Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who smokes anymore ?

Igotadose wrote: »
    Nice thread. None of the smokers gives a rats about secondary smoke and its effects.

Rubbish. Even before the ban came in, many of us kept away from others (non-smokers, children, etc) while we smoked. Just because I smoked, didn't mean that I wanted to force my habit on to others.
    None admit to it causing cancer and other horrible illnesses. Plus loss of sense of taste and smell, too. Grossest thing is to work out in a gym next to someone who had smoked prior to their workout, the stench oozes out of them.

Whereas I find smokers to be pretty realistic about the dangers, and how it affects them on a daily basis.... but sure, we don't feel the need to discuss it. It only seems to be non-smokers who feel that need to push that conversation on to smokers, as if they're sharing some big secret, and they're, (out of the goodness of their hearts) willing to help us out.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Rx713B

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    If she smokes she pokes.

i used to get the ride off a bird in Loreto when I was a teenager. She is a GP in Boston now, very clever girl and a bear in the sack. Up until she got married I used to get the odd one when she was home for Christmas.

She would hoover down packets of Marlboro, Camel or Silk Cut when she was home. A bear in the sack.

This is almost somewhat poetic ... Tip of the hat to you sir

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Rx713B

Started smoking when I was 13 as I thought I was johnny big bollox - 15 years later off the smokes 6 months - have the occasional vape when I am having a few pints.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,057 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Whereas I find smokers to be pretty realistic about the dangers, and how it affects them on a daily basis.... but sure, we don't feel the need to discuss it. It only seems to be non-smokers who feel that need to push that conversation on to smokers, as if they're sharing some big secret, and they're, (out of the goodness of their hearts) willing to help us out.

If it's not obvious, it's not goodness of our hearts. It's safety for our hearts from secondary smoke that cause some of us to be active anti-smokers. Making smokers feel uncomfortable about smoking is good for us.

If they were realistic, they'd quit their addiction. Anything else is a lie.

If it's not obvious, it's not goodness of our hearts. It's safety for our hearts from secondary smoke that cause some of us to be active anti-smokers. Making smokers feel uncomfortable about smoking is good for us.

The funny thing is that even when we're smoking in designated zones away from non-smokers, they'll come in to get that passive smoke. And then complain about it.. because they have a right to be in the smoking section... but it's terrible they have to breathe all that smoke.
    If they were realistic, they'd quit their addiction. Anything else is a lie.

You don't have much experience with addiction, do you?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭briany

true enough... but.. then, loads of healthy people get badly sick too... so.. it's all about luck.

"I'm Jim Fixx, and I'm dead now...... and I don't know what the fcuk happened! I jogged every day, ate nothing but tofu, swam five hundred laps every morning. Yul Bryner drank, smoke, and got laid every night of his life, Yul Bryner's smokin', drinkin', girls are sitting on his cueball noggin, every night of his life! He's dead. Sh*t!"

(note: I'm aware Jim Fixx wasn't as healthy earlier in his life, but I love this Bill Hicks bit)

The funny thing is that even when we're smoking in designated zones away from non-smokers, they'll come in to get that passive smoke. And then complain about it.. because they have a right to be in the smoking section... but it's terrible they have to breathe all that smoke.
    You know, in most of the US, the smoking zones are 30 feet away from entrances. Not in Ireland, just go outside (if that far.) Sad. Got to run the smoke gauntlet going in and out of places.

I've no use for muppets going out of their way to pick fights, including the smokers who think it grand to light up indoors in pubs. And loathsome vapers who think they're not going to die horribly from their vaping if they keep up vaping. Good luck with that.

You don't have much experience with addiction, do you?
    I do, and i'm not going into it

However, many many MANY people quit smoking. There's patches. There's cold turkey. Totally doable. Plus if you increase the societal pressures (taxes, serious anti-smoking advertising like the link I posted, fact barrages), there are fewer starting up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

BobMc wrote: »
    Dont know how anyone can afford them with the prices so eye watering.

