feel.": More leaks? This is becoming quite a habit for FG.

Regards...jmcc

jmcc wrote: »
    Translation: Damn. More stuff is coming out in the next few weeks and it is not favourable to FG.

More FG to English translations: :)

"Real issues have reared their ugly heads": The Garda investigation has been upgraded to a criminal investigation into Varadkar leaking a confidential document to his friend.

"and the implants in the various media both written and audio have had their slates lifted and their pale pond life exposed.": Huh? That's no way to speak about FG's embedded reporters. Pale pond life?

"Very strange silence from those allegedly ‘horrified’ by alleged ‘corruption’ and ‘telling lies’ their favourite expression.": Quick! Hasn't SF done something? Get on to Eoghan Harris for advice.

"Their are happy now their favourite ‘pastime’ reareational rioting has them on the news headlines again.": Future FG voters practicing their interpretive dance routines? Somebody call Shrek for a comment.

"Time to expose the real issues, I feel.": More leaks? This is becoming quite a habit for FG.

Regards...jmcc

Translation.........The penny is dropping..........:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,891 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Translation.........The penny is dropping..........:D
    So I think this thread has run out of steam, to be honest, means close this thread. You are afraid to see whats coming up.

skimpydoo wrote: »
    So I think this thread has run out of steam, to be honest, means close this thread. You are afraid to see whats coming up.

We’ve been waiting for something to come up since October.

Surely you know a chap who knows someone with the inside track on things and who would give you some indication of what's happening? All on the QT, of course. :)

Regards...jmcc

You have been saying since November nothing to see here. Does having the inquiry upgraded to a criminal investigation mean nothing to you?

If the matter under investigation was as serious as is being made out, surely charges would have been brought by now?
    The Village attack on Leo stinks of desperate rejection.

If the matter under investigation was as serious as is being made out, surely charges would have been brought by now?
    Well, surely the investigation would have been dropped by now.

Attack?

They laid the truth out and he confessed to it. Did you miss that?

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭Johnthemanager

Or, there is a damn site more being investigated than what The Village uncovered!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,222 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Will the next 'revelation' be a rehash of what we already know?
    Like a Hollywood remake.

Or, there is a damn site more being investigated than what The Village uncovered!!
    Word is more to come out that will put the Leak in an untenable position.

Word from who? The increasingly unhinged Paddy Cosgrave? If he has anything then he’d release it. He’s just bitter because he wasn’t treated like the second coming of Christ by the Government a few years ago.

Has all his moron followers with the pirate flags in their profile worked up into a frenzy.

Word from who? The increasingly unhinged Paddy Cosgrave? If he has anything then he’d release it. He’s just bitter because he wasn’t treated like the second coming of Christ by the Government a few years ago.

Has all his moron followers with the pirate flags in their profile worked up into a frenzy.

Has the Gardai working too.

The members of FG voted for Coveney to be leader.

And?

That is the way FG elects their leader, a new system that ironically spearheaded by Varadkar giving the ordinary membership of FG a say in who their new leader is.
    Local councillors and members of the parliamentary party also make up the 'electoral college'
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017_Fine_Gael_leadership_election

Compare this to other parties it is actually very democratic.

In FF only TD's were allowed to cast a vote in 2011 in the election of MM as the leader.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Fianna_F%C3%A1il_leadership_election

Labour on paper appeared to have a more democratic system, but we all remember the way Howlin stopped any TD from nominating a challenger, namely Alan Kelly, so was elected unopposed.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_Labour_Party_leadership_election_(Ireland)

The election contest last year was a more democratic affair.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Labour_Party_leadership_election_(Ireland)

I don't think the SD's ever had a leadership election....

The Greens had a close contest last year.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Green_Party_leadership_election_(Ireland)
    Green party members got to choose.

That leads us to the party that must not be named.
    MLMD was elected, well she was coronated as President of Sinn Fein after Gerry Adams stood down.
    She was appointed unopposed and there was no choice in the matter.
    Did the general membership even get a vote?

Word from whom exactly?

Someone on the internet?

markodaly wrote: »
    And?

That is the way FG elects their leader, a new system that ironically spearheaded by Varadkar giving the ordinary membership of FG a say in who their new leader is.
    Local councillors and members of the parliamentary party also make up the 'electoral college'
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2017_Fine_Gael_leadership_election

Compare this to other parties it is actually very democratic.

In FF only TD's were allowed to cast a vote in 2011 in the election of MM as the leader.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Fianna_F%C3%A1il_leadership_election

Labour on paper appeared to have a more democratic system, but we all remember the way Howlin stopped any TD from nominating a challenger, namely Alan Kelly, so was elected unopposed.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_Labour_Party_leadership_election_(Ireland)

The election contest last year was a more democratic affair.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Labour_Party_leadership_election_(Ireland)

I don't think the SD's ever had a leadership election....

The Greens had a close contest last year.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Green_Party_leadership_election_(Ireland)
    Green party members got to choose.

That leads us to the party that must not be named.
    MLMD was elected, well she was coronated as President of Sinn Fein after Gerry Adams stood down.
    She was appointed unopposed and there was no choice in the matter.
    Did the general membership even get a vote?

Over 7000 of the membership wanted Coveney, just over 3000 wanted Leo.

FG has no interest in what the members want. FACT, as can be seen from the numbers. What other parties do or don't do, doesn't change that fact.

On the pirate hat thing, I've noticed that. It is the American equivalent of the red MAGA caps. Once you harness and cultivate populist online hate and disruption against 'da elite and establishment' it's difficult to put it back in the box.

It wont end well for Paddy and Co.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Hilarious...

The unscrupulous Paddy Cosgrave tweets and the FG online army come crawling out of the woodwork. :D

It’s gas how obsessive some SF supporters and Cosgrave’s army of imbeciles are about LV. He really gets to them. He bothers them. They hate him with a passion and in some very tragic cases it causes them to spend their lives giving out about him on the internet.

Weird.

FG has no interest in what the members want. FACT, as can be seen from the numbers. What other parties do or don't do, doesn't change that fact.

By asking them to vote, and including their votes in an electoral college to elect their new leader? That fact?

What other parties do, actually does have a bearing as that is the benchmark here. But I do not think people actually care about this, they just want this thread to be another, 'lets give out about FG' thread.
    We already have one of those.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,900 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Have you for the breakdown of membership votes electing Mary Lou? I'm struggling to find it online and who she ran against.

Is the leader voted by membership only in SF or is it an electoral collage type voting system?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

It’s gas how obsessive some SF supporters and Cosgrave’s army of imbeciles are about LV. He really gets to them. He bothers them. They hate him with a passion and in some very tragic cases it causes them to spend their lives giving out about him on the internet.

Weird.
    Anyone could say the exact same thing about the powerless Paddy Cosgrave and the FG online army of keyboard finger soldiers.
    Paddy really gets to them, he really bothers them, they hate him with a passion and in many very tragic cases it causes them to spend their lives giving out about him on the internet...

It is hilarious though. Truly.