Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesla Model 3 - V3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Just back from a trip around Galway and Mayo with a 1yr and 5year old.

Boot fitted a Baby Jogger city mini GT with step clipped on, 1 big case~25kg, 2 hand luggage cases 2X 10KG, a fan, a big bag of toys, buckets,spades for the beach, type 2 cable, granny cable, couple of coats, nappy /changing bag.

Frunk then had wetsuits, beach towels, beach tent, picnic blanket, swimming togs, beach shoes etc ..

Never had an issue with space, the flat floor in the back helps too if you needed more space.

On the buggy have a big Joolz one as well and with the step it fits across the boot or straight in, in my wife's 3 series it only fits diagonal unless you take the step off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Thanks all, useful information in there. My point RE: youtube video was more around if i had 2 small kids <2/3 say it doesn't seem like a great option. For me personally we'll only have the 1 so once the buggy fits easy enough and it looks like it will so it would be fine for our needs. If we end up with another we'll probably just change car anyway. Boot on the M3 is massive though when compared to competing saloons anyway.

Interesting theres no deliveries in January, a very brief window of opportunity for me so if my order falls through and i can get an M3 in September some time. Any later than that and i'd just as soon hold out for something else in the new year.

You can book a test drive and put in the buggy, car seat etc to try it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

Chances are they will be all gone by then. They may even be all gone now but there could be further cancellations in the next few weeks.

what car are you expecting in September? I would have thought you would know by now if it’s going to happen. All companies are different of course but it’s what I would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭mc2022B2TF

stalk that inventory page - i got so lucky with a cancellation that popped up and i threw down the €250 in a flash.

RWD white bog standard but qualifies for the grant - i have 2 kids and yes i'd love more space - but in reality for 95% of the year its going to be more than enough. I'll get the roof rack and fit my roof box on it.

Ordered it last thursday and have pretty much all of the steps done at this stage with a delivery date of 8th Sept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭ADSLUSER

FD83D521-5A6E-4526-8E11-80ADAD2FF090.jpeg

Is it just me or has all the M3 inventory disappeared including the pricier models?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Tesla do that from time to time, they’ll pop back up

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,247 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Yeah, it’s to lure in impulse buyers…….

inventory disappears, and then suddenly cars appear again and folk will get giddy and order there and then……

they are clever.

It’s an N line Tucson PHEV. Yeah to be fair they haven’t said it’s not coming but haven’t been able to give me any sort of concrete date either. The agreement was if it’s not here in September I’d get deposit back so I’m just waiting to hear one way or the other. If I don’t get an update next week I’ll look for the deposit. I’d look to jump on a stock M3 in that scenario.

Wife has a preference for the SUV type car but I’d just as soon stick with the saloon for another while until baby number 2 comes.

It’s working 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,282 ✭✭✭✭kippy

North of 50k/60k for a car and basics like this not included or poor parts included.

Look fair play to all of you who have taken the plunge on a Tesla, but Christ even if I had access to that kind of money I would find it extremely difficult to spend it on a car with as many build issues as I have seen, with limited servicing options, hard to get parts and extremely limited charging infrastructure (a problem for all EVs)

Not entirely sure about the PAYG model that seems to be in play for some of the services either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What's the specific build issues that you have personally seen?

Servicing options are a probably better than most other manufacturers in that they will send out the ranger (mobile mechanic) to you for most things.

The extremely limited charging infrastructure is true but less so with Tesla who have their own dedicated high speed charging network (upwards or more than 50 and increasing).

Limited charging infrastructure? Tesla has more HPCs than all the rest put together. By your logic the only EV anyone should buy is a Tesla

Charging a Tesla in Ireland (or anywhere) is the most stress free charging experience of any EV here.