Not a smoker myself, but do smokers ever do the maths on it ?? was partial to the very odd one in late teens
    Rollies.

A 25g pouch costs €18 I think.

Myself and the OH get a pouch very fortnight give or take, comes to about €400p/a or €200 each. A tiny amount of money to fund something you love doing. Goes great with a gat, the cans cost way more; €1000p/a if you don't even go the extravagant route or go to the pub.

Yeah the heart disease, COPD and cancer will be a bollocks but we're in absolutely unreal condition now because we're young.

You know, in most of the US, the smoking zones are 30 feet away from entrances. Not in Ireland, just go outside (if that far.) Sad. Got to run the smoke gauntlet going in and out of places.

I've no use for muppets going out of their way to pick fights, including the smokers who think it grand to light up indoors in pubs. And loathsome vapers who think they're not going to die horribly from their vaping if they keep up vaping. Good luck with that.

Considering the manner of your language, you're the one looking for a fight, not me. And I agree, that there wasn't proper consideration given to how/where smokers would go to smoke... it shouldn't be allowed at the entrance, forcing anyone to push through a gauntlet of smoke.

And in most other countries (apart from the UK/Ireland) they actually plan where smokers should smoke to keep them well apart from the non-smokers. Which I fully support btw. As I said, I have no desire to pass my smoke on to others.
    I do, and i'm not going into it

However, many many MANY people quit smoking. There's patches. There's cold turkey. Totally doable. Plus if you increase the societal pressures (taxes, serious anti-smoking advertising like the link I posted, fact barrages), there are fewer starting up.

Sure, many so stop smoking, but people are individualistic as are the problems they face. I can't use the patches because it causes side effects, the same with the gum. I have stopped a few times from cold-turkey, but returned to smoking for other reasons.

But don't dismiss addiction so easily. It can be incredibly difficult to kick some habits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

In dublin going out to the smokers area can be interesting and you meet a few but thats because the pubs in Dublin are busy....
    if you are in a pub in rural Ireland with 6 people there and your the only one smoking, going outside on your own in the cold youd be asking yourself wtf am i at???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Ciggies were always roughly the cost of 3 or 4 pints. ( or 2 pints if you drink in Temple Bar).

When you compare them to the price of a night out they are peanuts.

It is another bland piece of numpty advice the non smokers love to fish out to smokers

" think of all the money you will be saving "

No wonder they are so difficult for decent drinkers to kick, have any of you ever tried to have a normal conversation with a non-smoker? Bore the shight out of anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

No wonder they are so difficult for decent drinkers to kick, have any of you ever tried to have a normal conversation with a non-smoker? Bore the shight out of anyone.

All the great thinkers of their day were known to be avid smokers, obviously like yourself no doubt, puffing away to yer hearts content splitting atoms and building the Hadron collider while curing cancer, great lads ye are altogether

• Registered Users Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Cordell

The non smokers must be rolling in it with all the money they save.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I woke up at five today. Cooked myself a good breakfast, made a coffee, and went to the gym at six. Went to work and did a good job, including walking over 6,000 steps. I had a cigarette on the way to work and one after.

When you go into essays all the way back to secondary school, maybe you should focus on yourself and not worry about others. It sounds like your sense of self worth relies upon your comparative standing with others, and picking at things you don't agree with is your way of feeding that.

Disliking smoking is fine. Not wanting smokers smoking around you is fine. But your craving of some angle to be better than others says a lot, and wishing a horrible death upon them suggests you're not really feeling the best about yourself. You wouldn't be concerned with others and their choices if you were.

Awwww....touch a nerve did we? Spare the pop psychology. No angles...just an observation nothing more nothing less. An observation which I am sure many others would recognise.

Secondary school is relevant because by an large that is when people take up smoking. You might not like to hear this but the majority of smokers I knew growing up with were the school thickos.

Sure you can always relax over another ciggie..go on...it's good for you. Don't worry about the consequences or where you butts end up. That's for another day.

