Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fav Alcohol Free Beer?

• 10-10-2020 7:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭sporina

Right, what is everyone's fav 0.0 Beer? Have had to give up alcohol for medical reasons grr..

So far, I like Carlsberg 00 the best.. followed by Peroni 00, then Heineken bottles 00.. really dislike Heineken 00 cans..
    Erdinger is ok but quite sweet - its 0.5% I think..

Have yet to taste Becks 00 and Krombacher 00 - anyone had them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Peroni hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

sporina wrote: »
    Right, what is everyone's fav 0.0 Beer? Have had to give up alcohol for medical reasons grr..

So far, I like Carlsberg 00 the best.. followed by Peroni 00, then Heineken bottles 00.. really dislike Heineken 00 cans..

Becks 0? .... every bar in the country had becks and that was your only option until about 10 years ago .... it tastes like absolute piss.... like the bastard child of Budweiser and Fosters....

Peroni, it’s absolutely spot on, so refreshing, many a bbq this summer with Peroni 0!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Tom Thumbless

Is there a nastro azzurro alcohol free lager on the market. This is also made by peroni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,961 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

In the States I thought O'Douls was the best available fwiw.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Wicklow Wolf moonlight is the best I’ve found, but I think I’d rather have a Pepsi if I wasn’t drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭sporina

Becks 0? .... every bar in the country had becks and that was your only option until about 10 years ago .... it tastes like absolute piss.... like the bastard child of Budweiser and Fosters....

Peroni, it’s absolutely spot on, so refreshing, many a bbq this summer with Peroni 0!

Becks is significantly cheaper than Carlsberg, Peroni and Heineken - like 6 bottles of Becks for around 5e but only 4 of the others from around6/7e... why is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Apostel is 65cent for a 50cl can in Dunnes.

It's a German weissbier and very tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

brewdog AF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

elperello wrote: »
    Apostel is 65cent for a 50cl can in Dunnes.

It's a German weissbier and very tasty.
    brewdog AF

Both these are lovely. I think the Brew Dog stuff is among the best, though I slightly prefer Brew Dog's Nanny State. Lidl has a nice Weiss and a Pale Ale style AF.

Aldi is carrying one called, I think, Early Start by Open Road Brewery (?). That's about the nicest to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Rickytumtum

+1 for brewdog nanny state. Guinness also do a really nice lager too (think it’s .5%) in a blue can but can’t remember what it’s called. I have a load of them in the fridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭tara83

Becks is significantly cheaper than Carlsberg, Peroni and Heineken - like 6 bottles of Becks for around 5e but only 4 of the others from around6/7e... why is this?

If you drink the likes of Heineken zero, I find the Lidl Pils non alcoholic grand and cheaper. Similar labelling would suggest it's aimed at this market

wow thanks for all the replies.. didn't realise that there wer so many out there..

will have to go shopping :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Anyone tried Foxes Rock alcohol free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

Guinness open gate 0.5% is very drinkable for a near Na beer. Decent hop taste and generally available at €6 for 6 cans.

Nanny state Brewdog also decent, but more expensive.

Becks 0 is quite different to the old becks non alcoholic which was a small step above kaliber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭RachelsCousin

One great thing about Heineken Zero is the amount of money they've put into it. Large supermarkets ( my local Tesco & SuperValu at least) have their 'Zero zone' fridges, and put all their non alcoholic drinks together so you see a bigger range. You've a lot more options than when I had to give it up for a few months 15 years ago.

I bought a Paulaner hefe weissbier non-alcoholic to try last weekend, and got a few more with this week's shopping. Very nice if you like the style. It's <0.5%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

A cold Blue Erdinger for the win.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I like Punk AF, Mikkeller Drink'in the Sun and To Øl Implosion. I tried Peroni once and really really disliked it. Lervig No Worries was my favourite but a couple of cans (bought at different times from different off licences) tasted strongly of chemicals so I gave up on it. Beavertown is launching an alcohol-free beer so hopefully that will make its way over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Lomza 0% is lovely

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

You'll find most non-alcoholic beers actually contain a small amount of alcohol. They're legally permitted to be branded as non-alcoholic as long as the alcohol content is 0.5% or lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Both these are lovely. I think the Brew Dog stuff is among the best, though I slightly prefer Brew Dog's Nanny State. Lidl has a nice Weiss and a Pale Ale style AF.

