Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Would you be in favor of covid-19 fines in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,444 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Mr.S wrote: »
    The mask fits with your tinfoil hat on, it's ok.

Hope you didn't hurt your little brain coming up with that original way to try and insult someone who doesn't agree with you... What's next, lizard people, George Soros, Gemma O'D, Shinner, Jim Corr fan or do you have an original thought in your head with which to counter my point in the debate?

• Registered Users Posts: 31,831 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

100 percent in favour of fines for not wearing masks in shops.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I think Ireland has one of the strongest public awareness campaigns of many EU countries, Covid signs everywhere, public announcements, social media ads, radio/tv constant advertisements... it's impossible to avoid unless you stop reading Irish news....

But the quality of the ads isn't great is what I'm saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I know you are being sarcastic but I would be in favor of seeing those anti mask protestors/idiots arrested when they are protesting with no social distancing.

They should all be given a Police record. Preferably the one with "Don't Stand So Close to Me" on it. :D:D:D

There is no law regarding social distancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

In that case fines must always exist to prevent the spread of seasonal respitory illnesses every year from now on.

Do seasonal respiratory illnesses block ICU every year?

No. we are in an emergency situation and those protestors are only going to make things worse. drastic times call for drastic measures.

Drew Harris doesn't agree with a ramp up in Garda powers, is he wrong then?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/more-powers-to-police-house-parties-not-in-state-s-best-interest-says-garda-chief-1.4368740

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Did you see these people breaking the social distance rule indoors!? They should have had the police present to hand out fines or be held until a squad car arrived.. I don't even see them wearing masks.. Double fine or imprisonment!

https://twitter.com/darrengrimes_/status/1313112496316837888

Seriously? So you've picked this one out? Out of all examples of people flouting restrictions. Pathetic

Well it did enter Trump so its obviously not put off by much....

And yet 5 days later, 74 year old, obese, President Donnie T was back in work after having this deadly killer virus!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,260 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Do seasonal respiratory illnesses block ICU every year?

Is this a serious question?

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Because they dont want to deal with the scum who wont wear them. And the garda arent going to show up to your local tescos for someone not wearing a mask!!!
    Needs to be actual enforecment.

Gardai are too busy creating traffic jams to give out "advice".

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Seriously? So you've picked this one out? Out of all examples of people flouting restrictions. Pathetic

What's truly pathetic is that people want rule breakers fined no matter what.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,926 ✭✭✭pgj2015

We've violent criminals with hundreds of convictions walking the streets because of a lack of prison spaces and clowns want jail time for people doing what people have been doing for millenia, socialising.

The abject stupidity of it all. We should scrap the search for a Covid vaccine and put all our money and energy into vaccinating stupid, unfortunately for some though it's incurable.

Exactly, we should vaccinate all the stupid people who refuse to follow the covid guidelines, because maybe if they weren't so stupid, we might not be in level 3.

quokula wrote: »
    There's a pretty strong parallel with fines for speeding in fairness. It's a fine for ignoring a rule that a certain cohort of people think doesn't apply to them because they selfishly believe the benefit they gain by breaking the rule is worth endangering the lives of other people.

Speed kills, you can prove someone is speeding. Does someone who doesn't have Covid being at a house party endanger anyone?? Can you prove someone is "endangering" others?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Exactly, we should vaccinate all the stupid people who refuse to follow the covid guidelines, because maybe if they weren't so stupid, we might not be in level 3.

You people are nothing but petty little tyrants, who have absolutely no regard for liberty. I said it before, if the west was made up of nothing but people like you historically, we'd still be living in the dark ages.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

It's depressing to behold how easily so many of my countrymen were duped into becoming jumped-up little Hitlers.

Did you see these people breaking the social distance rule indoors!? They should have had the police present to hand out fines or be held until a squad car arrived.. I don't even see them wearing masks.. Double fine or imprisonment!

https://twitter.com/darrengrimes_/status/1313112496316837888

Nox and the likes would have had the son pepper sprayed and batoned.

What's truly pathetic is that people want rule breakers fined no matter what.