Arrive at Tesla Supercharger (of which there are currently 50 spread out over 9 sites), plug in, car charges, car tells you when you can continue on your journey, plug out car, leave to continue journey…

probably 60%-70% of the country is covered by Tesla Superchargers, so it’s a bit of a stretch calling charging infrastructure ‘extremely limited’…. Yes it’s extremely limited for everyone else, but not really for Tesla drivers.

I recently drove mine across Europe to Lithuania, and I wouldn’t dream of doing that same trip in a non Tesla EV, or even in an ICE car for that matter. The car was flawless for over 4,000km, and has been flawless for the 63,000km we’ve done in it…… a few minor bits have been done, but mostly while the car was sitting on my driveway by the mobile ranger…. So the ‘limited service options’ comment makes no sense. It’s an EV so what needs to be serviced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭wassie

For any new & propspective M3 owners nervous about 'range anxiety', the last part of my work trip yday I had to do nearly 70km. The energy trip meter showed I was going to be just 'out of range' to nearest DC (Ionity) charger on the way home. I have a Fremont M3 SR+ (2021 refresh with NCA battery).

This was a straight line motorway journey with warm temperatures - ideal conditions for cutting it tight. Normally I travelly at 123kmh as phone GPS shows this as bang on 120kmh.

At start of journey I simply eased back at 118kmh (115kmh actual). Full aircon running. By halfway back I had made a 2% gain. This gave me the confidence return to normal driving to get to the charger. A quick 12 minute charge was more than enough to get me home at 12% remaining.

range.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I've question to current Tesla owners. I noted that Tesla Roadside Assistance in available 24/7 and available within your warranty period. Has anyone used it and for what types of issues?

Is the Tesla roadside assistance any good or do people have any additional cover on top e.g AA or another?

Thanks.

Normally I travelly at 123kmh as phone GPS shows this as bang on 120kmh.

That's interesting, do you have the 19 inch wheels?

As I have the standard 18 inch aero wheels, and the speed display on my screen is almost dead on accurate compared to separate GPS units (compared with 2 different devices simultaneously (iPhone using Navigon app & Garmin stand alone GPS)).

I've found my Model 3 to display the most accurate speed I've ever seen in any car (and over the years I've driven a sh1t ton of rentals from BMW, Mercedes, Audi, VW etc......)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

The build issues have all but disappeared with the current fleet of Model 3's from China

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

BMW do not produce mud flaps for their MSport range either. Go rant at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,282 ✭✭✭✭kippy

.....and tetchy owners to boot....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

What do you drive which has mud guards included?

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

You'd wonder why people would bother coming into a thread dedicated to a certain type of car that they have no intention of ever buying....🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭OCD

What's the etiquette at destination chargers if you're not a guest of the hotel or using the facility where the charger is based? Rarely charge in public but just curious to know.

The general consensus is that you should be a paying customer in some way or another...

We've stayed in hotels and used the destination chargers, and we've stopped off for food at other hotels/restaurants and used the destination chargers..

I wouldn't however rock up to a place, plug in and then feck off somewhere else, as that would be bad form.

If you filter this map to show only Tesla Destination Chargers, and select each one, you'll see teh details for them.... i.e. mainly customer only...

Also, here's a thread;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭OCD

perfect, thanks for that. handy to stop in at one of the locations for some lunch and a few kWh.

How does the car decide who is driving?

My OH will have a very different driver profile than me. Seating position being one where she would have the back rest vertical, the seat closer to the front and zero lumbar support. I tend to have the seat reclined, far back and I need lumbar support.

If we are travelling anywhere, I normally drive, but she might be first to approach and enter the car. In the Leaf, its a minor inconvenience where we sometimes need to disconnect a phone and connect the drivers phone, but in a Tesla, there is a driver profile. How do other owners overcome this?

Stay Free

You just tap your name on the screen to bring up the driver profiles, and select the other drivers profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭JOL1

You can do better. You can cater for when Tesla detects two people with phone keys in the same car. To make one of them a priority so that if car detects 2 it sets one as priority.

https://youtu.be/TjC33f1yCJA