Aldi is carrying one called, I think, Early Start by Open Road Brewery (?). That's about the nicest to me.

I get Early Start regularly, it has a nice little hop kick. On the same shelf they usually have Baltika zero alcohol lager which is also very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Wicklow wolf moonlight hands down. Have tried a good few and it's the best I've had shoulders above others including BDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Have been off it for the last 6 or so weeks in solidarity with herself who is 8 months pregnant so we've both been having a bit of an experiment. Her favourite by a distance is Nanny State. I had a few bottles of Low Tide last week which have bumped that to the top of my list.

I must say that I'm very impressed with the selection of alco free stuff available these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Brewdog Hazy AF is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I don't like any 0.0 beer and I've tried a few San Miguel, Buckler, Heineken, Mahou, a few German ones to name but a few.
    They all taste exactly the same to me and don't order them anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,405 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Bob Harris wrote: »
    I don't like any 0.0 beer and I've tried a few San Miguel, Buckler, Heineken, Mahou, a few German ones to name but a few.
    They all taste exactly the same to me and don't order them anymore.

I'm sure the op will make great use of this information.
    I'd recommend Baltika 0,too.

The franziskaner one is decent, lomza is not too bad either. Mikkellers drinkin the sun is really good too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

I think my top two, hands down, are Brewdog AF and Lervig No Worries alcohol free.

The Lervig comes in a grapefruit pale ale version and a non flavoured IPA. Both alcohol free (well, I think it's 0.5%...).

To be honest if I could only have one it would be the Brewdog AF, I think that was a gamechanger in terms of body, taste etc.

There is a slightly acrid aftertaste to many alcohol free beers that you still got with Nanny State (Itself not bad in its day) but not with AF.

Shout-out also to all the 2.5% table beer efforts out there... Whiplash Northern Lights Micro IPA being top of the league for me. After a few pints of Rollover in P. Macs I used to like nothing better than switching over to the Micro IPA for a few more, and feeling all the better for it the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

One great thing about Heineken Zero is the amount of money they've put into it.
    I see this as a bad thing, I would rather see no fridges and less advertising and pass the savings on as a price reduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The Aldi Sainte Etienne is really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Wicklow Wolf Moonlight is my favourite of the ones I've tried, followed by Nanny State and Punk AF by Brewdog. Early Start by Roadworks/ Station Works in Aldi is my regular AF.

I probably drink them in volume terms in reverse order, due to cost! But if I was going somewhere as a driver for the night pre-covid, I took some/ all/ a combo of the first three.

The multinational lager options, taste like multinational lagers, which isn't for me. I've also tried the Lidl AF IPA, but that's pretty rank tbh.

Paulaner or Erdinger AF were my defaults in the pub if I was driving.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I get Early Start regularly, it has a nice little hop kick. On the same shelf they usually have Baltika zero alcohol lager which is also very good.

oh I like Baltika beer so much keep an eye out for the Zero version..

must try Brew Dog.. mind you (I should have said at the start) I only like Larger - not Ale etc..

Might try the ALDI one..

Also, I don't like a chemical taste,.

I would rather pay for more better quality..

thanks all..

oh I like Baltika beer so much keep an eye out for the Zero version..

It has a red stripe on the bottle "collar" and is usually on the bottom shelf. I had one last night, great for a midweek beer with no guilt. :)

Aglomerado wrote: »
    It has a red stripe on the bottle "collar" and is usually on the bottom shelf. I had one last night, great for a midweek beer with no guilt. :)

where do you get it? I live in Cork City btw..

Any of your local Aldis will have it :) Look out for the Early Start nearby too. Purpley label with a car motif.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Just to point in, the alcohol free beers (in my local aldi's at least) aren't with the beer. They're with the spirits/ gin at the checkout end.