AllForIt wrote: »
    MV5BZjcxNmU5ZWMtY2RkNC00ZjUwLWJiMjEtYWRkM2Q2NzYxZjAzXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjgzMTEzNDU@._V1_.jpg

No man. Does nothing for me. All I can think about is her disgusting breath and black lungs. Total boner shrinker.

Sure you can always relax over another ciggie..go on...it's good for you. Don't worry about the consequences or where you butts end up. That's for another day.

Indeed it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,017 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I'd wager by 2030 the rate of cigarette-smoking will go from 18% now to under 10%. In 2010, say, smoking still seemed to me to be something fairly normal to do (was never a regular smoker but occasionally smoked one or two on nights out) but in the past few years it has already seemed like hugely exceptional for anybody in my social circles to smoke, be it friends, family, extended family, work colleagues etc.

I wonder how many will still smoke specifically cigarettes by 2040, considering the cost, the dying off of older smokers, current smokers quitting, younger people not being attracted towards taking it up (how often do you see somebody on instagram smoking..), young people no longer growing up in households where somebody else smokes etc. There have been huge changes in the past 20 years with regard to the prevalence and perception of smoking and I'd imagine the next 20 years will see it become a total relic of the past, like taking snuff or eating findus crispy pancakes.

According to this report, about 28% smoked in 2003. and that's down to 16% now. That's a pretty big reduction in 17 years.

28% reference on page 12 of this report https://www.hse.ie/eng/about/who/tobaccocontrol/research/smokinginireland2014.pdf
    16% reference on the front page of this report https://www.hse.ie/eng/about/who/tobaccocontrol/research/smoking-in-ireland-2020-half-year-update.pdf

It also says (predictably enough) that poorer people are more likely to smoke then wealthier people and farmers are least likely to smoke (farmers were separate to the other Socio-economic status groups).

Higher SES groups smoked at between 8.5%-12% and lower SES groups smoked at 21%-23%.

Interestingly, Connacht had a lower rate of smoking (17%) and Dublin had the highest (21%).

Highest rates for smoking by age were for people between 25 and 44 (about 22%)

Men smoke at 17.5%, Women at 14%

No man. Does nothing for me. All I can think about is her disgusting breath and black lungs. Total boner shrinker.

I would recomend Viagra.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,568 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I would recomend Viagra.

Careful now, I. You can’t just “recommend” Viagra to someone you know very little about. Physically speaking, of course.

Could well “suffer“ from an inverted penis. A dose of Viagra in a case like that and you’re looking, at best, at a severe winding and, at worst, sudden vomiting. Followed by prolonged discomfort.

We just don’t know.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Careful now, I. You can’t just “recommend” Viagra to someone you know very little about. Physically speaking, of course.

Could well “suffer“ from an inverted penis. A dose of Viagra in a case like that and you’re looking, at best, at a severe winding and, at worst, sudden vomiting.

We just don’t know.

No man. Viagra is rubbish. Cialis is far better. It's called the "weekend drug" and it was a GP that told me that.

I am speaking from experience. Not that I need it obviously but a bit of recreational dabbling every so often is no harm.

Could well “suffer“ from an inverted penis. A dose of Viagra in a case like that and you’re looking, at best, at a severe winding and, at worst, sudden vomiting. Followed by prolonged discomfort.

We just don’t know.

They save marriages Spice, not to be scoffed at.

My sister says they are one of the great inventions of the last century.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Tomorrow will be three years to the day since I last smoked. I packed them in one fine Saturday at the ripe old age of 45, after about thirty years as a seasoned, heavy, committed, heavily addicted devourer of fags. I'd get through forty in an evening on the beer, and I did despair of ever getting away from the grip of the bastarding things. However, with the able assistance of Woman, I eventually had a little talk with myself, persuaded myself finally that I had to pack them in before they packed me in, and I finished up the three or four Marlboro Golds I had in a packet while doing a bit of yard-work for my mother and then just... sort of... didn't smoke again.

