If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef price tracker 2

1252253254255256258»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭KAMG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭morphy87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

The Factories are desperate for cattle but the is varying levels of desperation. If prices are back to €7 it just means they are desperate enough to pay €2/kg more than last year rather than 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭50HX

A wet week are you having a laugh.

There's a good share of heavy cattle moved on from these parts in the past 6 weeks...its been a sh1t show weather wise since mid July.

The factories are dropping the price as the kill rises, kill has historically always risen at the end of grass season for finishers no?

Not everybody is in a position to sit on stock & wait for price hike again, thats not a sustainable way to operate a business

Factories,processors & supermarkets know full well where the bottom line is for them.

They will screw producers & everyone else along the chain to maintain there margin, how many times have we heard of factories going on 3 day weeks this summer already.

Margin per animal in your system is what leaves € in your pocket, not playing chicken with factories. Thats how alot of fellas went tit's up in the past.

Thanks. I weighted them 5 weeks ago so have a fair idea of kill out weight. It's the grading and fat score that I'm unsure of.

Post edited by KAMG on

what breeds have you and what were their weights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,809 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Dept weekly kill figures @Base price linked it to me a while back

https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-agriculture-food-and-the-marine/collections/beef-kill-figures-weekly-reports/

You will get it as well by goggling dfam weekly cattle slaughtering numbers

A few months ago I went through the 2024 numbers from September on, and tge slaughter nu.bers were 37k+ a lot of the time.

We are gone 20k less

If the big 3 can manage to buy at that price in the midlands its going to be impossible to stabilise for a while

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭Robson99

Good post 50HX.

I've said it here on different occasions. Yo will not beat the factories. The mart was 100 to 200 better for finished cattle for 6 to 8 weeks and anyone that went got there win. But now the numbers are coming out from all sides and it's easy to cut the base price back. They weathered the storm by paying more in the marts to keep a lid on the price at the gate and also cut back to 3 / 4 day weeks. We can bitch and moan all we want but we cannot control it. What we can control ( speaking as a store to finish man) is what we pay for stores. And they will come back down as the price if beef falls. Once the feed lots have there sheds filled it may be a fair bit easier to buy back again.

The current prices of all stock is not sustainable long term imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭green daries

So the alternative is ........ ? No matter what happens next a bunch of lads are going out of farming and business at the moment the store man who's not tied to a contract is in serious trouble he's loosing money on buying now and selling finished if the price drops the calf man and weanlings/yearling man is goosed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭nearlybreak

headline on paper this morning says 40% of cattle coming from feedlots soon so it’s going to be a two tier price system and worse again it shows how much control they have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭Robson99

There was none of them goosed 3 years ago when the price was around € 4 / kg. The store to finish man was making as much then as he is now but had a higher % profit due to the lower cost and is carrying a greater risk with his outlay. The weanling producer is the only one making money now.

If beef went to € 9/kg lads would still bitch and moan saying the need €10. The higher the climb the greater the fall. Be careful what you wish for. Higher prices / outlay / risk breaks lads a lot quicker than low prices

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭WoozieWu

often heard someone has to lose in beef for another to make profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭DBK1

A very true saying and it’s one of the reasons I roll my eyes when I hear people giving out about the 4 movement rule.

Every time an animal changes hands in a mart it’s costing €50 plus between mart fees for buyer and seller, transport to and from mart and also lost weight loss from the stress of being in the mart for the day. So an animal moved 4 times has €200+ taken from them and handed to marts and hauliers. This years exceptional prices aside that €200 has often been the profit to be got from an animal gone long before they’re ever hanging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭DBK1

What you’re saying is all true but the only way to beat the factories is stay away from the marts. If lads had kept them finished cattle and forward stores at home the factory price would have had to stay rising to entice them out. Once they were being shown in marts there was no need to lift factory price.

For every finished animal that made €100-€200 more than factory price there was an equivalent animal in the same mart making €100-€200 less so on average the factories were paying no more than factory price. I pointed it out numerous times here during the year and put up screenshots and all from the mart catalogues to prove that but a lot of lads only wanted to see the high prices and ignore the lower ones. That’s what has put the factories in the position they’re in now to be able to drop prices.

In my opinion there should be no animal any bigger than a weanling sold in a mart. If the feedlots and factories want to make money from stock let them rear them and do the hard work themselves. There’s no point lads doing all the hard work rearing them to forward stores and then handing them away for the feedlots to do the easy part.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

It's hard to know - if feedlots compete with each other for forward stores at the mart, would the farmer be better off selling to them rather than trying to finish himself only to then get the lower tier price off the factory where there's no competition.

I guess every fella has to figure out what'll work for his system, depending on cattle type, shed space, weather, ground type, numbers he's carrying, time available (assuming he's working off-farm), cash-flow, and a dozen other things.

Whatever you do, the feedlot or the factory won't lose out.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Dunedin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭green daries

Im not disagreeing with you but it is what's going to happen sucklers were in the red for years same with calf rearing everyone was changing or changed to runners and finishing it was the handy option as opposed to the other two alternatives. But it's going to bite lads on the ass now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭limo_100

so the invoice from the factory just came today animal graded a p+ 1+ 190kg carcass so I assume his carcass was roughly 40-45% of his live weight.

Just on a side note the fuckers only gave 2euro a Kg so they are making a fortune off them tb animals. I don't really care as I will be paid the balance.

The 4 that went this morning were AAX (592kg), BBX (676 KG), HEX (608 KG) and SIX (674 KG).

The figure in brackets is their weight on 30 July. So 40 days at 1.5 KG a day average extra weight is what ill be basing my killout % on.

Ill let ye know the results in the afternoon.