Just to add, Early Start is by far the pick of the "Roadworks" range (alcohol or alcohol free) - it's the nicest imo. Just in case the pale ale or IPA would put people off.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

I only like Larger - not Ale etc..
    Of the lager-style ones I've tried, Guinness Pure Brew is the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Krombacher with alcohol tastes delicious. Krombacher without alcohol tastes like the smell of a brewery.

GazzaL wrote: »
    Krombacher with alcohol tastes delicious. Krombacher without alcohol tastes like the smell of a brewery.
    I get a definite worty/porridgey effect from the other German ones too. I don't think the big German breweries have caught up with the new method of brewing alcohol-free beer by using a super-low-attenuation yeast.

BeerNut wrote: »
    I get a definite worty/porridgey effect from the other German ones too. I don't think the big German breweries have caught up with the new method of brewing alcohol-free beer by using a super-low-attenuation yeast.

I'd rather have a Radler than a zero alcohol beer based on what I've tried. Obviously not an option for people who want to cut out alcohol.

Isn't Erdinger German? I liked the 0.5 version of it..

I'd rather have a Radler than a zero alcohol beer based on what I've tried. Obviously not an option for people who want to cut out alcohol.

whats a Radler? In any case, I can't have alcohol.. though feck it I would still have the 0.5% stuff..

Isn't Erdinger German? I liked the 0.5 version of it..
    It is. It's not a lager though. I found it still had the porridge thing but masked by the weissbier banana flavour. Paulaner Alkoholfrei is another in the weissbier style and I thought it had more character than the Erdinger one.
    whats a Radler?
    Shandy. The commercial ones are generally around the 2/2.5% ABV mark.

Or just get some lemonade/7up and mix it with your beer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,961 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

If you like shandy \ radler but 2% is still too high a %, you could add a dash of soft drink to the alcohol free beer.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 spike90

I've been trying a few during pregnancy and have found Birra Moretti 0.0% the best so far. Closest to a decent 'real beer' without the metal taste that I find a lot of the other 0.0% beers have. If it's freezing cold, I would have a Heineken 0.0% but am not a huge fan.

Normally speaking, I wouldn't touch cider, particularly not Bulmers, but their 0.0% is actually really refreshing and satisfies a gap.

By far though, the Guinness Pure Brew Open Gate is my favourite 'low alcohol' beer. It's my go-to usually on nights out I am driving etc. at 0.5% but I've been sticking to the 0.0% ones to be ultra safe since being pregnant.

Or just get some lemonade/7up and mix it with your beer :)
    That won't get you anything like Stiegl Radler. Grapefruit juice might, though.

spike90 wrote: »
    I've been trying a few during pregnancy and have found Birra Moretti 0.0% the best so far. Closest to a decent 'real beer' without the metal taste that I find a lot of the other 0.0% beers have. If it's freezing cold, I would have a Heineken 0.0% but am not a huge fan.

Must try the Moretti and Guinness varieties.. thanks

Normally speaking, I wouldn't touch cider, particularly not Bulmers, but their 0.0% is actually really refreshing and satisfies a gap.

By far though, the Guinness Pure Brew Open Gate is my favourite 'low alcohol' beer. It's my go-to usually on nights out I am driving etc. at 0.5% but I've been sticking to the 0.0% ones to be ultra safe since being pregnant.
    It is. It's not a lager though. I found it still had the porridge thing but masked by the weissbier banana flavour. Paulaner Alkoholfrei is another in the weissbier style and I thought it had more character than the Erdinger one.

The Erdinger Blue bottle is a larger isn't it?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

The Erdinger Blue bottle is a larger isn't it?

It's a wheat beer, not a lager.

irish_goat wrote: »
    It's a wheat beer, not a lager.

oh ok - well i did like the taste of the Erdinger Blue.. but it was quiet sweet (thats the only think I didn't like about it)..

I defo don't like the yeasty beers.. hefe..etc

oh ok - well i did like the taste of the Erdinger Blue.. but it was quiet sweet (thats the only think I didn't like about it)..

I defo don't like the yeasty beers.. hefe..etc
    Erdinger is a hefe-weissbier ¯\_(ツ)_/¯