Yea right. The way I see it, you gonna twist anything, or post tweets of funerals to "prove" your point.

sabat wrote: »
    It's depressing to behold how easily so many of my countrymen were duped into becoming jumped-up little Hitlers.

Oh god :D

And yet 5 days later, 74 year old, obese, President Donnie T was back in work after having this deadly killer virus!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

He said he actually feels 20 years younger

Never felt fitter he said

• Registered Users Posts: 7,685 ✭✭✭growleaves

No and the people who said Yes are in massive denial.

In denial of the fact that isolation is a-human and therefore can't be enforced. Especially since we are now looking at 16 months come years.

You could hand out fines to people for not being able to breathe underwater too.

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Yea right. The way I see it, you gonna twist anything, or post tweets of funerals to "prove" your point.

I didn't have to go looking too hard for it, this was in all major media outlets recently. No point in trying to hide the level of Covid hysteria there is out there and if as many possible people see this and say it's not acceptable to treat people like this then maybe they will also roll back on their enthusiasm to treat regular people like criminals...?

That article was more about the Gardai entering homes than giving out fines to people not wearing masks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

There is a magnitude of difference between what you have listed above and the introduction of anti socialising fines to prevent the spread of a respitory illness.

The current restrictions will likely seperate families for Christmas, and you want fines to ensure that happens??

If you cant grasp the dangers of the introduction of such I cant explain it for you.

But I will ask that once introduced, at what point is it removed?

Maybe we could have a vote to remove them when we don't need them anymore - or would that be anti democratic? :confused:

That article was more about the Gardai entering homes than giving out fines to people not wearing masks.

It's a ramp up of powers that the head of the Gards doesn't want to see, ultimately it is the Gards that hand out fines, although i'm sure many on here would like to see a new group formed for that "The Order Police" perhaps?

growleaves wrote: »
    No and the people who said Yes are in massive denial.

In denial of the fact that isolation is a-human and therefore can't be enforced. Especially since we are now looking at 16 months come years.

You could hand out fines to people for not being able to breathe underwater too.

Where is the out??

How will this stop??

If a vaccine is successful by this year end, and they manage to force the health care worker's to all actually take it(unlike the influenza one), and people are still dying of respitory illnesses, surely social distance, limited group numbers and general anti social policies most continue?

TomTomTim wrote: »
    You people are nothing but petty little tyrants, who have absolutely no regard for liberty. I said it before, if the west was made up of nothing but people like you historically, we'd still be living in the dark ages.

The people who refuse to follow the guideline remind me of spoilt kids so im not sure what state the world would be in if the world was made up of just them. "I want a night out", "I want to go on a foreign holiday" "me me me me me"

grow up.

I didn't have to go looking too hard for it, this was in all major media outlets recently. No point in trying to hide the level of Covid hysteria there is out there and if as many possible people see this and say it's not acceptable to treat people like this then maybe they will also roll back on their enthusiasm to treat regular people like criminals...?

Ah sure, covid hysteria again. So going by me as example, I'm following official guidelines, not breaking official restrictions, keep paying taxes. Am I wrong if I want other people to follow the very same rules as I do? The rules coming from elected government of this country? Or I'm just hysterical?

Beasty wrote: »
    I actually think it's better if shops have a no entry policy unless you have a medical document stating a mask is not to be used.

It's already supposed to be mandatory to wear masks in shops and many shops are simply not bothered with the hassle of enforcing it.

They should be fined if customers are found to be on their premises without masks - and this includes the numpties who are wearing masks improperly, ie, off their noses / on their chins only.

It's already supposed to be mandatory to wear masks in shops and many shops are simply not bothered with the hassle of enforcing it.

They should be fined if customers are found to be on their premises without masks - and this includes the numpties who are wearing masks improperly, ie, off their noses / on their chins only.

I honestly havent seen a lack of compliance.

Ive been all over Ireland with work and I cant remember the last time I see anyone in a shop with no mask

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

Speed kills, you can prove someone is speeding. Does someone who doesn't have Covid being at a house party endanger anyone?? Can you prove someone is "endangering" others?

Can u prove they aren’t?