I thought the smoking ban of 2004 was largely a good thing, it actually didn't affect me that much because having worked in big American ICT shops all my life I was quite used to excusing myself for a few minutes and going outside to smoke. You do meet a superior class of ragamuffin in external smoking ghettos, though.

I have no comment to make about the Pfizer Risers or similar, I have a schlong on me like a tower crane operator's Thermos, praise be. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

jimgoose wrote: »
    I have no comment to make about the Pfizer Risers or similar, I have a schlong on me like a tower crane operator's Thermos, praise be. :D

Tis a blessing and a curse to have such a substantial ‘bride frightener’, Jim.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭jelem

According to this report, about 28% smoked in 2003. and that's down to 16% now. That's a pretty big reduction in 17 years.

28% reference on page 12 of this report https://www.hse.ie/eng/about/who/tobaccocontrol/research/smokinginireland2014.pdf
    16% reference on the front page of this report https://www.hse.ie/eng/about/who/tobaccocontrol/research/smoking-in-ireland-2020-half-year-update.pdf

It also says (predictably enough) that poorer people are more likely to smoke then wealthier people and farmers are least likely to smoke (farmers were separate to the other Socio-economic status groups).

Higher SES groups smoked at between 8.5%-12% and lower SES groups smoked at 21%-23%.

Interestingly, Connacht had a lower rate of smoking (17%) and Dublin had the highest (21%).

Highest rates for smoking by age were for people between 25 and 44 (about 22%)

Men smoke at 17.5%, Women at 14%
    so what -- the figures--- up to the individual choice and NOT as you can read in my previous
    post in this topic any more danger to me than a million of other things.
    strawberry jam or peanuts can kill you or injure your health.
    the scare tactics whilst there is medical evidence from those who have suffered shows THEY
    suffered just as those whom eat peanuts will suffer when their body cannot tolerate.
    this topic and the over stated demand to force others to stop smoking is the same as
    the false "green argument" which is just a method to tax.
    planet is heading towards sun and the planet of its own nature moves into and out of ice ages and heating periods.
    without human help.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,017 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

jelem wrote: »
    so what -- the figures--- up to the individual choice and NOT as you can read in my previous
    the scare tactics whilst there is medical evidence from those who have suffered shows THEY
    suffered just as those whom eat peanuts will suffer when their body cannot tolerate.
    this topic and the over stated demand to force others to stop smoking is the same as
    planet is heading towards sun and the planet of its own nature moves into and out of ice ages and heating periods.
    without human help.

I've no idea why you quoted my post to post this guff. I just gave some of the stats.

without human help.

Allergies are involuntary (jam, peanuts.) Smoking is voluntary, you can choose not to. Comparing apples to oranges there (perhaps jammie ones). Those with peanut allergies I don't believe die from cancer. It's an allergic reaction.

Not sure where you're getting the massive persecution complex from and why you're tying it into something about green stuff, but this is the 'are you still smoking' thread, and you're hearing why it's a really bad idea, including for the people around you. Hope that helps.

...Smoking is voluntary, you can choose not to...

Theoretically it's that simple, but in reality it's bloody difficult, we're only beginning to realize how powerful an addiction it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Totally disgusting habit.
    Seeing someone make their own ones is even more reprehensible. How they can live with the disgusting smell on their hands, breath clothes in their home and think that it's clever or cool or whatever is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

still enjoying every single one at the moment.

without human help.

Cigarette smoke contains such known powerful carcinogents as butadiene, benzene and ethylene oxide, and deliberately inhaling such things and consequently going on to develop COPD or lung cancer is patently not the same thing as anaphylactic shock from failing to respect something like a peanut allergy. I for one would prefer if you exercised your individual choice somewhere where I don't have to ingest it. I'm not aware of any serious health issues associated with strawberry jam, aside I suppose from the possibility of Type II diabetes from over-indulgence. :D