Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesla Model 3 - V3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,182 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

The RWD WLTP isnt 591, it's 510 with aeros and 497 with sport wheels, as I outlined

As well as adding the 10% to those figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,247 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Sorry yes, 491.... I seemed to give it an extra 100km out of thin air!!!! but if this could bring it up to 530km WLTP, it would make an already awesome car even better!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

Think this question is more suitable for this thread rather than the delivery one.

I'm collecting a rwd on the 16th at 2pm and need to get to Donegal for 7/7:30. I need to drive to the sandyford area regardless before heading north and I know the range when delivered may not be accurate so would I need to do a short charge in sandyford and then charge to 100% on the M1 for calibration or would I be able to go to the M1 without charging in sandyford?

I'm not even sure if this is all doable before 7:30 and I could try get the collection date changed to the day before but would like to know peoples thoughts on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭wassie

Depends on the SoC when you collect your vehicle. Although if your collecting from Baldoyle I'd think your bigger issue is going to be the M50 & M1 if its a weekday afternoon and your heading to Sandyford then Donegal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,580 ✭✭✭eagerv

Did you try for an earlier collection? I changed my time a few days before, which they obliged. And I turned up almost an hour early for my new time, car was waiting for me, could have left 10 minutes later had I so wished.

It’s d22 for the collection. I’m guessing here of course but from what I read the soc will be around 50% although that figure can’t be relied on as calibration might be off. I don’t know how long collection takes either. I will need to do a decent walk around and check out the inside so I’m hoping it takes around 30 minutes. I might be over/underestimating how quick this process takes though.

if that is accurate the traffic shouldn’t be that mental when leaving sandyford. A lot of assumptions are being made here. I sort of want to try just to see if it’s doable tbh. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭innrain

If you go to Sandyford, and you're below 50%, charge at the new SuC. Drop in the shop and browse the "accessories", nothing available on the shelf I'm afraid, have a free coffee there, then head to your destination. 30 mins would suffice. How much, would the drive be 3.5h? Better start before 4pm as Friday evenings on M50 Northbound could be slow. The alternative if you're higher in initial SoC, Castlebellingham would be few minutes more as they are V2 but you'll get home with higher SoC and less range anxiety. Both options doable.

Yeah you would need to get out of sandyford as long before 4 as you can on a Friday. It’s why I don’t want to hang around there for 100%, I’m sure the car would get to Donegal no problem but timing is key with traffic. I’m just not sure I can be certain that what ever percent it shows since I’ve read of people picking up and thinking they have more range than they do.

Normally without stopping and normal traffic from sandyford would be around 3.5 hours so I’d have 5.30 hours from when I arrive for pickup. I don’t live in Donegal, just need to be there for a family birthday thing which is why the timing is important. When there it will be the slow charger and maybe the ac in letterkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

if I was short on time for collection. Take plenty of pictures of the exterior from all angles. Do a brief inspection for obvious issues. Then do a thorough one when you get to your destination or when you are charging.

And maybe arrive early by 15-20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,247 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

you can arrive an hour or 2 early and you'll be grand if really stuck for time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭JonathonS

Richard Symons has a new video up, comparing self-parking on the Audi E-tron GT, Ford Mustang Mach-E, BMW i4 M50 and the Tesla S and M3. The two Teslas basically cannot do it. There's a comment from a Y Lu explaining why.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsb2XBAIWyA&ab_channel=RSymonsRSEV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,182 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Ive had many cars with self parking. I tried it in all of them and none could do it.

I see no reason to have it anyway beyond novelty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Once of the lads at work had the M3 Performance, and it was terrible to self park, it took an age.

the only one i have tested that is any good is in the new Range Rover, its actually very good. as quick as parking yourself. was pleasantly surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I know not Tesla related but this was posted yesterday to a facebook EV owners group....wouldn't ye be ragin'!

image.png

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Had it for 2 years on my S, never even tried it once, pointless. Summon was nice twice where dopes parked right up against me

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mike2006

Hi, could somebody who has a recent enough Model 3 tell me how long the granny charger cable is from the transformer (not plug top) to the Type 2 connector.

I am trying figure out if it will reach my parking space from my outside socket.

Thanks in advance.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭JOL1

price for Tesla Full Self Drive capability about to soar in the US. Seems an incredible price to pay for the functionality

Someone was reporting a spurious behavior of FSD on N11, mostly around the traffic lights. The new "beep" when light goes green helped me understand the issue. Tesla does not understand the filter lights. (are they European?) N11 is full of them so the car is very confused if it is green or red. The amount of time it beeps me to go, because the straight ahead is green, even though I'm in the turn right lane is laghable. So no, no FSD for me. I do have EAP which is kinda a gimmik in its own. Yet to use the summon, and the self park is amateurish. It will improve though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

In America you can turn right on a red light. As in you come to a junction turning right and the light is red you can legally just keep driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

How does the "beep" on green light actually work?

I'm up to date with software/downloads etc and it has never beeped for me whether I've been at the front of a traffic queue or further back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭mc2022B2TF

yes the filter light thing is definitely not the best and needs to be tailored better and hopefully will do in time. Was in a model y the other night and when waiting for the filter light to turn green it kept beeping because the main light was green for straight ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭JOL1

you need to enable this functionality on your

screen under the Autopilot Section. There is an option "Green Traffic Light Chime..turn it on.

Then when you are stopped at traffic lights and when they turn green, there is an audible sound to alert you. If you are not first in line and behind a car, it will beep when the first cars moves ...i find it a very helpful addition.

Not in every state and you must come to a full stop before proceeding, there are also full stop versions where you cannot turn right on a red "no turn on red". Do not even dream of doing this if there is a pedestrian anywhere on a zebra crossing. Sheriff cars will come from nowhere to catch offenders. Very hard to manage this on FSD if you are travelling across states and differing rules...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Same story in Germany. It makes sense but if it was introduced in Ireland, there would be chaos. Keep it simple for us 😂

Stay Free

I had my first fight with the car yesterday, a L road with no markings, the car decided it could see a centre line (due to driving directly into the sun I think) and kept pulling me towards the ditch to keep my side of the road, then would push me out from the ditch. Was quite scary actually as I literally was fighting to keep it in the middle of the road and a lot of beeping going on. Anyhow after about 20sec all the lane features turned off and remained so for remainder of journey.

Use this road a lot, never had this issue with AP1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Question on regenerative braking - i know there various levels to choose from but does the regenerative braking take the car\traffic light ahead of you into consideration and break appropriately, or is it a set amount of braking applied depending on the regen level you have selected (in which case you would need to jump in yourself manually to add whatever else is needed so as not to have an accident)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

Afaik on newer cars you can’t adjust the level or turn it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,580 ✭✭✭eagerv

Only one level now on the RWD. Quite strong and will come to a complete stop providing creep is turned off. Will vary a bit depending upon battery level and temp, but no auto regen taking other cars into account, but did read somewhere that may be available in a future update..